Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 10, 2013, 05:47 AM   #1
rantingrich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
What do you do with your Mac Pro?

I was reading a thread from a guy using his mac for business and a few responses said they use their machines for making money.. i.e. Business! I was just curious to find out Who does What with their MACPRO and what their machines Specs are. Please share. SHORT VERSON PLEASE...

AS for me I work full time doing print ads, But run my own creative business doing animation and some FX. I use Carrara 8 Pro mostly for animation.

My Machine is a MACPRO I got last year 12 core 64 ram one 7200 hd and a 256 SSD, 31 inch dell.

rantingrich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 06:42 AM   #2
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I sleep with it like a teddy bear.
GermanyChris is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 06:45 AM   #3
maxosx
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
I keep mine switched off to extend its service life.
maxosx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 06:45 AM   #4
SimeoneSergio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Milano - Italy
Print ads? Proper monitor you have
__________________
MP Hex 3,33 | 24Gb | OWC Mercury Accelsior 240Gb | ATI 5870
rMBP L.2013 I7 2,6 | 16Gb | 1Tb Flash | GT750M
iPhone 5 64GB

Last edited by SimeoneSergio; May 10, 2013 at 06:58 AM.
SimeoneSergio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 06:46 AM   #5
jasonvp
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via AIM to jasonvp
A little photo editing with Photoshop.

Some video editing with Premiere Pro. Said videos are of me on the race track. It's a multiple-step process requiring various pieces of software including a Windows-only (run inside Parallels) one. All software is run on the Mac Pro under OS X.

Any DVDs and/or Blu-ray movies that I purchase, I rip to my NAS for backup purposes. That's all done with my Mac Pro.

CDs are ripped on the Mac Pro and stored in FLAC format on my NAS. I'll also use the same machine to sync the converted MP3s to my iPhone via iTunes.

The machine:
- Mac Pro 5,1 with dual processors - upgraded to 2 x X5690 (6-core 3.46GHz) Xeons
- Flashed 2.5GB EVGA GTX570 video card
- Blu-Ray reader swapped in place of DVD/RW
- SSD in 2nd optical drive with OS/Apps
- 2 1TB drives mirrored (RAID1 software) for /Users
- 2 300G 10K RPM drives striped (RAID0 software) for Scratch space
- eSATA PCI card
- USB 3.0 PCI card

Last edited by jasonvp; May 13, 2013 at 02:55 PM. Reason: Added a bunch of stuff
jasonvp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 07:10 AM   #6
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
I have a 2010 5,1 single processor and am one of the more casual users - I do a little light Photoshop, the daily mooching round websites and hop over to Bootcamp for games like heavily modded Skyrim.

The 5,1 is the only computer in the household. I moved to it from a 2007 iMac because I had the funds to purchase it at the time and have not regretted it once. I know I barely push it (except when gaming) but it is reliable, beautiful and just works.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 07:52 AM   #7
cgk.emu
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantingrich View Post
I was reading a thread from a guy using his mac for business and a few responses said they use their machines for making money.. i.e. Business! I was just curious to find out Who does What with their MACPRO and what their machines Specs are. Please share. SHORT VERSON PLEASE...

AS for me I work full time doing print ads, But run my own creative business doing animation and some FX. I use Carrara 8 Pro mostly for animation.

My Machine is a MACPRO I got last year 12 core 64 ram one 7200 hd and a 256 SSD, 31 inch dell.


2009 Mac Pro 4,1, Quad Core 2.66GHz
16 GB RAM
Radeon 5870
5x 1TB drives + 60GB SSD for Boot / FCPX (using OWC multi-mount in optical bay)

I use it for editing videos for a Udemy course with FCPX.

When I'm not using it for that, just bootcamp games on the weekends.
cgk.emu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 08:22 AM   #8
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
music (bands, artists), and recently, scoring to picture.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 08:37 AM   #9
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Professional Photographer, so Photoshop and Lightroom. Plus all the business stuff - accounting, ads for my business, etc.

Hex Core from the refurbed stored last year. I'm not sitting at it, so don't have specs. But it's got several TB of internal storage and is hooked up to an Apple Cinema Display, and an Epson 3800 among other things. This MacPro was bought to replace a 2008 octo-core, which - until I get around to selling it, is used to tether my camera when I'm shooting in the studio.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 09:03 AM   #10
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Content creation (typically just for fun these days):
CG Graphics, Photo processing, Music, Text.

Content Consumption:
Films & clips, audio & music, text.

Research:
Politics, Science, and Culture.

Last edited by Tesselator; May 10, 2013 at 09:24 AM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 09:24 AM   #11
Noctilux.95
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LA
Professional photographer with cameras up to 40-MP that benifits from horse power of my Mac Pro.

I have a 2009 (4,1) 2.66 quad core, 16 gigs, 2-2 gig 7200 rpm HD's, and 2-240 gig SSD's, 5770 card

I use CS5, Aperture 3, Hasselblad Phocus, and Photo Mechanic
Noctilux.95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 09:32 AM   #12
ssgbryan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
3D art.

Production pipeline:

Hexagon - Poser - Lux - Photoshop Elements
__________________
MacPro 1,1 - 22Gb Ram, 2x240ssd (Raid), 2x2TB - RAID0 (iTunes), 2x2TB RAID0 (Data) 4x2TB RAID5 (external backup), ATI 5770
ssgbryan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 10:38 AM   #13
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Newbie - It'll be my "main" desktop and my kids movie storage.

2006 2.66 4Gs ram. 320 boot and 1T storage (for now),
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 10:42 AM   #14
odinsride
macrumors 65816
 
odinsride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
2010 Mac Pro 3.33ghz
Upgrades: 32gb RAM, eVGA 680 Mac Edition

I use mine mostly for gaming (I play WoW a lot), and photography (Photoshop, Lightroom). I also frequently use virtual machines (VMware Fusion and Virtualbox) for database development (Oracle).
__________________
"It is just that heavy metal musicians write in minor keys, and when you do that, you frighten people." - Ronnie James Dio (RIP)
Flickr
odinsride is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 01:08 PM   #15
Jani81
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
I have mp 5.1 and specs are at my signature. I use it for video editing, photoshop and gaming. I play games via bootcamp like crysis 3 etc fps games. I'm planning to make hex update soon and after that i update my ram from 1033 mhz=>1333 mhz. What do you think, is my update plan worth of money? And sorry about my bad english sometimes
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1, 6 core 3,33 ghz, 24 gb ram, 240 gb + 256 gb ssd sata3, 1 tb hdd, radeon hd 7970 3 gb "mac edition"
Macbook Pro retina i7 2,4 ghz, Iphone 5 16 gb, Ipad 3 64 gb wifi+cellular, Apple tv 3.
Jani81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 02:07 PM   #16
sn1p3r845
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
farmville
sn1p3r845 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 02:58 PM   #17
chevelleguy3
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mckinney, TX
MP 2006: 2x2.66 Xeon, 32GB RAM, 5770 Video card, RAID setup, 10.8.3 (Chameleon)

I mainly use it as a file server for my home network. I also use it for a little bit of everyday stuff when I don't feel like using my MBP.
__________________
15" MBP (Mid 2010) 2.4GHz, 8GB, 256GB Crucial M4
iMac 27" 2012, 3.4 i7, 16GB, 3TB Fusion
iPhone 5s 32GB Black
Apple TV
chevelleguy3 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 03:07 PM   #18
MIDI_EVIL
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
2008 Mac Pro 8-Core with 2.8Ghz CPU and 16GB of RAM SSD and 5TB of storage. (we're waiting for a new Mac Pro)

Work:
I work in a museum, and shoot and edit gallery films and documentaries for archival. I also produce exhibition panels and graphics for our social media presence and general museum signage.

Video editing in Final Cut Pro 6, FCPX and Adobe Premiere CS6. Graphic design in Photoshop CS6 and Illustrator CS6. Transcoding in Adobe Media Encoder. DVD ripping in Handbrake. Managing 3 iPads for our venue hire staff and education department.

Home/Personal:
Hac Pro - Overclocked 4.5Ghz i7 Ivy Bridge, 16GB 1600 RAM, GIGABYTE NVidia GTX 670 Overclocked version, 256GB SSD, 8TB of storage.

Video editing in FCPX and Premiere CS6. Graphic design in Photoshop CS6. Photography in Lightroom 4.
I produce video content professionally outside of my full time job, and I've worked in the broadcast industry as a camera operator.
__________________
Too many cameras!
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 03:24 PM   #19
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn1p3r845 View Post
farmville
Do you notice any lag?
GermanyChris is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 03:43 PM   #20
rantingrich
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Daz 3d

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssgbryan View Post
3D art.

Production pipeline:

Hexagon - Poser - Lux - Photoshop Elements
You must be on Daz3d and the forums! I am as well! I use HEXAGON as my modeler as well! Love that fat lazy lady
rantingrich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 05:13 PM   #21
codymac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I mostly drum my fingers, check this forum, and wait anxiously for a Mac Pro with relatively current specs to be released.

In the meantime, the Hackintosh is:

3.5GHz Sandy, 32gb RAM, 9800GT, 256gb SSD, LSI 3041E, 22tb storage (internal)

It's stable at 4.8GHz but I'm already heating the room up enough.


Days: I trade running a couple thousand databases for a paycheck.
Nights/weekends: CAD/CAM work, photography, music.
codymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 08:06 PM   #22
Derpage
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
My macpro's have just turned into pretty external hard drives. I just got a boxx and it's super fast. WOW!
Derpage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 08:21 PM   #23
whwang
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
MacPro5,1, 12-core, 96GB or RAM, 5x2TB HD, 480GB PCIe SSD, 30in ACD.

I use it for astronomical research, primarily processing images from large
observatories or space telescopes.
whwang is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 09:58 PM   #24
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W, Infinite Response VAX77, Apogee Symphony 64 PCI-e, Apogee Symphony I/O, 2x ADAM S2X & SUB12, Sonnet Tempo SATA Pro 6Gb 4-Port, and a Caldigit VR2 4TB external eSATA drive.

In a nut shell, it's everything I need to efficiently take an idea (usually for a game or application) and turn it into a working product ready for sale on the iTMS.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 10:18 PM   #25
t0rr3s
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Mac Pro 3,1 2 x 3.2 GHz Quad Core / 14GB Ram / 4TB / Radeon 5770 / 30" Cinema Display

photography [lightroom/capture one/ps]
graphics [ps/illustrator]
videos [FCPX/motion/compressor]
publishing [indesign/ps/word/iwork]
gaming [bootcamp]
and Handbrake...from time to time.
I love my Mac Pro.
__________________
Mac Pro 3,1 3.2 GHz Octocore 16GB RAM GTX 570 Intel X25-M 160GB SSD 4TB Caviar Black 30" ACD
MBA 2012 11" 1.7 GHz 8GB 128GB
t0rr3s is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waterfield Designs Debuts 'Mac Pro Go Case' for Transporting 2013 Mac Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 43 Jun 11, 2014 04:45 PM
Swapping Mac Pro 2010 CPU board to Mac Pro 2009 Spacedust Mac Pro 3 May 31, 2014 03:24 PM
nMP, New Mac Pro, Mac Mini Pro, 6,1, Mac Pro....Decide! Anim Mac Pro 12 Feb 4, 2014 12:53 PM
Upgraded 3.46GHz 12-core 2010 Mac Pro faster than new 2.7GHz Mac Pro? jkheit Mac Pro 11 Jan 3, 2014 02:44 PM
Using a PC graphic card in Mac Pro Rev.A [EFI 32] (Mac Pro 1st Gen/1.1) flexage Mac Pro 16 Oct 3, 2012 12:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC