Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:13 AM   #1
Amaro2021
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Angry Sprint is canceling my contract!

Well do to my previous thread on forcing the Verizon prl on the Iphone 5, i guess i went over my data or "roaming data" and i get a letter in the mail saying their going to cancel my contract because of this. They are giving me to the 6/9/2013, I think this is complete BS i would like to keep my contractI was wondering if you guys know of anyway they can stop from canceling your contract. Have you came across this type of situation before? Have you stopped sprint from canceling your contract? And if so, how? Thank you
Amaro2021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:23 AM   #2
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
Well do to my previous thread on forcing the Verizon prl on the Iphone 5, i guess i went over my data or "roaming data" and i get a letter in the mail saying their going to cancel my contract because of this. They are giving me to the 6/9/2013, I think this is complete BS i would like to keep my contractI was wondering if you guys know of anyway they can stop from canceling your contract. Have you came across this type of situation before? Have you stopped sprint from canceling your contract? And if so, how? Thank you
I would say just screw Sprint and either switch to T-Mobile or AT&T.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:27 AM   #3
mumph
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Im not sure what a PRL is but if its from a rival phone company I'm pretty sure YOU have voided the contract and so Sprint are canceling as per your agreement in the small print.
mumph is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:29 AM   #4
Arnezie
macrumors 65816
 
Arnezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Why on earth would you want to stay with Sprint? unlimited data means nothing to me at 1mps download.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
yes ive done it on my 4s and im gone over 500mb in a month and they havent canceled my contract,but when they asked me about it i told them how can i go over 300mb when im on 1x i get no 3G or LTE where im at.Im pretty sure they dont want to lose any customers
__________________
15 RETINA 2.6 16GB 256 , iPhone 6 , IPad 2 ATT 64GB
Arnezie is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:33 AM   #5
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
You broke the terms of your contract. Goodluck
Gav2k is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:45 AM   #6
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
Well do to my previous thread on forcing the Verizon prl on the Iphone 5, i guess i went over my data or "roaming data" and i get a letter in the mail saying their going to cancel my contract because of this.
Right, so when you sign up for service with carrier A, but somehow finagle it so that your phone spends the majority of time roaming on carrier B's network, you end up costing carrier A extra money (to cover your roaming costs).

From reading HowardForums over the years, carriers seem pretty firm about this. Your usage is costing them significantly more than other users that just occasionally roam, so they're dropping you.

By loading Verizon's PRL (preferred roaming list <of towers>) onto your Sprint phone, it kind of sounds like you went out of your way to help create the situation that you're in.

We you trying to engineer a situation where you pay Sprint's lower rates (and get unlimited data), but trick your phone to stay connected to Verizon's (subjectively "better") network? Best of both worlds?!

Anyhow, sounds like you should probably just sell your Sprint iPhone and sign up for proper Verizon service.
aristobrat is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:49 AM   #7
1080p
macrumors 68000
 
1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Earth
Are they charging you an ETF?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini Quad Core i7 | OSX Yosemite | iPhone 6 | Synology NAS
1080p is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:51 AM   #8
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1080p View Post
Are they charging you an ETF?
Be curious to see what the OP says, but I've never seen a case where the ETF is charged when the carrier cancels the contract. I've seen people post about purposefully roaming on other networks just to get their contracts cancelled without having to pay an ETF.
aristobrat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 09:52 AM   #9
omgitsbees
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1080p View Post
Are they charging you an ETF?
This is what i'm curious about. Since you broke their contract though, I assume they are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
Be curious to see what the OP says, but I've never seen a case where the ETF is charged when the carrier cancels the contract. I've seen people post about purposefully roaming on other networks just to get their contracts cancelled without having to pay an ETF.
This is an interesting fact. Would be curious in hearing more about this.
omgitsbees is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 10:09 AM   #10
ARSkemp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgitsbees View Post
This is what i'm curious about. Since you broke their contract though, I assume they are.
I had always thought that they way it was stated that the Carrier had the "right" to cancel you contract if you went over the limit. Not necessarily that you broke the contract. I do not know the verbiage of the contract off hand though, maybe someone can put up the clause related to this.
__________________
If I am helpful please vote up my post to let me know. If I am disrespectful or said something that offended you vote it down instead.
iPhone 5 (64GB) | iPad Mini Retina (32GB) | 13" 2011 MBA
ARSkemp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 10:15 AM   #11
oneMadRssn
macrumors 6502a
 
oneMadRssn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Boston, MA
So they're letting you out of the contract early, without charging an ETF (?), and letting you keep the subsedized phone? That sounds like a great situation to be in.
__________________
13" Macbook Air (2011) 1.8ghz i7 256GB 4GB | iPhone 5 (Sprint) 16GB
oneMadRssn is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 11:19 AM   #12
omgitsbees
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARSkemp View Post
I had always thought that they way it was stated that the Carrier had the "right" to cancel you contract if you went over the limit. Not necessarily that you broke the contract. I do not know the verbiage of the contract off hand though, maybe someone can put up the clause related to this.
That is a good point to bring up. Going over your limit is not the same as breaking your contract is a fair assumption.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneMadRssn View Post
So they're letting you out of the contract early, without charging an ETF (?), and letting you keep the subsedized phone? That sounds like a great situation to be in.
Yeah, to be honest this sounds like a positive thing. Having an modern unlocked smartphone with no contract is awesome. Double so if you didn't have to pay the $650 or whatever it costs for it normally.
omgitsbees is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 11:37 AM   #13
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
There are a lot of threads on the Sprint BAW forums on how to break your contract without ETF via roaming.

Roaming on another carrier is how you do it. And you do that by using a PRL that forces roaming. My understanding is that Sprint's limit is 300mb of data on roaming.

Why the OP would not understand this I don't know.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 11:58 AM   #14
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARSkemp View Post
I had always thought that they way it was stated that the Carrier had the "right" to cancel you contract if you went over the limit. Not necessarily that you broke the contract. I do not know the verbiage of the contract off hand though, maybe someone can put up the clause related to this.
I think this it (below). Off-network usage = roaming. Every carrier contract that I've seen (AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, etc) contains a similar clause.

Quote:
Sprint reserves the right, without notice, to deny, terminate, modify, disconnect or suspend service if off-network usage in a month exceeds: (1) voice: 800 min. or a majority of minutes; or (2) data: 300 megabytes or a majority of kilobytes.
https://manage.sprintpcs.com/output/...rmsPrivacy.htm
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 12:09 PM   #15
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
Roaming on another carrier is how you do it. And you do that by using a PRL that forces roaming. My understanding is that Sprint's limit is 300mb of data on roaming.

Why the OP would not understand this I don't know.
IMO, looking at a previous post from the OP (in another thread), he does seem to understand it. To me, he was just gambling that they wouldn't drop him because "they need customers".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
yes ive done it on my 4s and im gone over 500mb in a month and they havent canceled my contract,but when they asked me about it i told them how can i go over 300mb when im on 1x i get no 3G or LTE where im at.Im pretty sure they dont want to lose any customers
aristobrat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 01:19 PM   #16
TheAppleFairy
macrumors 65816
 
TheAppleFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 岩手県
One of the best post I've seen on this forum. Well put my friend.


Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
Right, so when you sign up for service with carrier A, but somehow finagle it so that your phone spends the majority of time roaming on carrier B's network, you end up costing carrier A extra money (to cover your roaming costs).

From reading HowardForums over the years, carriers seem pretty firm about this. Your usage is costing them significantly more than other users that just occasionally roam, so they're dropping you.

By loading Verizon's PRL (preferred roaming list <of towers>) onto your Sprint phone, it kind of sounds like you went out of your way to help create the situation that you're in.

We you trying to engineer a situation where you pay Sprint's lower rates (and get unlimited data), but trick your phone to stay connected to Verizon's (subjectively "better") network? Best of both worlds?!

Anyhow, sounds like you should probably just sell your Sprint iPhone and sign up for proper Verizon service.
TheAppleFairy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 01:28 PM   #17
Apollo 13
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
uhhh....most of the ppl that installed the PRL did it to get out of their contract with sprint when I was with them.
Apollo 13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 01:31 PM   #18
maxosx
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
While every situation is a bit different, as are the carriers policies, at the end of the day it's just business. Right or wrong they will prevail.
maxosx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 01:47 PM   #19
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
You should be happy you're getting away from Sprint without ETF.
Now switch to a carrier that doesn't suck
Applejuiced is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 02:28 PM   #20
Amaro2021
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
No ETF!

Nope they wont charge me anything they just said cause i violated their terms and conditions and its costing them a lot of money and you guys are right sprint sucks hard! But i just don't want to lose my number that's what i'm worried about but other then that im happy that im gone..so other news i called T-mobile and asked if i can use my sprint iphone, the lady says o yes you can unlock your SPRINT iphone 5 and use it with us I'm like o OK so i called sprint back to confirm the unlocking they said we can give you a msl code but we cant walk you through the steps i was wondering is there a jailbreak source out there that allows unlocking since its illegal now, i don't know that's going to be hard to do so does anybody know? Thanks guys!
Amaro2021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 02:40 PM   #21
TheAppleFairy
macrumors 65816
 
TheAppleFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 岩手県
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
Nope they wont charge me anything they just said cause i violated their terms and conditions and its costing them a lot of money and you guys are right sprint sucks hard! But i just don't want to lose my number that's what i'm worried about but other then that im happy that im gone..so other news i called T-mobile and asked if i can use my sprint iphone, the lady says o yes you can unlock your SPRINT iphone 5 and use it with us I'm like o OK so i called sprint back to confirm the unlocking they said we can give you a msl code but we cant walk you through the steps i was wondering is there a jailbreak source out there that allows unlocking since its illegal now, i don't know that's going to be hard to do so does anybody know? Thanks guys!
Better port your number now.
TheAppleFairy is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 02:42 PM   #22
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
Nope they wont charge me anything they just said cause i violated their terms and conditions and its costing them a lot of money and you guys are right sprint sucks hard! But i just don't want to lose my number that's what i'm worried about but other then that im happy that im gone..so other news i called T-mobile and asked if i can use my sprint iphone, the lady says o yes you can unlock your SPRINT iphone 5 and use it with us I'm like o OK so i called sprint back to confirm the unlocking they said we can give you a msl code but we cant walk you through the steps i was wondering is there a jailbreak source out there that allows unlocking since its illegal now, i don't know that's going to be hard to do so does anybody know? Thanks guys!
That T-Mobile rep you talked to had no idea what she was talking about. Sprint will only unlock their iPhones for international sim cards only.

If you do decide to go to T-Mobile, you need to sign up with one of their phones.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 02:43 PM   #23
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
Nope they wont charge me anything they just said cause i violated their terms and conditions and its costing them a lot of money and you guys are right sprint sucks hard! But i just don't want to lose my number that's what i'm worried about but other then that im happy that im gone..so other news i called T-mobile and asked if i can use my sprint iphone, the lady says o yes you can unlock your SPRINT iphone 5 and use it with us I'm like o OK so i called sprint back to confirm the unlocking they said we can give you a msl code but we cant walk you through the steps i was wondering is there a jailbreak source out there that allows unlocking since its illegal now, i don't know that's going to be hard to do so does anybody know? Thanks guys!
Like I told you in the other thread that tmobile lady gave you wrong info.
You cant use a Sprint iphone 5 on Tmobile or any other US carrier.
They only unlock it for international GSM use.
Best bet is to sell it and get one for Tmobile.
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 02:45 PM   #24
Amaro2021
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAppleFairy View Post
Better port your number now.
Im trying to go to T-mobile or ATT i really like the T-Mobile though T-mobile said i can trade in my iphone they will only give me 270 for 64gb. Don't really know what to do.
Amaro2021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2013, 02:57 PM   #25
TheAppleFairy
macrumors 65816
 
TheAppleFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 岩手県
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaro2021 View Post
Im trying to go to T-mobile or ATT i really like the T-Mobile though T-mobile said i can trade in my iphone they will only give me 270 for 64gb. Don't really know what to do.

You only have 4 days until they shut you down.

I think it can take a week sometimes to port a number, hopefully they don't give it away by then.
TheAppleFairy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
amaro2021 sprint iphone 5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contract free - 5s Sprint problem hpereznoble iPhone 0 Sep 23, 2013 11:56 AM
Wait period before canceling verizon contract? catgo iPhone 16 Oct 12, 2012 10:30 AM
Wait period before canceling Verizon contract? catgo iPhone Accessories 0 Oct 11, 2012 11:29 PM
Buying Out Contract (Sprint) nanogirl21 iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 09:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC