Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 25, 2013, 08:06 PM   #1
Robster3
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Conflicting IP Address I Think

Hi,
I had message come up on my mbpr saying another is using your IP address. It is connected with ethernet. Now my imac on wifi and my sonos rdio won't connect. Macbook and iPad/iphone all work on wifi. I have reset modem powered off everything but no luck.
Any ideas?
Cheers
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 10:11 PM   #2
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robster3 View Post
Hi,
I had message come up on my mbpr saying another is using your IP address. It is connected with ethernet. Now my imac on wifi and my sonos rdio won't connect. Macbook and iPad/iphone all work on wifi. I have reset modem powered off everything but no luck.
Any ideas?
Cheers
If there is a conflict, the first mode of order is to see if you can get them to get along. Conflict will likely not solve anything. They have to work this out.

Do any of your devices have static IP addresses on them? Any printers, other computers, etc.? It sounds like a device owns an IP that is in the DHCP range. You will need to look at your router configuration and perhaps change the range after looking at the device in question.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 11:54 PM   #3
Robster3
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
All of my macs, idevices are working on wifi perfectly, just can't play rdio on my Sonos system. Says unable to play music.
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 12:30 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robster3 View Post
All of my macs, idevices are working on wifi perfectly, just can't play rdio on my Sonos system. Says unable to play music.
Again, you should look inside the router or the Sonos for resolving this, all devices on your network should be set to DHCP, in the router make sure there are sufficient IP addresses available, it might be set to only a short range of IP addresses.
Example, it only gives out a maximum of 10 IP addresses if it is set that way, for instance 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.11, if you then connect more than 10 IP addresses you might/will get conflicts.
Look if the Sonos setting is set to DHCP.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 12:43 AM   #5
Robster3
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
In the net gear genie it shows 15 devices including the Sonos ones. I can play music on this iPad/iphone. just can't play rdio or radio. How do i set to DHCP?
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 07:32 AM   #6
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robster3 View Post
In the net gear genie it shows 15 devices including the Sonos ones. I can play music on this iPad/iphone. just can't play rdio or radio. How do i set to DHCP?
Sonos won't help you wrt IP Addreses. They all look to the DHCP server to provide these. if you have a Netgear router, then check the assignments there.

There is a simple way to check this. Turn everything off that gets an IP address - yes, everything.
Then turn them on in this order :

1. Router or modem and then router.
2. Switches
3. WiFi access points
4. LAN connected items
5. WiFi connected items.

Wait 2 mins between each step for boot up to complete.

Before you do that, try and list the IP addresses of all connected devices.
Then check the router's assignments of IP addresses. How long is the lease time ? It should be a day, not longer. Have you any reserved IP addresses ?

After all this compare the list of IP addresses with the previous list. What's changed ?
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 09:12 AM   #7
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
and hope the router doesn't have a limit to the number of devices that can connect.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 09:23 AM   #8
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
and hope the router doesn't have a limit to the number of devices that can connect.
Have you ever seen that ?
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 12:33 PM   #9
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by drsox View Post
Have you ever seen that ?
nope...just wondering if it was possible, especially for a home router.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 01:28 PM   #10
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
nope...just wondering if it was possible, especially for a home router.
Don't think it is. All subnets can do up to 255 or 256 IP addresses.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 02:34 PM   #11
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by drsox View Post
Don't think it is. All subnets can do up to 255 or 256 IP addresses.
I wasn't thinking in terms of the subnet addresses, but rather in some kind of artificial restriction set up by the ISP.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 05:33 PM   #12
Robster3
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
[QUOTE=drsox;17316217]Sonos won't help you wrt IP Addreses. They all look to the DHCP server to provide these. if you have a Netgear router, then check the assignments there.

There is a simple way to check this. Turn everything off that gets an IP address - yes, everything.
Then turn them on in this order :

1. Router or modem and then router.
2. Switches
3. WiFi access points
4. LAN connected items
5. WiFi connected items.

I have done that 3 times still won't work.
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 12:47 AM   #13
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
[QUOTE=Robster3;17317683]
Quote:
Originally Posted by drsox View Post
Sonos won't help you wrt IP Addreses. They all look to the DHCP server to provide these. if you have a Netgear router, then check the assignments there.

There is a simple way to check this. Turn everything off that gets an IP address - yes, everything.
Then turn them on in this order :

1. Router or modem and then router.
2. Switches
3. WiFi access points
4. LAN connected items
5. WiFi connected items.

I have done that 3 times still won't work.
Then it sounds like a Sonos problem. Does everything else work ? Can you play tracks from a local music source through a Sonos unit ? Have you posted your problem on the Sonos forum site ?
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 02:58 AM   #14
Robster3
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
[QUOTE=drsox;17318560]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robster3 View Post

Then it sounds like a Sonos problem. Does everything else work ? Can you play tracks from a local music source through a Sonos unit ? Have you posted your problem on the Sonos forum site ?
The guys at Sonos support got it sorted, something to do with the IP address's in the Netgear.

I could play music from this iPhone/ipad but not Rdio or Radio.

Sonos Support is A1.
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 04:47 AM   #15
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
[QUOTE=Robster3;17318773]
Quote:
Originally Posted by drsox View Post

The guys at Sonos support got it sorted, something to do with the IP address's in the Netgear.

I could play music from this iPhone/ipad but not Rdio or Radio.

Sonos Support is A1.
Yes, I agree. I've had Sonos stuff for 5+ years; they always do 110% support.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System battery info conflicting? AndyK MacBook Pro 2 Nov 9, 2013 12:42 PM
programs say conflicting things about HD storage, which is right? garbonshio MacBook Pro 2 Jul 10, 2013 03:37 AM
Conflicting Sales Numbers in iTC app newtoiphonesdk App Store Business, Legal and Marketıng 2 Feb 3, 2013 10:36 AM
Conflicting information from Apple regarding maximum RAM desmotesta MacBook Pro 4 Nov 28, 2012 09:20 AM
UPS - Conflicting Info mryanwalker iPhone 2 Sep 20, 2012 11:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC