Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 27, 2013, 02:04 PM   #1
skippyfx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: S.F. Bay Area
After Effects CS6 CUDA Benchmark Test

Finally found a project that people were using to benchmark different cards with After Effects.

Download Link:
AE CS6 CUDA Benchmark Test

Listed Results:
http://www.teddygage.com/AEBENCHCS6/...hmarks%204.pdf

Would love to see your specs and results!

----------

MacPro 4,1
8-core 2.26Ghz
32GB Ram
7200rpm hard drive

Latest version of Mountain Lion and Nvidia Drivers.

Nvidia GTX 570, 2.5GB (flashed by MacVidCards)

6 Min, 51 Sec
skippyfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 02:29 PM   #2
BigJohno
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
5,1
3.33 6 Core
16GB Ram
SSD


ML 10.8.3 and Lates Nvidia drivers.

EVGA GTX 670 2gb

7.36 Min
__________________
Late 2013 RMBP, iPhone 6, iPad air
500px
SmugMug
BigJohno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 12:59 AM   #3
skippyfx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Thanks BigJohno!

Anyone else?
skippyfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 07:31 AM   #4
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Is there a trick?

I double clicked on the file and AE opens up, the ray tracing turns on and then....NADA?
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 08:00 AM   #5
Unami
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Austria
(3770k
32gb
ML 10.8.3.)

Club3D Geforce 560Ti/2gb

11.00 min
Unami is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 12:27 PM   #6
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
N/A to 5.5
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-05-29 at 6.26.53 PM.png
Views:	172
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	414214  
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 12:47 PM   #7
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Hackintosh
3770k @ stock 3.9Ghz
16GB RAM
EVGA GTX680 SuperClocked 2GB
10.8.2

6:07
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 01:22 PM   #8
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Can someone take a moment and post how to run the benchmark?

I am able to open AE but don't know the software well enough to know how to run this benchmark.

I would be happy to post scores from a variety of cards in a couple different CPU Mac Pros if someone could spell that out.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 01:23 PM   #9
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Can someone take a moment and post how to run the benchmark?

I am able to open AE but don't know the software well enough to know how to run this benchmark.

I would be happy to post scores from a variety of cards in a couple different CPU Mac Pros if someone could spell that out.
Just hit Composition -> Add to render list

and then render it. If you see it twice on the list, make sure you untick one of the two. That's at least the way I did it.
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 04:59 PM   #10
skippyfx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Can someone take a moment and post how to run the benchmark?

I am able to open AE but don't know the software well enough to know how to run this benchmark.

I would be happy to post scores from a variety of cards in a couple different CPU Mac Pros if someone could spell that out.
Yes, El Awesome is right.

You can also hit: Shift, Command, 0 (Numpad) to bring up the Render Queue. Check the small box on the far left, set your output destination and then click render on the far right.
skippyfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 09:23 PM   #11
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Something still not right - never mind, got it working !!!

Should there be an image in the window?

I am using a 2008 with 2 @ 4 core 3.2, with 26GB of RAM and a flashed GTX670 4GB and it is running in 55 seconds. Way too fast, so something isn't right.

Got it working, results coming !!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-05-29 at 6.21.59 PM.png
Views:	332
Size:	220.9 KB
ID:	414304  

Last edited by MacVidCards; May 29, 2013 at 10:37 PM.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2013, 05:19 AM   #12
echoout
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Just hit Composition -> Add to render list

and then render it. If you see it twice on the list, make sure you untick one of the two. That's at least the way I did it.
The AEP already has the render queued up. You should open the downloaded file. Go to Window->Render Queue. Click on "Not Yet Selected" to give a destination and hit the "Render" button.

If you have GPU processing enabled in the Preferences->Previews then everything should work properly.
echoout is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2013, 02:13 AM   #13
FitandFuel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Mac Pro 4.1
2x 2.93ghz Quad
GTX 580 (PC version)

5 min, 59 seconds
FitandFuel is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2013, 07:26 AM   #14
MIDI_EVIL
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Hac Pro - 10.8.3 / After Effects CS6
i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
16GB 1600 RAM
GTX 670 2GB

7:03 seconds...

Seems like those extra CUDA cores on the 580 would have been worth it!
__________________
Too many cameras!
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2013, 08:30 AM   #15
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIDI_EVIL View Post
Hac Pro - 10.8.3 / After Effects CS6
i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
16GB 1600 RAM
GTX 670 2GB

7:03 seconds...

Seems like those extra CUDA cores on the 580 would have been worth it!
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought the GTX580 has less cores but runs them at higher fequency, and that is what makes it faster in CUDA.
For gaming, your 670 should crunch a GTX580.
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2013, 09:12 AM   #16
MIDI_EVIL
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Awesome View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought the GTX580 has less cores but runs them at higher fequency, and that is what makes it faster in CUDA.
For gaming, your 670 should crunch a GTX580.
Oh, I stand corrected!
Either way, I knew it was going to trump the 670 in CUDA applications when I chose the GPU, but it was also for gaming when I'm not editing...
__________________
Too many cameras!
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2013, 04:08 AM   #17
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
MP 4,1 2.66 Quad
16GB RAM
7200 HDD

GTX 470 1280MB:
8 min 41 sec

GTX 570 1280MB:
6 min 49 sec
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2013, 08:56 AM   #18
iamgalactic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
late 2012 imac 32gb I7 with GTX680MX 2GB

only getting 9m47s... despite having 1536 cuda cores
iamgalactic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 04:40 AM   #19
Baunkjaer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
I give up. It claims 5 hours remaining...
Can´t figure what I´m doing wrong.
__________________

MP 5,1, W3690, 24GB, 250GB 840 EVO [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD5000  iPhone 6  2TB TC
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 04:55 AM   #20
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baunkjaer View Post
I give up. It claims 5 hours remaining...
Can´t figure what I´m doing wrong.
I had the same problem with an i7 3.5 GHz and GTX 670. The CPU was taxed and the 150 frames wanted four to five hours to be rendered.

Then I remembered the CUDA trick for Adobe products, as I have already done it, but recently have tried an Nvidia Web Driver, thus the settings may have been gone.

I tried the CUDA trick again, and schwuppsdiwupps, it took about 7m37s to render the 150 frames while the CPU was only taxed for 1/8th of its capacity.

Here is the CUDA trick.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamgalactic View Post
late 2012 imac 32gb I7 with GTX680MX 2GB

only getting 9m47s... despite having 1536 cuda cores
But you have a mobile GPU, thus while having that many CUDA cores, they are slower than their desktop GPU counterpart.

I have a GTX 670 (desktop GPU) and get it done in 7m37s, some here even have benchmarks done in 6mxxs.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 05:19 AM   #21
Baunkjaer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
[QUOTE=simsaladimbamba;17354638]
Here is the CUDA trick.

----------



That sure helped, thanks.
Rig as in signaure, except for the RAID-card which is still in the mail from US.
6 min 33 s.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skærmbillede 2013-06-05 kl. 11.14.46.png
Views:	88
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	415269  
__________________

MP 5,1, W3690, 24GB, 250GB 840 EVO [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD5000  iPhone 6  2TB TC
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 05:37 AM   #22
iamgalactic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
But you have a mobile GPU, thus while having that many CUDA cores, they are slower than their desktop GPU counterpart.
Yup, I know it's a mobile GPU, but many of the features are comparable/better to older cards on this list getting much better results. I guess my expectations were just a little higher. (although I don't expect results like the newer Nvidia cards)
iamgalactic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 06:08 AM   #23
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamgalactic View Post
Yup, I know it's a mobile GPU, but many of the features are comparable/better to older cards on this list getting much better results. I guess my expectations were just a little higher. (although I don't expect results like the newer Nvidia cards)
You have more CUDA cores than the older cards but they got ride of shader cores..so your 1536 cuda cores is actually 768 cores and they run slower because it's mobile. What you will see though is your mobile card beats the older ones at gaming which was nVidia's intent.

Last edited by GermanyChris; Jun 5, 2013 at 03:53 PM.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 01:00 PM   #24
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Is there a reason why the file is called "CS6 11.1"? Is that the Creative Cloud version ? Here at work there is a box version and that seems to only be 11.0.2?
Want to try different benchmarks this weekend in regards to PCI slot configurations, but just want to make sure that we have the right version before coming in on a Saturday
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 06:06 PM   #25
skippyfx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by initialsBB View Post
Is there a reason why the file is called "CS6 11.1"? Is that the Creative Cloud version ? Here at work there is a box version and that seems to only be 11.0.2?
Want to try different benchmarks this weekend in regards to PCI slot configurations, but just want to make sure that we have the right version before coming in on a Saturday
I have 11.0.2 as well and it worked.
skippyfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After Effects CUDA vs OpenCL Sinx2oic Mac Pro 2 Nov 7, 2013 02:39 PM
CUDA vs. OpenCL CS6 theuserjohnny Digital Video 8 Feb 23, 2013 02:19 AM
Anyone have a GTX 570 running Premiere CS6 with CUDA successfully on a MacPro 5,1? nowaymac Mac Pro 7 Sep 8, 2012 09:40 AM
Anyone successful getting a GTX 670 CUDA enabled inside of Premiere CS6 in ML? heyjordan Mac Pro 39 Aug 27, 2012 04:31 PM
Premiere CS6 CUDA acceleration with GT 650m marvguitar MacBook Pro 0 Jun 16, 2012 11:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC