Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 18, 2013, 09:38 PM   #1
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
iMac G5 Linux boot issue

Right after installing linux the iMac G5 does not boot, it shows the lubuntu boot screen and then goes to a black error screen.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1368931107.032956.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	167.8 KB
ID:	412919

Please help me.
I did not know that PowerPC linux was so atrociously terrible.
Every computer that I have tried PPC linux on fails! On an AMD64, ubuntu installs perfectly.

I am not hating on linux, I use it all the time on AMD64, I am just saying that it has never worked for me on PPC64.
I love AMD64 linux, and would love PPC64 linux, if it worked.

Last edited by HexMonkey; May 19, 2013 at 01:01 AM. Reason: Post merge
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 09:44 PM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
I did not know that PowerPC linux was so atrociously terrible.
Every computer that I have tried PPC linux on fails! On an AMD64, ubuntu installs perfectly.
Just forget it, I myself tried many times on different PPC Macs, never succeeded.
And, for what, Leopard is by far better than any Linux distro for PPC.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 09:53 PM   #3
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Please help me.
I did not know that PowerPC linux was so atrociously terrible.
Every computer that I have tried PPC linux on fails! On an AMD64, ubuntu installs perfectly.
Whoa stop, hold everything. You never knew it was so much trouble? Is this the same OS that you got Mountain Lion running inside of a QEMU VM on? But that didn't fail, at least not publicly. You had that machine, a PowerMac G5, up and running for at least a week compiling QEMU, testing QEMU, forcing Mountain Lion onto it, and then waiting for it to boot in to 10.8.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2013, 09:56 PM   #4
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Whoa stop, hold everything. You never knew it was so much trouble? Is this the same OS that you got Mountain Lion running inside of a QEMU VM on? But that didn't fail, at least not publicly. You had that machine, a PowerMac G5, up and running for at least a week compiling QEMU, testing QEMU, forcing Mountain Lion onto it, and then waiting for it to boot in to 10.8.
That is completely unrelated to the current discussion.

Do not drag the negative past into the future.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 04:38 AM   #5
AlbertEinstein
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
All history aside; why did you want to boot Linux in the first place? OS X 10.5 and 4 are at least supported by some developers. PowerPC Linux have close to none.
AlbertEinstein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 09:29 AM   #6
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertEinstein View Post
All history aside; why did you want to boot Linux in the first place? OS X 10.5 and 4 are at least supported by some developers. PowerPC Linux have close to none.
I have no 10.4 or 10.5 cd, I only have 10.5 usbs which are missing, and my old 10.4 dvd got attacked by the dog.
I tried to burn a 10.5 DVD, but my MBP optical drive is broken.
I burned the linux DVD on an AMD PC I built, but I don't have the xDMGs on the PC.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 10:00 AM   #7
CptSky
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I runned without issues Leopard and Debian Squeeze in dual boot on my G5. I formatted the drive in OS X before installing Debian and Yaboot. Well, in all cases, PowerPC Linux isn't really supported but some distro are stable.

Try another distro. I don't think Ubuntu really support PowerPC systems... I heard the v12.10 doesn't work while the 12.04 works.
__________________
MacBook Pro, 2x 2.26 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD ;
PowerMac G5, 4x 2.50 GHZ, 8 GB RAM, 4 TB (RAID-0) ;
32 GB iPhone 5S ; Apple TV (3nd Gen) ;
Xserve RAID 9 TB ;
CptSky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 10:16 AM   #8
ihuman:D
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
AFAIK Lubuntu 12.04 is really the only recent Lubuntu version that works with PPC systems with 13.04 coming in a close second.
Lubuntu 12.10 is out of the question.
__________________
iMac G4 17'' 1.25GHz PowerBook G4 15'' Hi-Res 1.67GHz iMac 2012 21.5" 2.9GHz i5
It's spelled "Aluminium"
It's "Couldn't care less" not "Could care less"
ihuman:D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 11:02 AM   #9
TorCoolguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Are you trying to run a graphics environment that uses 3D acceleration, and is your video card compatible with the open source nouveau driver enough to provide 3D acceleration and adequate stability?

Support isn't that great on PPC Ubuntu, since it's completely unofficial, try using Gentoo or something instead. Gentoo at least has a few maintainers, but you do need to know a fair bit about Linux to install and use it properly because you need to compile everything using portage and configure your own kernel. You also might need to install Gentoo from an Ubuntu liveCD since Gentoo needs special configuration to use AirPort, and internet is required for a Gentoo install.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0 Ghz, 2.5 GB RAM, 2TB HDD
PowerMac G4 Dual 1.25Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 60, 40, 6GB HDs
ThinkPad R61, Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz 3GB RAM, on ArchLinux
TorCoolguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 11:07 AM   #10
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertEinstein View Post
All history aside; why did you want to boot Linux in the first place? OS X 10.5 and 4 are at least supported by some developers. PowerPC Linux have close to none.
What purpose does this question serve? He obviously has some reason for wanting to boot Linux - and so be it. Your statement is also false.

You are correct in that Linux PPC has very few dedicated developers, but Linux as a whole probably has the most thriving development ecosystem there is. Given that most of the underlying subsystems in x86 Linux exist in PPC Linux, the only thing which stops the millions of available packages working on PPC is code which makes certain hardware assumptions (endian-ness, word sizes etc.). Such problems are usually fixed very quickly by package maintainers.

With OSX, we are limited, not by the fact that we are using PPC (well, yes we are, but indirectly), but the fact that most modern applications use newer APIs which aren't available on Leopard.


In response to OP:
nouveau / DRM are part of the graphics subsystem - I believe there is a boot option which may need setting which remedies the problem you are having:
Quote:
WORKAROUND 1: (no xorg.conf)
Disable hardware acceleration/rendering (3d support) by:
a. append nouveau.noaccel=1 to yaboot command
or
b. edit /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf to include
options nouveau noaccel=1

Major downside to workaround 1 is it breaks video playback. (DVD,
Minituve, Flashvideoreplacer.)

WORKAROUND 2: (no xorg.conf)
Change display mode using xrandr and then change it back. I.E. I am using
DVI-I-2 at 1280x1024:
xrandr --output DVI-I-2 --mode 1024x768 --panning 1024x768
followed by
xrandr --output DVI-I-2 --mode 1280x1024 --panning 1280x1024

This resolves the issue. No idea why the --panning option seems to have
affect.

WORKAROUND 3:
Create xorg.conf that disables disconnected outputs (so xrandr -q shows
only one output instead of connected plus two disconnected) AND add
"Virtual" entry under display subsection that is square. xorg.conf attached.

If Virtual is set to actual display size (1280 1024), no change in display
corruption. When set to square of my H size (1280 1280), display corruption
is not there.

Speculation: Problem is related to video memory utilized by "off screen"
elements.
This bug looks at have crept in recently - hopefully it will be fixed soon.

See: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=668828

Last edited by Wildy; May 19, 2013 at 01:43 PM.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 11:23 AM   #11
TorCoolguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Won't that turn off his graphics acceleration and decrease performance significantly? Is there any way for him to enable graphics acceleration safely?
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0 Ghz, 2.5 GB RAM, 2TB HDD
PowerMac G4 Dual 1.25Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 60, 40, 6GB HDs
ThinkPad R61, Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz 3GB RAM, on ArchLinux
TorCoolguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 11:27 AM   #12
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildy View Post
What purpose does this question serve? He obviously has some reason for wanting to boot Linux - and so be it. Your statement is also false.

You are correct in that Linux PPC has very few dedicated developers, but Linux as a whole probably has the most thriving development ecosystem there is. Given that most of the underlying subsystems in x86 Linux exist in PPC Linux, the only thing which stops the millions of available packages working on PPC is code which makes certain hardware assumptions (endian-ness, word sizes etc.). Such problems are usually fixed very quickly by package maintainers.

With OSX, we are limited, not by the fact that we are using PPC (well, yes we are, but indirectly), but the fact that most modern applications use newer APIs which aren't available on Leopard.


In response to OP:
nouveau / DRM are part of the graphics subsystem - I believe there is a boot option which may need setting which remedies the problem you are having:


This bug looks at have crept in recently - hopefully it will be fixed soon.

See: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=668828
I don't think you know how big of a troll the OP is - he regularly makes outlandish claims, and messes up nice discussions, and gets nasty when someone asks "why", in an attempt to see what the END GOAL he is looking for.

Apparantly his OS X dvd's got "attacked by the dog", and his Mountain Lion QEMU port didn't work out so well
__________________
Last edited by spyguy10709; Tomorrow at 07:10 AM.
spyguy10709 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 11:51 AM   #13
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Just forget it, I myself tried many times on different PPC Macs, never succeeded.
And, for what, Leopard is by far better than any Linux distro for PPC.
How do you know?
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 11:53 AM   #14
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
How do you know?
I was waiting for this, I really was.
(Never succeeded)

I do have Ubuntu installed on my 2012 Mini, logged into it 2-3 times, not worth it.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 01:47 PM   #15
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
I don't think you know how big of a troll the OP is - he regularly makes outlandish claims, and messes up nice discussions, and gets nasty when someone asks "why", in an attempt to see what the END GOAL he is looking for.

Apparantly his OS X dvd's got "attacked by the dog", and his Mountain Lion QEMU port didn't work out so well
Without sounding pretentious, I know his history perfectly; but to be honest, I couldn't care less. I can guarantee he won't be the only person to have this particular problem, and if we help him, then we help a hundred other people who have the same problem and stumble across this thread.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by TorCoolguy View Post
Won't that turn off his graphics acceleration and decrease performance significantly? Is there any way for him to enable graphics acceleration safely?
Hardware acceleration will be de-activated. I have updated the post to include two other possible methods.

Other than that, you'll have to wait for a bugfix.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 04:02 PM   #16
Doward
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
In all honesty, if you intend to run PPC / Linux, I *highly* suggest using Gentoo.

Then any software in any portage tree will be compiled FOR your architecture. Works much better, imho.
Doward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 04:26 PM   #17
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
If you don't want to have to compile everything, the next best thing is Debian. The next best thing up from that is Mint (I sometimes exchange emails with one of the developers - seems like a very dedicated project).

How is Gentoo? I've always wanted to try it out, but never got round to it...
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 05:10 PM   #18
TorCoolguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
It's very excruchiating at times, you really have to be persistant to succeed in an install. It took me a day and a half in total (compilng at all) to make the entire system and XFCE on a eMac G4 800MHz. It runs pretty well, but at least on a subGHz machine, it isn't entirely worth it in my opinion. I would believe on a faster machine it would be better, but i'm not sure because I have been too lazy to run Gentoo on my PowerMac G5.

Just my thoughts.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0 Ghz, 2.5 GB RAM, 2TB HDD
PowerMac G4 Dual 1.25Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 60, 40, 6GB HDs
ThinkPad R61, Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz 3GB RAM, on ArchLinux
TorCoolguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 12:24 PM   #19
teller
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Why do people always assume that their ability to install and use an OS would speak for how good it actually is or not? To quote the infamous zenmaster, "Any OS is only ever going to be as capable as the person using it. If the user has limited abilities then so will the OS."
teller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 02:14 PM   #20
TorCoolguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Well, Gentoo is the exception to that rule because there is a gauge on how well you install and use it. You can make a Gentoo install that barely works as well as Windows or you can make one that is extremely efficient and small. Maintaining it also has an impact on how well it actually performs.
__________________
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0 Ghz, 2.5 GB RAM, 2TB HDD
PowerMac G4 Dual 1.25Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 60, 40, 6GB HDs
ThinkPad R61, Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz 3GB RAM, on ArchLinux
TorCoolguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 03:10 PM   #21
rabidz7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Also, does a bluetooth apple keyboard and mouse work in a yaboot prompt? I tried to use the keyboard and it did not work; the letters did not show up on the screen as I typed.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 03:45 PM   #22
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Also, does a bluetooth apple keyboard and mouse work in a yaboot prompt? I tried to use the keyboard and it did not work; the letters did not show up on the screen as I typed.
I respect you for admiting that you were lieing

I also don't think there are drivers for that os
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 06:53 PM   #23
Wildy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Also, does a bluetooth apple keyboard and mouse work in a yaboot prompt? I tried to use the keyboard and it did not work; the letters did not show up on the screen as I typed.
I wouldn't have thought so - you'll probably need a wired keyboard.
Wildy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 10:03 PM   #24
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by teller View Post
Why do people always assume that their ability to install and use an OS would speak for how good it actually is or not? To quote the infamous zenmaster, "Any OS is only ever going to be as capable as the person using it. If the user has limited abilities then so will the OS."
Yeah, well, that's true about virtually every human invention. If not wanting to be bothered with fixing bugs, implementing OS upgrades, and mastering the requisite steps for successfully executing code is a limiting factor, then I'm out.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2013, 04:05 PM   #25
Imixmuan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Linux haters of the world...

...unite and take over. To paraphrase Morrissey.

I use PPC Linux, it can be a.....challenge, but it affords a user a completely modern and up to date system/software. OS X, either 10.4 or 10.5 hasn't been updated in donkey's years....AND NEVER WILL BE. PPC Linux is, however, not anywhere near as "complete" as x86 Linux, and takes a lot of patience, forum reading and some mastery of the command line to be comfortable with. What I've learned:

Mainstream Ubuntu is completely out of the question with anything but a fast G4 or G5. Likely you are better off with something else.

MintPPC is extremely user friendly, but the iMac G5 is particularly hard beast to get it installed on. It is however very good with portables, and older Powermacs.
Forum is helpful, developer is helpful, OS 911 is helpful.

Lubuntu PPC has many fans, and I am using it right now. Its pretty user friendly and definitely the OS of choice for G4 towers.

I've never Gentoo'd, but...I'd like to someday.

DescentOS is a newer distro with a PowerPC build that is based off of Debian. It has a very slick user interface. I don't have a Powermac fast enough for it (I think it would also need a fast G4 or G5 to be usable). I would be VERY interested to hear if anyone can get it installed, and how it works for them.

Wasn't above poster Wildy working on a Crunchbang! based mac distro? I'd love to hear how that is coming along...
Imixmuan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: iMac boot issue Twimfy iMac 1 Dec 10, 2013 05:47 PM
Anyone here boot Linux from a USB? bingefeller Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Dec 2, 2013 06:26 PM
iMac flashing question mark issue while boot up Suhayl iMac 3 Nov 25, 2013 01:29 PM
Triple Boot With Linux on Second HHD auto180sx Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Aug 16, 2013 12:30 AM
Linux dual boot PC issues charlieegan3 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Oct 11, 2012 02:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC