Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 31, 2013, 04:39 PM   #1
silvetti
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Poland
Numbers: Scatter graph issue

Hi guys,

I'm having some issues with graphs on Numbers for iOS... Maybe you can help...

I have a table with values and I draw a scatter graph from them but I can't seem to get the table values on the x and y (to actually show the values, not just place the dot).

If you see on the screenshot I have 1.5, 3, 4.5 etc instead of the actual values.

Any clue how to resolve this?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1370036333.678767.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	414671
silvetti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2013, 08:32 PM   #2
TJ61
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvetti View Post
I have a table with values and I draw a scatter graph from them but I can't seem to get the table values on the x and y (to actually show the values, not just place the dot).

If you see on the screenshot I have 1.5, 3, 4.5 etc instead of the actual values.
I've never seen this type of graph (in any graphing application) do anything differently than what you're seeing. The x- and y-axis ticks and/or grids are always evenly spaced, and labelled like you see, rather than labelled with your data.


One really good reason for this will be clear the first time you try to plot hundreds or thousands of data points.


Regards,
Tom
TJ61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 02:48 AM   #3
silvetti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ61 View Post
I've never seen this type of graph (in any graphing application) do anything differently than what you're seeing. The x- and y-axis ticks and/or grids are always evenly spaced, and labelled like you see, rather than labelled with your data.


One really good reason for this will be clear the first time you try to plot hundreds or thousands of data points.


Regards,
Tom
Thanks for your reply.

Maybe you are right

Another question if I may, what about line of best fit? Connecting first point directly to last one? Is it possible or would I have to do it by hand?
silvetti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 10:49 AM   #4
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvetti View Post
Thanks for your reply.

Maybe you are right

Another question if I may, what about line of best fit? Connecting first point directly to last one? Is it possible or would I have to do it by hand?
No, TJ61 is in error. What you have there is a standard scatter graph with one independent variable and one dependent variable. Your data appear to be evenly-spaced and straightline, but this is not required. As a general proposition, connecting the first point to the last point is a misrepresentation of your data. If you are doing this for a class, then your professor should debit your grade for this practice. Numbers has a "trendline" option for scatter graphs. This is what you need. These options are reasonably easy to find in the OS X version of Numbers. Unfortunately, Numbers is crashing on both of my iPads.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2013, 11:44 AM   #5
TJ61
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe View Post
No, TJ61 is in error. What you have there is a standard scatter graph...
Are you confusing a scatter graph with one of the other graph types?

Here's an example (from Apple Support) of a scatter graph.



It's very much like a scatter graph in many other applications, in which the axis labels are independent of any particular data pair being plotted. Again, if you imagine a scatter graph containing hundreds or thousands of data points, it would not be possible for each to get it's own axis label.

Regards,
Tom

Last edited by TJ61; Jun 1, 2013 at 01:31 PM.
TJ61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Numbers vs Excel when mixing text & numbers TheBlackLabEdge Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Mar 6, 2014 08:29 PM
Major issue with icloud Numbers phr0ze iCloud and Apple Services 2 Jan 23, 2014 10:12 AM
Numbers, simple x-y line graph kmoreau48 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 24, 2013 07:21 PM
Numbers icloud mac/iphone issue daz1985 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 20, 2013 05:49 PM
Numbers Graph Question leadfeather89 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 31, 2012 05:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC