Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2013, 12:39 AM   #1
AlaskaMoose
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alaska
The latest from magic lantern: RAW video

A week or two ago:
http://nofilmschool.com/2013/04/magi...d-mark-ii-iii/

They got it (24p):
http://petapixel.com/2013/05/12/magi...non-5d-mk-iii/
__________________
iMac, and MacBook Pro.
Canon.

Last edited by AlaskaMoose; May 14, 2013 at 12:46 AM.
AlaskaMoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 07:52 AM   #2
soco
macrumors 68030
 
soco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kew Gardens, New York
I was just reading about this somewhere. Apparently, in order to pull this off, you need quite the SD card setup.

Such a cool advancement though.
__________________
TMobile iPhone 5s MacBook Pro (2011)
Canon EOS Rebel T3 Canon 28mm f/1.8
Contribute to MacRumors: Become a Demi-God!
soco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 08:34 PM   #3
AlaskaMoose
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alaska
Quote:
Originally Posted by soco View Post
I was just reading about this somewhere. Apparently, in order to pull this off, you need quite the SD card setup.

Such a cool advancement though.
Videographers are celebrating the news, because now with a 5D Mark III camera they can create movies that normally require very expensive cameras.
__________________
iMac, and MacBook Pro.
Canon.
AlaskaMoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 05:08 PM   #4
aerok
macrumors 65816
 
aerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Too bad it's not for the 7D
__________________
Kangmlee Photography Blog
Macbook Pro 13 - iPhone 5S - iPad Air - Samsung Note 8
aerok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 07:20 PM   #5
Policar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Just bought a 32GB Lexar UDMA CF card to try this out ($140!). I'll A/B it with a C100 and external recorder when I get the chance.

Just shot B camera with the C100 and an Alexa -- surprisingly close! If the Mark III can approach C100 levels it's in the "as good as it needs to be for any reasonable purposes" league (and it certainly wasn't before).
Policar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 01:51 AM   #6
AlaskaMoose
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alaska
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerok View Post
Too bad it's not for the 7D
You still can use ML for doing other things with the 7D, including HDR, photo stacking, and several other features. If you take macro shots, the photo-stacking feature is amazing, and so the way it renders HDR photos in camera.

I would like to install it on my 5D II using a Mac, but I haven't had the guts to do it because according to the installation instructions I have seen, one is supposed to drag all the ML files to the SD card. The problem is that once ML has unzipped, it shows folders with data files inside these folders, not just a list of files. I have no idea if I could just drag the main ML folder to the card.
__________________
iMac, and MacBook Pro.
Canon.

Last edited by AlaskaMoose; May 18, 2013 at 11:08 PM.
AlaskaMoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 01:10 PM   #7
paolo-
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I'm pretty sure that will work. I think that's how I did it on my camera.

Even if your camera doesn't have raw video ML has some great features. For me, focus peaking (adds flashy colours to what is in focus in liveview, great for video). and the built in intervalometer are stand outs.
paolo- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 03:10 PM   #8
aerok
macrumors 65816
 
aerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskaMoose View Post
You still can use ML for doing other things with the 7D, including HRD, photo stacking, and several other features. If you take macro shots, the photo-stacking feature is amazing, and so the way it renders HDR photos in camera.

I would like to install it on my 5D II using a Mac, but I haven't had the guts to do it because according to the installation instructions I have seen, one is supposed to drag all the ML files to the SD card. The problem is that once ML has unzipped, it shows folders with data files inside these folders, not just a list of files. I have no idea if I could just drag the main ML folder to the card.
Sadly the only reason I would install ML would be for the Raw video.
__________________
Kangmlee Photography Blog
Macbook Pro 13 - iPhone 5S - iPad Air - Samsung Note 8
aerok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 11:20 PM   #9
AlaskaMoose
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alaska
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerok View Post
Sadly the only reason I would install ML would be for the Raw video.
Photo Stacking is quite a good feature for macro photography. Other things that may be useful (pick and choose) are as follows:


a. Continuous Display of Focus distance
b. Auto adjust of Kelvin White Balance and Green/Magenta shift.
c. Intervalometer
d. Sound Detection shutter actuation
d. Spot meter
e. CMOS temperature
f. Trap Focus (focuses when the subject steps into a predetermined area)
g. Level Indicator (this one is for the 60D)
i. Quick Zoom
j. Shutter Count (tells you shooter actuations)
k. Motion Detection shutter actuation
l. Battery remaining power in percentages
m. HRD, and several video features

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by paolo- View Post
I'm pretty sure that will work. I think that's how I did it on my camera.

Even if your camera doesn't have raw video ML has some great features. For me, focus peaking (adds flashy colours to what is in focus in liveview, great for video). and the built in intervalometer are stand outs.
Will use the camera for a few more weeks, and then install ML.

Thanks
__________________
iMac, and MacBook Pro.
Canon.
AlaskaMoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 09:44 PM   #10
DesterWallaboo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Western USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by soco View Post
I was just reading about this somewhere. Apparently, in order to pull this off, you need quite the SD card setup.

Such a cool advancement though.
Nah... it only requires a fast 90MB/s+ CF card.

I was very happy about seeing this. We frequently shoot on RED, but having another RAW alternative for smaller projects will be awesome.
DesterWallaboo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would anyone NOT recommend using Magic Lantern? MasterHowl Digital Photography 14 Jan 12, 2014 07:59 AM
Is the latest Magic Mouse really that bad? boomdog Mac Peripherals 36 Nov 18, 2013 07:13 PM
Got a T3i a few weeks ago...Magic Lantern? jayeskreezy Digital Photography 4 Sep 17, 2013 02:19 PM
Magic Lantern boosts Canon 5DIII's DR to 14 stops AlaskaMoose Digital Photography 0 Jul 18, 2013 10:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC