IMAP error must be the Mac OS - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 3, 2013, 03:41 AM   #1
henrybarnett
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
IMAP error must be the Mac OS

I have this error message with Thunderbird.:

“Unable to open the summary file for imap:server.orange.fr. Perhaps there was an error on disk, or the full path is too long.”

If I try to get my mail I get “The imap:server.orange.fr” is not responding.”

At first I thought it was Thunderbird. I tried everything that was suggested on the forums then decided to install first “Opera” then I tried “Mail” already installed on my iMac. There I got “The imap:server.gmail.com” is not responding.” trying to add a new account.

Basically I am getting the same problem across all email clients and all accounts. Pop and Imap.

I saw a forum for gmail (one of my accounts is a gmail one and gmail uses IMAP) where a Google rep replied and finally said what we should do but added: “If it is a problem across all email clients and all IMAP servers then it is something else. Have a nice day”

I tried my PC and I have no problem downloading my emails.

Conclusion: It is not the IMAP servers. It is not Thunderbird and Mail and Opera together. It is not my ISP. It is not my adsl/broadband box.

It must be a MacOS problem. We did have a few storms locally and the iMac was shut down but it is surge protected twice. Apart from the problem I describe everything else seems to be fine.

Has anyone got any ideas. Have 10.8.3
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 03:44 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Does it also happen in another, even temporarily created, user account?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 03:54 AM   #3
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
When I started to set up "Mail" the first account was a gmail one. It came back with the 'imap.server.gmail is not responding. So the answer is yes.

The Pc next to me is getting my emails no problem.

Thanks for that v quick reply.

Henry

----------

BTW this error seems to have been around some years!
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 03:56 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
When I started to set up "Mail" the first account was a gmail one. It came back with the 'imap.server.gmail is not responding. So the answer is yes.

The Pc next to me is getting my emails no problem.

Thanks for that v quick reply.

Henry

----------

BTW this error seems to have been around some years!
Sorry, meant to try a different user account in Mac OS X via System Preferences > Accounts / Users & Groups. Maybe it is a setting in YOUR Library, maybe it is system wide.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 04:00 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Try in a new User Account, if it is working there your normal User Account is the problem, if not it is System wide, if that is the case reset network settings by moving the next folder to the Desktop and then restart.

/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 04:28 AM   #6
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
I tried in a new user account. Tried to set up 3 accounts TB rejected all three passwords. They were 100% ok! Mail gave me the imap server not responding.

So "... it is System wide, if that is the case reset network settings by moving the next folder to the Desktop and then restart."

Can you be a bit more specific as I am not sure what you mean. Which next folder?

Thanks continue....
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 04:33 AM   #7
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
I tried in a new user account. Tried to set up 3 accounts TB rejected all three passwords. They were 100% ok! Mail gave me the imap server not responding.

So "... it is System wide, if that is the case reset network settings by moving the next folder to the Desktop and then restart."

Can you be a bit more specific as I am not sure what you mean. Which next folder?

Thanks continue....
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Try in a new User Account, if it is working there your normal User Account is the problem, if not it is System wide, if that is the case reset network settings by moving the next folder to the Desktop and then restart.

/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration
The answer I already gave in my last post, the bolded one.

If that still does not work a manual download and reapply of 10.8.3 COMBO might do the job, needs to be the combo updater!
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 04:52 AM   #8
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
Sorry. Opened Library/Preferences but can not see system configuration anywhere.

Going to update 10.8.3 COMBO

Last edited by henrybarnett; Jun 3, 2013 at 05:09 AM.
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 04:56 AM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
Sorry. Opened Library/Preferences but can not see system configuration anywhere.
Maybe you got the wrong Library, it is there.
The main Library at the root level, not your User Library.

Click Go in Finders Menu Bar, go to folder and type /Library/Preferences

Edit: It will reset all network preferences.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 05:22 AM   #10
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
Folder not found!



And there is no "system configuration"folder to be seen

Last edited by henrybarnett; Jun 3, 2013 at 05:27 AM.
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 05:36 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
Folder not found!

Image

And there is no "system configuration"folder to be seen
Ah, I think I know why, you are French?
If so it is probably a different name, now, I don't know French so you have to figure it out yourself, but believe me, there is a folder like that.

You can also enable invisible files by opening Terminal, then paste the below command:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles True
Hit Enter
killall Finder
Hit Enter

To reverse this command:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles False
Hit Enter
killall Finder
Hit Enter
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 06:07 AM   #12
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
I am actually English and the OS is in English too.

If it were in French it would still be in the same alphabetical order. I'm going out to play in the sunshine as we haven't had any for 2 months. I'll report back later. Thanks for all your help so far.

I'm changing my profile as I love the "Near the upside down Volacano"
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 06:10 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
I am actually English and the OS is in English too.

If it were in French it would still be in the same alphabetical order. I'm going out to play in the sunshine as we haven't had any for 2 months. I'll report back later. Thanks for all your help so far.

I'm changing my profile as I love the "Near the upside down Volacano"
Ok, if it is in English it's got to be there, it's been there for years on different OS X versions.

Very near, and a bit active at the moment as well.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 08:54 AM   #14
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
The sun went in

Found it. Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguraion

Is the "Next" folder "CaptiveNetworkSupport" and is that the folder I should drag to the desktop then restart?

Sorry to ask s many questions but I want to get it right !

Here's what's in the folder:

henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 12:12 PM   #15
benthewraith
macrumors 68030
 
benthewraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Send a message via AIM to benthewraith Send a message via MSN to benthewraith
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
The sun went in

Found it. Macintosh HD/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguraion

Is the "Next" folder "CaptiveNetworkSupport" and is that the folder I should drag to the desktop then restart?

Sorry to ask s many questions but I want to get it right !

Here's what's in the folder:

Image
Just move the system configuration folder to the desktop.
benthewraith is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 12:28 PM   #16
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
Thank you so very much. Cant say much more. Henry
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 12:43 PM   #17
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybarnett View Post
Thank you so very much. Cant say much more. Henry
Did it work then?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 02:50 PM   #18
henrybarnett
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
Absolutely. Felt like someone had put a litre of oil in a rusty old engine and it coughed and said "I feel like a new man".

Thanks a lot. Henry
henrybarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Tags
imap

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mail iMap problem Marty62 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Apr 23, 2014 11:58 AM
Mac mail and Outlook.com IMAP whsbuss OS X 1 Sep 20, 2013 02:13 PM
Is IMAP email on an iPad a special strain on IMAP servers? desertman iOS 6 6 May 7, 2013 07:08 PM
Mac Mail and AOL IMAP djxpress OS X 0 Feb 18, 2013 05:02 PM
Will POP on my Mac and IMAP on iphone cause problems? blinkie Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 21, 2012 11:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC