Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Old May 22, 2013, 06:20 PM   #1
lordking65
macrumors regular

Best way to transfer from memory card to external hard drive?

Hey guys,

I'm trying to to figure out the fastest way to transfer my photos from my memory card to my external hard drive. I have looking at alternatives, thinking of buying a MacBook Air and a USB 3.0 hard drive enclosure or buying an iPad and use it to transfer my photos from my CF to it. I was even looking at the WFT thing canon offers but i feel like that's not for me.

I take an abundant amount of photos during Dance competitions very quickly (so do my assistant, I shoot all in RAW, so I need a way to relieve my 2 32gb CF cards as quick as possible.

Besides of buying a crap load of memory card anyone have any other suggestion? I'm also a student so if you guys suggest something that I can use in the long term, that would be great too!
lordking65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 08:07 PM   #2
MCAsan
macrumors 68020

I use a Lexar USB 3 reader that supports the latest UDMA standard cards to download my 64gb Lexar cards.
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 10:42 PM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordking65 View Post
Hey guys,

I'm trying to to figure out the fastest way to transfer my photos from my memory card to my external hard drive. I have looking at alternatives, thinking of buying a MacBook Air and a USB 3.0 hard drive enclosure...
That is the best option. You can use the notebook for image edits and selecting which to keep. Buy a copy of Aperture for the Macbook then you can work on the RAW images.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2013, 11:14 PM   #4
flynz4
macrumors 68030