Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 22, 2013, 10:24 PM   #1
Abdu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
iPhone 5 replacement

I was reading around and stumbled upon a couple of threads that claim that the when you get a replacement iPhone 5 and set it up, you'll get a screen that lets you choose which carrier you want. I was wondering if that's true.
Here are 2 images I found in this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1558855

and

also another thread that mentions that choosing carrier option http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1480712
Thanks
Abdu is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:15 AM   #2
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
When you get a replacement CDMA phone from apple, it will prompt the genius setting it up for the carrier it's to be locked to. It then lists all the CDMA providers stateside and you must select one. When I got my replacement, he obviously chose Verizon. This step cannot be undone and the screen warns of that. This isn't for gsm providers as far as I know.

My guess this is so any apple store anywhere in the us can replace any users CDMA phone, regardless of their location, should they need to replace a local carrier phone which isn't even operating where the store is located. These phones are basically shipped as CDMA ready "blanks" and just need to have the carrier option set upon activation. This will download the correct carrier settings to the device as needed. This will prevent the store from needing to stock a certain amount of each carriers phones and just one simple stock of general CDMA ones.
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 01:34 PM   #3
Abdu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
If so then how do you explain the 3 carrier options in the pic above?
If anyone experienced this situation please share.
Abdu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 01:36 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
No matter what you select if its a Sprint iphone then you will get a sprint replacement.
Once they enter the serial number in their system and give you another device even if you select Verizon or AT&T it will still be a Sprint locked iphone.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 01:54 PM   #5
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdu View Post
If so then how do you explain the 3 carrier options in the pic above?
If anyone experienced this situation please share.
Just got a replacement Verizon iPhone 5 last week, no carrier option.

Also, your second screen shot (where it shows the carriers + Buy iPhone Unlocked) looks pretty much like the screen you get in the Apple Store iOS app when you use it to go through the process of buying an iPhone.

I can see Apple giving the Genius Bar people the ability to select what CDMA network the replacement phone is for, but it makes no sense to give them an option that says "Buy iPhone Unlocked". "Setup as Unlocked" would make sense, but not "Buy". Really think that might be a screen shot from the iOS Apple Store app.

Last edited by aristobrat; May 23, 2013 at 01:59 PM.
aristobrat is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:11 PM   #6
mikeydeezy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MN, USA
Yep.

That's a screenshot from the Apple Store app when you're buying a new iPhone within the US.
__________________
"Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn't matter to me. ... Going to bed at night saying we've done something wonderful -- that's what matters to me." - Steve Jobs
mikeydeezy is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:11 PM   #7
Abdu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
Just got a replacement Verizon iPhone 5 last week, no carrier option.

Also, your second screen shot (where it shows the carriers + Buy iPhone Unlocked) looks pretty much like the screen you get in the Apple Store iOS app when you use it to go through the process of buying an iPhone.

I can see Apple giving the Genius Bar people the ability to select what CDMA network the replacement phone is for, but it makes no sense to give them an option that says "Buy iPhone Unlocked". "Setup as Unlocked" would make sense, but not "Buy". Really think that might be a screen shot from the iOS Apple Store app.
Yeah I thought so too. But I read in another thread that the person had the option to choose his carrier which he thought was weird.
Was your replacement done in store or over mail? And if in store did they activate it for you?
sorry if im asking too many questions I just wanna get this clearly.
Abdu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 03:15 PM   #8
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Mine was thru the mail.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 04:44 PM   #9
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdu View Post
Yeah I thought so too. But I read in another thread that the person had the option to choose his carrier which he thought was weird.
Was your replacement done in store or over mail? And if in store did they activate it for you?
sorry if im asking too many questions I just wanna get this clearly.
ill say it again since it didnt register the first time i answered this.....

when you get a replacement at the genius bar (not by mail) for a CDMA iphone, you will get this prompt to select which CDMA carrier the phone is intended for. This is most likely so they dont need to carry 100 replacement phones of each of the 20 or so CDMA carriers across the US.

now as for GSM phones, it may or may not come this way, but i dont know. and i think this is for replacement white box phones only, not retail ones. the retail ones come already locked.

when i got my white box replacement at apple, the menu was there and the genius double checked with me asking if it was verizon and i said yes. he then selected verizon as the carrier, then continued. its at this step that it downloads the carrier settings and either locks or unlocks the sim card tray i bet.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 07:54 PM   #10
codyst
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Interesting but it doesn't make any sense since there are different bands used for the different carriers.
__________________
16GB iPhone 5
Late 2009 15" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4GHz
1TB Time Machine
codyst is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 08:55 PM   #11
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by codyst View Post
Interesting but it doesn't make any sense since there are different bands used for the different carriers.
I think all of the CDMA providers in the us use/share the same towers and frequencies so it actually makes a lot of sense. All of their phones are exactly the same. Gsm phones however need to be different.
dictoresno is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 09:10 PM   #12
codyst
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dictoresno View Post
I think all of the CDMA providers in the us use/share the same towers and frequencies so it actually makes a lot of sense. All of their phones are exactly the same. Gsm phones however need to be different.
That's what I mean. I don't understand why GSM and CDMA carriers are both on that selection screen when the phone is 1 or the other.
__________________
16GB iPhone 5
Late 2009 15" Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4GHz
1TB Time Machine
codyst is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 09:16 PM   #13
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeydeezy View Post
Yep.

That's a screenshot from the Apple Store app when you're buying a new iPhone within the US.
As he mentioned, this is from the apple store app, and not a screen that appears when a phone is replaced. When replacing the phone in the system, the genius selects on their ipad or genius bar device which carrier it's for, which them supplies them with a serial number/imei to go fetch from the drawer of replacement devices every apple store stocks.
iPhonesandMacs is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2013, 04:12 PM   #14
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by codyst View Post
That's what I mean. I don't understand why GSM and CDMA carriers are both on that selection screen when the phone is 1 or the other.
that screen he posted is from the apple's store app for buying a new phone. thats the carrier selection screen for the purchase, NOT the new phone carrier select screen. that screen looks totally different. there are some people in this thread making it alot harder for people to understand than it really needs to be.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 08:31 PM   #15
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdu View Post
If so then how do you explain the 3 carrier options in the pic above?
If anyone experienced this situation please share.
So like I posted, when I got my iPhone replaced via AppleCare (FedEx), I had no option like what you're talking about.

Skip to today. I drop my iPhone getting out of my Jeep and shatter the screen. Was able to make an appt at the Genius Bar of the local store and got it replaced there.

I used to work there, and they were busy, so the Genius was like "here, you'll figure it out", which was cool with me. Anyhow, I saw the screens that you were talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.PNG
Views:	83
Size:	451.9 KB
ID:	420498   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0003.PNG
Views:	73
Size:	993.9 KB
ID:	420499  
aristobrat is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
carrier, iphone 5, replacement

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iPhone 5 replacement mich070 iOS 7 58 Jan 5, 2014 05:47 PM
iPhone Replacement Wmturner iPhone 1 Sep 16, 2013 07:01 PM
How many of you got a replacement? (iPhone 5) Adutrumque iPhone 16 Nov 8, 2012 02:39 PM
iPhone Screen Replacement - iPhone 4 (Verizon) Blackhatch iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 20, 2012 05:23 PM
Replacement iPhone 4 Macphone4ios iPhone 3 Jun 16, 2012 09:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC