Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 12, 2013, 05:03 PM   #1
JMEANS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
ATV: the enjoyment & frustration

use to love my ATV's and all they had to offer to now utter frustration. it seems like every ATV update there arises more performance hiccups & changes than before. One main one for me has occurred with both my ATV2 & ATV3 and it revolves around simply viewing trailers!
I use both WiFi and Ethernet between the two pucks and when I try to simply view a trailer on either it takes forever to load, when originally (a few updates back ) it would perform as follows:

click on trailer and within 20 seconds it would load up a quarter of the bar and start playing, NOW it waits until the trailer has loaded to MORE THAN HALF of the bar to finally start?! this is something totally new and it happens on ATV2 & 3. and my internet provider and hardwire/software has not changed at all.

It is so frustrating that something that use to work with only a couple stalls now and then is now standard operation procedure?! I use to love viewing HD trailers all the time and now choose not to because i don't have the time it takes to watch them or slip into a bad mood quick!

Another bad wifi example is with my ATV3 in the same room as my router with a 10 gig file that will not progressively load as it plays and will come to a stop?! this is crazy that once a movie has started via wifi that it will only load and play to a point then pause and take forever to play again and only for another few minutes?! that is such garbage in my book, when it plays thru fine when hardwired!

Anyway ... Has anyone else experienced a performance change similar to this at no fault or change of your own other than updating your puck?

Jim

Last edited by JMEANS; May 12, 2013 at 05:20 PM.
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2013, 07:57 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEANS View Post
use to love my ATV's and all they had to offer to now utter frustration. it seems like every ATV update there arises more performance hiccups & changes than before. One main one for me has occurred with both my ATV2 & ATV3 and it revolves around simply viewing trailers!
I use both WiFi and Ethernet between the two pucks and when I try to simply view a trailer on either it takes forever to load, when originally (a few updates back ) it would perform as follows:

click on trailer and within 20 seconds it would load up a quarter of the bar and start playing, NOW it waits until the trailer has loaded to MORE THAN HALF of the bar to finally start?! this is something totally new and it happens on ATV2 & 3. and my internet provider and hardwire/software has not changed at all.

It is so frustrating that something that use to work with only a couple stalls now and then is now standard operation procedure?! I use to love viewing HD trailers all the time and now choose not to because i don't have the time it takes to watch them or slip into a bad mood quick!

Another bad wifi example is with my ATV3 in the same room as my router with a 10 gig file that will not progressively load as it plays and will come to a stop?! this is crazy that once a movie has started via wifi that it will only load and play to a point then pause and take forever to play again and only for another few minutes?! that is such garbage in my book, when it plays thru fine when hardwired!

Anyway ... Has anyone else experienced a performance change similar to this at no fault or change of your own other than updating your puck?

Jim
nope.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2013, 08:09 PM   #3
pavelbure
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
No, but the Hulu app used to tell me how many seconds the commercial break would be, now it just shows some circle like the iTunes preview circle.
pavelbure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 01:47 PM   #4
Hammerofthegods
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavelbure View Post
No, but the Hulu app used to tell me how many seconds the commercial break would be, now it just shows some circle like the iTunes preview circle.
I used to have no problems with Apple TV either (gen 1 and 2) but with "time (Mac OS upgrades, Apple TV OS, etc) it started having "similar" problems. My solution - get a apple airport express router. Long story short, routers tend to have issues with Bonjour, and over time the number of issues / severity increases as the os updates but the router becomes stagnant.

Once I bought the router and switched it out all my issues went away...
Hammerofthegods is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 06:32 AM   #5
JMEANS
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Thank you very much! I had figured as much with the router. I have had the same Bell wifi router for about 3 years now and would love to upgrade but Bell is telling me this is the fastest support they have in my area? From my understanding I thought you couldn't get an outside router because Bell routers are locked or whatever? Anyway that might be a separate thread to start all together lol or if anyone could enlighten me on the router thing it would be much appreciated. All I can tell you that I know is that I do not have N router capability in my area yet. Still using a G router. Thanks
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 06:55 AM   #6
HobeSoundDarryl
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
I'm increasingly convinced that TV has some kind of memory leak bug. I know the general perception around here is that it's always the non-Apple links in the chain but when this kind of thing is happening on my TV (whether it's stuff- like trailers- streaming from distant server or content stored internally on my own hard drive), I find the magical solution is to fully unplug the TV, wait 30+ seconds, plug it back in and try again. Inevitably, the problematic video I was just trying to watch will now play as we all remember it can be on TV.

The next time you get frustrated over playback issues along these lines, try this simple trick and see if it works for you. Just about every time, this solves that kind of problem for me.
HobeSoundDarryl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 07:36 AM   #7
JMEANS
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Thanks Hobs... But i think this is a router thing. I had a wired ATV2 for almost 2 years with countless updates etc thru Apple and noticed the decline in performance in the last 6 months. I have not noticed any decline in my wired Mac Pro ever. I then decided to sell my ATV2 (I have no desire to jail break) and with that $ I bought 2 new ATV3's. One i put wired in place of the ATV2 and the other ATV3 I setup wireless in a room very close to the existing router and noticed the lacking performance on both as well out of the box! Actually the wifi puck wouldn't even progressively load as it played a 10 gig movie?! So I think it's time to ditch the Modem/Router provided by Bell and try a separate router. At least I am hoping I will see an improvement...
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 08:05 AM   #8
HobeSoundDarryl
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
Could be. BUT, I have AEBS as my router. Same things happen. I have cat5e runs and very fast Comcast broadband. The only variable that I change when those same things occur is what I described... and then it "just works" again.

Sure, it's possible you've got other problems in your chain. But you can test my solution for free or you can take the "blame anything & everything that is not Apple" suggestions and spend a lot of money to maybe solve the problem or maybe still have it.

In wired vs. wireless, wired will almost always win. Wireless can lay claim to even higher theoretical speeds but getting the theory in reality is rare. I simply think the "3" has some software bugs and, because it's a "hobby", they just persist for much longer than other, more favored Apple hardware. I'm feeling increasingly confident about this memory leak bug and I've read plenty about others having problems with wifi vs. wired connections.
HobeSoundDarryl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 08:42 AM   #9
Bozley0621
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have experienced the same issues when watching iTunes move trailers and trailers for movies in theaters.
Bozley0621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 08:58 AM   #10
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I hardwire all stationary devices including XBOX 360 & ATVs (both are 10/100) and everything is fast and flawless on Rogers cable.

I recall an ATV hiccup once from a firmware update, a simple restore solved that.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:16 AM   #11
JMEANS
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Interesting to hear, I assume your in Canada with Rogers - I'm a Bell customer in Ontario and the service is declining unfortunately...

As far the unplug thing, I hear ya and have tried that in past with another issue and didn't resolve anything... The fact that BOTH of the ATV3's are brand new out the box and had the same performance lag as my 2 year old ATV2 on initial setup doesn't justify an unplug situation.

Thanks for the advice everyone, I may try the new router thing and if I don't notice a difference I will just return it. However if there ate any other suggestions I would surely welcome them : )

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozley0621 View Post
I have experienced the same issues when watching iTunes move trailers and trailers for movies in theaters.
Are you wifi or Ethernet? Do you use a seperate router or is it a modem mix? Thanks
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:21 AM   #12
Menel
macrumors 601
 
Menel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEANS View Post
use to love my ATV's and all they had to offer to now utter frustration. it seems like every ATV update there arises more performance hiccups & changes than before. One main one for me has occurred with both my ATV2 & ATV3 and it revolves around simply viewing trailers!
I use both WiFi and Ethernet between the two pucks and when I try to simply view a trailer on either it takes forever to load, when originally (a few updates back ) it would perform as follows:

click on trailer and within 20 seconds it would load up a quarter of the bar and start playing, NOW it waits until the trailer has loaded to MORE THAN HALF of the bar to finally start?! this is something totally new and it happens on ATV2 & 3. and my internet provider and hardwire/software has not changed at all.

It is so frustrating that something that use to work with only a couple stalls now and then is now standard operation procedure?! I use to love viewing HD trailers all the time and now choose not to because i don't have the time it takes to watch them or slip into a bad mood quick!

Another bad wifi example is with my ATV3 in the same room as my router with a 10 gig file that will not progressively load as it plays and will come to a stop?! this is crazy that once a movie has started via wifi that it will only load and play to a point then pause and take forever to play again and only for another few minutes?! that is such garbage in my book, when it plays thru fine when hardwired!

Anyway ... Has anyone else experienced a performance change similar to this at no fault or change of your own other than updating your puck?

Jim
Yes and no. ATV2, fully updated. 720P is fine enough for me, not picky.

Netflix and Hulu have flawless performance.

Rented Ghostbusters 2 last weekend, flawless performance.

I stream DLNA media from my PC, PS3MediaServer (AcePlayer iPhone/iPad app). ~500MB TopGear eps, some movies 1.5-2GB. Doubt I've tried anything larger. Flawless.

Movie Trailers sometimes hiccup. It's like bandwidth is lacking for these. An increased load time before playing is going to be based on transfer rate. It wants to have enough of the video cached, so that your connection (it could be Apple's end, not yours), enough video cached so that you don't run into a pause and wait to catch up scenario and the trailer can play straight through.
__________________
iPhone 6 iPad Air Mac mini (i5, 2011)
Menel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 02:33 PM   #13
JMEANS
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The trailers are probably the best judge of my decreased level of performance overall. 2 years ago a trailer would load about a quarter of the bar then play and progressively load and never stall. It's key that it used to progressively load when playing! Now it won't even start until its loaded over half the bar. Takes forever to even begin?!

Last edited by JMEANS; May 15, 2013 at 02:54 PM.
JMEANS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2013, 07:27 PM   #14
westrock2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEANS View Post
Thank you very much! I had figured as much with the router. I have had the same Bell wifi router for about 3 years now and would love to upgrade but Bell is telling me this is the fastest support they have in my area? From my understanding I thought you couldn't get an outside router because Bell routers are locked or whatever? Anyway that might be a separate thread to start all together lol or if anyone could enlighten me on the router thing it would be much appreciated. All I can tell you that I know is that I do not have N router capability in my area yet. Still using a G router. Thanks
Does the Bell router have an administration webpage you can log into? If so you can always turn off the wireless and even the DHCP (IP address assignment).

Then have another router upstream that does all that stuff and connect one CAT5 from the new router to the Bell router. That's where your Internet access will come from. Everything else within the local network will occur over the new router.

The way I have my house setup is I use the ISP provided router to use DHCP, to assign all devices IP addresses. Upstream from that I have a gigabit switch that all the Ethernet wires plug into, and one wire going from that switch to the ISP provided router. Each device only needs to get its IP address from that router, and then it's free to communicate through the gigabit switch with other devices. I also have 3 wifi routers plugged into the switch that provide wifi, but do not provide DHCP.
__________________
AppleTV 3 | Mac Mini i5

Media Server: Mac Pro 1,1 | 2x Xeon L5335 (low voltage quad cores) | 15TB using MacZFS
westrock2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2014, 04:57 PM   #15
tlegein93
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
apple tv 2 problems

i have been using my jailbroken atv2 on season pass until it deleted all other apps except xbmc, settings, and computers. i plugged it into my computer and restored it through iTunes and the same thing happened on the tv again. it will not connect to internet when it said activating it just never happened i tried restarting my router and everything. if someone could please lend me a hand thank you very much.
thanks
tlegein93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atv 3 & nas Scooterpig Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Mar 15, 2013 06:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC