Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2013, 05:58 AM   #1
gerlep
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Data Retrieval

Hi first post here. Just needed some clarity as have been getting different reports. My external drive recently packed it in. It was a LACIE 1tb (enclosed with two separate 500GB IDE Barracuda drives.) I bought an enclosure and the first instruction i get for both when I connect it to my MAC, gives me the option to INITIALIZE, IGNORE or EJECT. If I initialize the drive will that make it impossible to retrieve my data? Should I hit ignore then run a DATA retrieval app? Thx in advance....
gerlep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 08:23 AM   #2
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerlep View Post
Hi first post here. Just needed some clarity as have been getting different reports. My external drive recently packed it in. It was a LACIE 1tb (enclosed with two separate 500GB IDE Barracuda drives.) I bought an enclosure and the first instruction i get for both when I connect it to my MAC, gives me the option to INITIALIZE, IGNORE or EJECT. If I initialize the drive will that make it impossible to retrieve my data? Should I hit ignore then run a DATA retrieval app? Thx in advance....
I believe the Lacie drive uses both drives in a RAID 0 configuration. If I am correct, you cannot just put the individual drives in another enclosure.

Assuming that both HDDs are OK (and the enclosure is broken)... then you would need to put them in a a new Lacie enclosure. If either of the HDDs is broken... then you would have lost your data.

If on the other hand... Lacie uses JBOD or Spanning... then it is possible that you have 1/2 of your data even if one HDD failed (and not the enclosure).

In any case... I would probably restore from backup rather than trying to fix the broken drive(s).

To directly answer your question. Do NOT initialize.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 09:19 AM   #3
gerlep
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
I believe the Lacie drive uses both drives in a RAID 0 configuration. If I am correct, you cannot just put the individual drives in another enclosure.

Assuming that both HDDs are OK (and the enclosure is broken)... then you would need to put them in a a new Lacie enclosure. If either of the HDDs is broken... then you would have lost your data.

If on the other hand... Lacie uses JBOD or Spanning... then it is possible that you have 1/2 of your data even if one HDD failed (and not the enclosure).

In any case... I would probably restore from backup rather than trying to fix the broken drive(s).

To directly answer your question. Do NOT initialize.

/Jim
Thanks for your quick response, I will try and get the same Lacie enclosure and see how I go. Another q, can you tell me what you mean when you say, "I would probably restore from backup rather than trying to fix the broken drive" Thanks so much.
gerlep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 12:15 PM   #4
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerlep View Post
Thanks for your quick response, I will try and get the same Lacie enclosure and see how I go. Another q, can you tell me what you mean when you say, "I would probably restore from backup rather than trying to fix the broken drive" Thanks so much.
I have little faith in drives that have failed. HDDs are so inexpensive now (under $100 for a 2 or 3 TB drive)... that I would just replace it. Then, I would restore from Time Machine... or whatever program you have been using to backup your data.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 05:12 PM   #5
gerlep
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
I have little faith in drives that have failed. HDDs are so inexpensive now (under $100 for a 2 or 3 TB drive)... that I would just replace it. Then, I would restore from Time Machine... or whatever program you have been using to backup your data.

/Jim
Copy that. It's a bit of a catch 22. The HDD that failed had the Time Machine back ups on it...
Thanks for helping with my issue.
gerlep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:31 PM   #6
LaCieTech
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerlep View Post
Hi first post here. Just needed some clarity as have been getting different reports. My external drive recently packed it in. It was a LACIE 1tb (enclosed with two separate 500GB IDE Barracuda drives.) I bought an enclosure and the first instruction i get for both when I connect it to my MAC, gives me the option to INITIALIZE, IGNORE or EJECT. If I initialize the drive will that make it impossible to retrieve my data? Should I hit ignore then run a DATA retrieval app? Thx in advance....
Hi,

This is not likely a damaged case scenario. That error message is typical of volume corruption and not damaged hardware.

Repair programs like Disk Warrior can sometimes repair the damaged volume, but if not, you will need to seek recovery options.

Moving the disks will not work unless you get the exact same model of enclosure. It sounds like you have a Big Disk, which used concatenated RAID between the disks. This means that neither drive will function independently or with a 3rd party RAID controller.

If you need more information, please call our technicians at 503.844.4500 (USA) or send us a ticket at www.lacie.com/mystuff

~mn, LaCie
LaCieTech is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC