Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2013, 08:14 AM   #1
MajkJaro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Software windows only

At my job we have a software that only runs on Windows (thats what the company says). I have a question because I'm planning to buy a rMBP saturday. Is there a posibility to surpass that and have that software on my rMBP without having a windows installed? remote desktop?
MajkJaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 08:16 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Remote Desktop would be an option, it then has to run on a Windows machine.

Booting Windows on the Mac
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 08:47 AM   #3
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajkJaro View Post
At my job we have a software that only runs on Windows (thats what the company says). I have a question because I'm planning to buy a rMBP saturday. Is there a posibility to surpass that and have that software on my rMBP without having a windows installed? remote desktop?
There are many software titles that are Windows-only. You need to separate the function of your software from its function. If the Windows software in question is the only software that performs this function, then you have no option but to run this software. simsaladimbamba has given you links to two options for running Windows on the Mac. Two more problematic options allow you to run Windows software without Windows. These include the opensource WINE and CrossOver, the commercial superset of WINE. The options are problematic because they can be expected to work on a case-by-case basis but not generally. This is to say that CrossOver/WINE may work for your software or it may not.

Even though your software title is Windows-only, the functionality may not be. There is a breadth of knowledge among the members of this forum. Perhaps someone here is family with your firm's software title. It is even more likely that some is familiar with software that performs the same or similar functions.

If you give the name of the software title and the function(s) that it performs, then you may receive more useful assistance.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:01 AM   #4
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
It should be noted if you're running .net apps Wine won't be your solution. Perhaps Crossover supports it but Wine Bottler doesn't.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:06 AM   #5
MajkJaro
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
http://currenda.pl/?page_id=112

Its software for judicial officers in Poland. it's a simple software running like microsoft word with some extra features. Nothing complicated imo. It works offline but the data is stored online on our internal net in the office so everyone has the same database.

I'm just thinking how to run it with a retina mac book pro. Would be very thankful for some help

Last edited by MajkJaro; May 15, 2013 at 09:11 AM.
MajkJaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:24 AM   #6
duden32
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
I would not recommend using Wine.
You can try VirtualBox.
duden32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 09:45 AM   #7
MajkJaro
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I have absolutely no clue how to do it so can you just tell me is it very hard to do?

I hoped for an answer "yeah, easy" but I see that it's gonna be a challenge
MajkJaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 10:04 AM   #8
Reason077
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Some options:

Parallels Desktop
VMWare Fusion
VirtualBox
Boot Camp
Reason077 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 01:12 PM   #9
neilhart
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SF Bay Area - Fremont
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajkJaro View Post
At my job we have a software that only runs on Windows (thats what the company says). I have a question because I'm planning to buy a rMBP saturday. Is there a posibility to surpass that and have that software on my rMBP without having a windows installed? remote desktop?
I have the rMBP and from day two I have had VMWare Fusion, currently version 5, running and use virtual machines as needed. I have both Win XP Pro and Linux vm's and some days I run both concurently. And the great thing about this environment, you don't have reboot; just close the lid and the machine sleeps. I do not reboot the rMBP for weeks at a time. And with VMWare Fusion you can run Windows apps on the OS X desktop if you want.

I am sure that Win 7 an 8 run just as well, I just have no need for them.

Good Luck,
Neil
__________________
Currently 15" rMBP 2.7/16/512 Have owned 17" UMBP and 32GB iPhone, 16GB iPAD, 12" PB, original MiniMac, several 15" and 17" MBPs and the original MBA. I love OS X.
neilhart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2013, 06:14 PM   #10
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilhart View Post
I am sure that Win 7 an 8 run just as well, I just have no need for them.
The OP wants to run Windows programs without having to buy/install Windows. Your method requires two purchases.

That said, I'd just buy Windows and forego Wine/Crossover. Use bootcamp. You'll at least have the real thing and not have to worry about compatibility.
Krazy Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make an image of a CD that has software for both Windows and OS X? kylera Mac Basics and Help 5 Dec 9, 2013 07:38 PM
Can't install Windows Support Software voyaflexel OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Dec 28, 2012 09:55 AM
Can't install Windows Support Software because it is not currently available jawn12 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Sep 26, 2012 12:40 PM
The windows support software is not available? Foi Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Jul 14, 2012 05:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC