Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 16, 2013, 01:57 PM   #1
mknabster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
No internet but LAN works

I use my Mac Mini 3,1 as a music server with Plex, and i have been using it with wireless. I just installed a switch in that room so now i can use it with ethernet, but as soon as i plugged in the cord, and turned off the wireless, the Internet would not work at all. Network settings reads it as connected with an IP, but it won't go out for whatever reason.

With the cord in, I can only access LAN computers. Now i did try leaving it in and letting the wireless on for the Internet, but when i transfer files to the machine or back from it, it goes over the wireless instead of the wire.

What's going on with this thing?
mknabster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 03:59 PM   #2
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mknabster View Post
I use my Mac Mini 3,1 as a music server with Plex, and i have been using it with wireless. I just installed a switch in that room so now i can use it with ethernet, but as soon as i plugged in the cord, and turned off the wireless, the Internet would not work at all. Network settings reads it as connected with an IP, but it won't go out for whatever reason.

With the cord in, I can only access LAN computers. Now i did try leaving it in and letting the wireless on for the Internet, but when i transfer files to the machine or back from it, it goes over the wireless instead of the wire.

What's going on with this thing?
You can set the service order of your network connections by clicking on the little drop down window in the bottom of network prefs. You can make sure Ethernet is dragged to the top of the order. I am not sure if that was the issue but it may have been.

I had a similar problem to you Internet issue once. OSX network or my AirPort Extreme had set a different primary DNS for my isp when I did some network config changes. I have no idea why but it reset my primary DNS for my ISP to one of the local devices. That meant when I was trying to connect to the Internet it was going to one of my local macs IP addresses and not my ISPs DNS. All I needed to do was find the static primary DNS numbers and type it back in again and save.

One again, not sure if that is your issue but it may be a DNS issue if the local network is fine but no Internet.
opinio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 04:01 PM   #3
fa8362
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
You likely have a bad cable or you have something set incorrectly.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 04:08 PM   #4
TheEasterBunny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delaware
Is the switch, plugged into the router?
TheEasterBunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 04:41 PM   #5
mknabster
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I know it's not the cord because i tested it with several other machines and they all worked fine. I did try another cable and that did the same, and the switch also has 2 other computers on it, and they all have internet and LAN access, so it must be the mini itself.

Yea all the other computers in the house have no Internet or LAN problems, it's just this guy. In looking at the order, ethernet is above wireless, but it still is transferring files with wireless speeds of 1MB/s instead of 80Mb/s with the wire.
mknabster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 08:38 PM   #6
TheEasterBunny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delaware
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknabster View Post
I know it's not the cord because i tested it with several other machines and they all worked fine. I did try another cable and that did the same, and the switch also has 2 other computers on it, and they all have internet and LAN access, so it must be the mini itself.

Yea all the other computers in the house have no Internet or LAN problems, it's just this guy. In looking at the order, ethernet is above wireless, but it still is transferring files with wireless speeds of 1MB/s instead of 80Mb/s with the wire.
Make sure its IP is within the subnet...check it closely.
Once I had one with an IP of 192.168.0.55
Another with an IP of 192.168.1.54
One worked and the other did not.
TheEasterBunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 10:33 PM   #7
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknabster View Post
I know it's not the cord because i tested it with several other machines and they all worked fine. I did try another cable and that did the same, and the switch also has 2 other computers on it, and they all have internet and LAN access, so it must be the mini itself.

Yea all the other computers in the house have no Internet or LAN problems, it's just this guy. In looking at the order, ethernet is above wireless, but it still is transferring files with wireless speeds of 1MB/s instead of 80Mb/s with the wire.
Is the ethernet config getting valid DNS assignments? Is DHCP enabled for that interface?
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 11:08 PM   #8
mknabster
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Yea IP address it pulls for both the wireless and ethernet are very similar, so 192.168.1.x, with wireless being x=15 and ethernet x=18.
mknabster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 07:37 AM   #9
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknabster View Post
Yea IP address it pulls for both the wireless and ethernet are very similar, so 192.168.1.x, with wireless being x=15 and ethernet x=18.
Yes, that for the IP address. But is your ethernet config pulling valid DNS entries?

DNS is only used for resolving internet resources. Without valid entries, you would experience your situation, local resources can be accessed while the internet seems unreachable.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 08:03 AM   #10
mknabster
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Oh ok, how would i check to see if it's pulling valid entries?
mknabster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC