Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 28, 2013, 06:59 PM   #1
roundthecircle
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
New Life to Beige G3

Greetings all, happy to be back. I have been reading for a long time but my old account was associated with my Juno email, who uses that anymore? Needless to say, I created a new one to post!

Anyhow, I have a functional beige G3 in great shape. G3 233 with the original 32mb of RAM and very little yellowing. I'm undecided on what to do with it, I think it might be powerful enough to host maybe an apache setup or postfix but I also know it will run OS X if upgraded.

I am the family geek and have a cisco small business router with PTP vpn to my fathers and sisters to host files and so that i can remote desktop to them if needed. I think it would be neat to build a website as well for the family.

What is the best use for this machine folks? I also have a display, two now. I don't know the model, it has the speakers to each side of the display and the door to the bottom but is slightly more yellowed.

Regards,

M
roundthecircle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2013, 10:30 PM   #2
Dhack21
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix
I would use it for classic games, escape velocity and warcraft 2 I love those beige g3's do you have the desktop or the mini tower??

Sent from my Lumia using Board Express
Dhack21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2013, 10:30 PM   #3
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by roundthecircle View Post
Greetings all, happy to be back. I have been reading for a long time but my old account was associated with my Juno email, who uses that anymore? Needless to say, I created a new one to post!

Anyhow, I have a functional beige G3 in great shape. G3 233 with the original 32mb of RAM and very little yellowing. I'm undecided on what to do with it, I think it might be powerful enough to host maybe an apache setup or postfix but I also know it will run OS X if upgraded.

I am the family geek and have a cisco small business router with PTP vpn to my fathers and sisters to host files and so that i can remote desktop to them if needed. I think it would be neat to build a website as well for the family.

What is the best use for this machine folks? I also have a display, two now. I don't know the model, it has the speakers to each side of the display and the door to the bottom but is slightly more yellowed.

Regards,

M
I am assuming that this is an all in one molar I think they are called correct me if I am wrong.


I believe that the max ram for this machine is 768mb which I don't even think that a beige can really use all of that much ram
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook

Last edited by Lil Chillbil; May 29, 2013 at 11:12 AM.
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 12:05 AM   #4
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
I belive that the max ram for this machine is 128mb which isn't very much for os x
You believe too much instead of knowing.
768 is max for Beige.
666sheep is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 12:13 AM   #5
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
You believe too much instead of knowing.
768 is max for Beige.
Thankyou for correcting me, I haven't seen these things in person nor cared much about them to study up on specs and that
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 07:32 AM   #6
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Llantwit Major, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
Thankyou for correcting me, I haven't seen these things in person nor cared much about them to study up on specs and that
So why post information that you know you're not 100% on?
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, HD5770 | MacBook 2x 2.0GHz, 2GB, 9400M | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz, 2GB, Ti4600 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 1GB, 9700 | Sony Xperia S 32GB | Canon 350D
Goftrey is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 11:11 AM   #7
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
So why post information that you know you're not 100% on?
several reasons


#1 because I felt like it
#2 because I was pretty damn sure it wouldn't hurt nothing if I was wrong
#3 I am also pretty damn sure that nobody even takes me seriously anymore after the zen.state war of 012.
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 12:57 PM   #8
tdbmoss
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK
You can usually get OS X up to 10.4 Tiger running on these quite easily, though you'll want the full 768 MB memory and a reasonable graphics card like a Radeon as the built-in graphics on them is useless for OS X. A reasonably new hard drive will also increase performance as it will be a lot faster than the original one which will be 15+ years old now.

If you drop in a G4 processor (500 MHz and 1 GHz Sonnet ones are available) you can also run 10.5 Leopard on them though it's a bit of work to get it running.

Alternatively they make a good OS 9.2 machine if you've already got other machines for OS X. Or you can try out interesting operating systems like OS X Server 1.0/1.2 and the OS X DPs/Public Beta as they are all compatible with this machine.

Your display sounds like one of the old Apple CRTs - you can also use a modern "PC" LCD with them with the right adapter for the built-in graphics, or directly if you get a Radeon as they a VGA port.
tdbmoss is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC