Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 6, 2013, 09:43 AM   #1
tony3d
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Which Smart ups?

What uninterruptible power supply do you recommend for a new 3.06 gig 12 core Mac Pro with 4 internal hard drives, and a 27" monitor?

Last edited by tony3d; Jun 6, 2013 at 11:10 AM.
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 10:14 AM   #2
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I have been using a APC SmartUPS 1500 for several years with no problems.
hfg is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 10:36 AM   #3
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
I have been using a APC SmartUPS 1500 for several years with no problems.
Will this work ok? APC SMC1500 Smart-UPS 900 Watts/1500 VA Input 120V/Output 120-Volt Interface Port USB with Uninterrupted Power Supply

I thought the MAc Pro power supply was 980 watts alone.
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 10:39 AM   #4
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
When it comes to UPS, I only trust APC. I have an old Back-UPS 1500 with additional battary pack in use for many years. I have replaced the batteries in them once.

During hurricane Sandy, when the lights started to flicker, I had more than ample time to power down my equipment before suffering any damage.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 10:48 AM   #5
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
When it comes to UPS, I only trust APC. I have an old Back-UPS 1500 with additional battary pack in use for many years. I have replaced the batteries in them once.

During hurricane Sandy, when the lights started to flicker, I had more than ample time to power down my equipment before suffering any damage.
I'm using an APC XS1500 right now, but everyone is telling me I need to move to a smart ups because this one can damage my new Mac pro 12 core power supply. Is this true? I was also looking at this one


APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA LCD - UPS - AC 120 V - 900 Watt - 1500 VA - USB - 8 output connector(s)

I do have all drive bays loaded as well. I'm running an HP2311xi monitor.
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 10:56 AM   #6
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
I don't understand how it can damage your Mac Pro. What did they mean??

My Mac Pro has the same power supply yours does and my UPS has been working fine. I also have a 30" monitor, FiOS modem, FiOS ONT, router, and speakers connected to it.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 11:08 AM   #7
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
I don't understand how it can damage your Mac Pro. What did they mean??

My Mac Pro has the same power supply yours does and my UPS has been working fine. I also have a 30" monitor, FiOS modem, FiOS ONT, router, and speakers connected to it.
I don't understand it myself, but if you check around the forms you'll see what I mean. I have been using that old tall 1500 on my other Mac Pro 2008 for years, and it's still kicking. People claim that over time a stepped power supply that isn't pure sine wave will damage the Mac Pro's supply. I don't know. I sure don't want to spend another $500 if I don't have to.
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 11:30 AM   #8
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
In simple terms, a true "Sine Wave" output mimics the power coming from your electrical outlets and provides more total power (energy) to your computer than does a "Step Wave" output which has many gaps. This causes the power supply in your computer to work harder to deliver the required current needs when running from a stepped input waveform.
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 11:35 AM   #9
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Until I see reports of many people suffering damage from these units, I'm not going to let a hypothetical situation bother me.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 11:40 AM   #10
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
Until I see reports of many people suffering damage from these units, I'm not going to let a hypothetical situation bother me.
So you say just keep it? According to the estimated time remaining it claims it will power my Mac Pro 23 minutes. Hell I only need about 3 to save, and shutdown. So long as I'm not actually damaging anything.
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 11:44 AM   #11
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
I'm saying I, personally, am not going to let it bother me. I've already gone through three different systems using the same UPS and have never had an issue. The step wave scenario sounds a bit like fear mongering to me. Heck, I could get struck by lightning later...
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 12:15 PM   #12
calciumantacid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony3d View Post
According to the estimated time remaining it claims it will power my Mac Pro 23 minutes. Hell I only need about 3 to save, and shutdown.
Is there actually a need to do a shutdown, why not just sleep? I'd imagine the machine could sleep for a long time off the UPS battery. Hybernate mode 3 writes to both RAM and disk so if the power is lost completely the machine will later wake from the disk as normal. I don't have a UPS yet to test this, so this is just my thinking.
calciumantacid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 05:05 PM   #13
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
There is an alternative supplier remember - CyberPower. The forum search will show you plenty of threads.

As long as you buy a Pure Sinewave model rather than a Stepped Sinewave you will be fine. For APC that means the SmartUPS (pure) not the BackUPS (stepped) range.

I use a SMT1000 on the Mac Pro in my signature and am quoted 45-50 minutes at idle (less at load of course). A SMT1500 would give you more headroom and the unit is the same physical size.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 05:22 PM   #14
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Of course the actual exposure to potential damage only occurs while under a power outage when your computer is powered by the UPS. Normally you are on line power and the UPS is on idle standby.

It isn't "hypothetical", it is a real threat in the event of a power failure. It doesn't matter how long you have been running your system from a UPS without problems ... what matters is what happens to your equipment WHEN the power fails and the UPS becomes your source of power. Do you feel lucky with your expensive Mac Pro?

I use the same APC SmartUPS 1500 units on my home theater installations for the screen and satellite recorders. With the screen off, it will run the recorders (and satellite electronics) for several hours to continue to record shows otherwise unaffected by the regional power outage as they are satellite based.

Last edited by hfg; Jun 6, 2013 at 07:34 PM.
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 06:50 PM   #15
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
If anyone is interested in the whole "Can a stepped sine wave damage your PSU?" thing, I'd advise you read this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...4#post15307344

There is a link on page two that leads to this PDF:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/su.../c02492972.pdf

Which correlates with what nanofrog was saying, and I quote:

Quote:
Using a UPS with a square wave inverter will cause computer power supplies to run hotter, operate less efficiently, and have a shorter life than using a UPS with a pure sine wave inverter.
If you've invested big bucks in a Mac Pro, you might as well buy a proper UPS for it. Whether or not the Mac Pro is actually effected by a stepped sine wave is somewhat irrelevant, the equipment was designed to run off a pure sine wave and any UPS that outputs otherwise is simply a cheap unit.

I've been running an older Smart-UPS 1500VA unit for years now. Replaced the battery pack twice. Built like a tank, runs perfectly. OS X can pick these units up automatically over USB and offer you the relevant shutdown options in System Preferences without third party software (for example, mine is configured to shut down the computer when the % remaining drops below 25%, and restart automatically after the power is restored).

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 08:17 PM   #16
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
I had my 2008 Mac Pro for over 5 years and it ran pretty much 24/7 throughout that time. The machine ran well and continues to run well to this day. Prior to that, I had PowerMac MDD that also ran pretty much 24/7 for over 5 years. Both were on this same stepped wave APC UPS. Even if a stepped wave UPS can cause my machines to run hotter and/or shorten their lives, it's not enough to affect me. By the time, a stepped wave UPS'es potential/theoretical adverse properties take affect and they will be long retired by me.

Theoretically, I really shouldn't go out during tomorrow's thunderstorm while holding an umbrella since the umbrella can act as a lightning rod, but I will because USPS has a package that I really want so I will. The odds of it actually affecting me are low enough for me to ignore.

*Note: I didn't read the message thread or PDF and will not.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 05:00 AM   #17
macmesser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielCoffey View Post
There is an alternative supplier remember - CyberPower. The forum search will show you plenty of threads.

As long as you buy a Pure Sinewave model rather than a Stepped Sinewave you will be fine. For APC that means the SmartUPS (pure) not the BackUPS (stepped) range.

I use a SMT1000 on the Mac Pro in my signature and am quoted 45-50 minutes at idle (less at load of course). A SMT1500 would give you more headroom and the unit is the same physical size.
I'm going to pick one of those CyberPower pure sine wave units up now. Provantage (excellent company I've never had any problems with, always competitive at a minimum) is running a sale on them. Warranty on connected equipment is good although I don't know about pricing for replacement batteries, for which APC is very convenient and cost-effective.
macmesser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 08:16 AM   #18
AlexMaximus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boondocks
dont worry at all..

Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
I had my 2008 Mac Pro for over 5 years and it ran pretty much 24/7 throughout that time. The machine ran well and continues to run well to this day. Prior to that, I had PowerMac MDD that also ran pretty much 24/7 for over 5 years. Both were on this same stepped wave APC UPS. Even if a stepped wave UPS can cause my machines to run hotter and/or shorten their lives, it's not enough to affect me. By the time, a stepped wave UPS'es potential/theoretical adverse properties take affect and they will be long retired by me.

Theoretically, I really shouldn't go out during tomorrow's thunderstorm while holding an umbrella since the umbrella can act as a lightning rod, but I will because USPS has a package that I really want so I will. The odds of it actually affecting me are low enough for me to ignore.

*Note: I didn't read the message thread or PDF and will not.


+1

I am an electrical engineer and I tell you, you do not have anything to worry. Those differences in previous posts apply theoretically, -however they are in such an extreme low percentage range then to present any real case of concern.
Every power supply will die eventually, given enough time because of power electronics. But If you don't plan to keep your MacPro for longer then another 10 years, you will most likely be fine. After that, statistics and the law of six sigma kicks in real hard. To reduce risk of mission critical parts, I always advice a preventative maintenance plan. Rule of thumb, replace your PS every 6 - 8 years. Thats why servers have often redundant hot swapping dual PS in use.
__________________
MacBook Pro 17' i7 2010, Samsung Evo 1TB,
27' ACD; TC, iPad 3, iPhone 4s, iPod touch 1.gen, NAS: 214play (2x4TB),
AlexMaximus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 09:30 AM   #19
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by calciumantacid View Post
Is there actually a need to do a shutdown, why not just sleep? I'd imagine the machine could sleep for a long time off the UPS battery. Hybernate mode 3 writes to both RAM and disk so if the power is lost completely the machine will later wake from the disk as normal. I don't have a UPS yet to test this, so this is just my thinking.
Yes there is a need to do a shutdown. Remember the UPS itself uses power, this will cap how long a UPS can provide power for no matter how little electricity you may be using in sleep mode.

Also, for an extended outage, I tend to turn off the UPS after the equipment is shutdown so the battery doesn't drain all the way and sit drained for who knows how long.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 09:54 AM   #20
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony3d View Post
I thought the MAc Pro power supply was 980 watts alone.
My Mac Pro only uses like 300-400W on load.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 07:17 AM   #21
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
What's the difference between the SMT and SMC lines from APC?

Say:

http://www.amazon.com/APC-Smart-UPS-.../dp/B002MZW5JU


Vs.

http://www.amazon.com/APC-SMC1500-Sm.../dp/B007ZT2KKM
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 01:32 PM   #22
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Quote:
Originally Posted by calciumantacid View Post
Is there actually a need to do a shutdown, why not just sleep?
You buy a UPS for 1 reason only: prevent data loss due to loss of power. In order to prevent data loss you need to shutdown the machine or use suspend to disk (you don't need to power the machine in that case). However, in some cases this can be a bit problematic since not everything comes up correctly when resuming after being suspended (as we've seen with virtual machines). For those machines the only real option is to shut it down completely.

If you use the built-in UPS support in OS X you don't have much of a choice though since you can only choose between shutdown and shutdown. If you use something like apcupsd however you can create your own scripts and run those when something happens. This way you can shutdown the machine or use the deep sleep (suspend to disk) option. In case of vm's it's best to shutdown the hypervisor and let the hypervisor decide what to do with the vm's. In some cases it means a shutdown of the vm, in other cases a suspend.

Both shutting down and suspending requires time and that's why it is very essential to take this into account when setting up when to shutdown/suspend. You want the machine to have completed the shutdown/suspend action before your UPS runs out of power. In some cases there is even an option to shutdown the UPS as well. Biggest issue with this as well as with computer shutting down: what to do when the power is restored and the machines can be booted up/resumed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottishCaptain View Post
Which correlates with what nanofrog was saying, and I quote:
No it does not as your quote is clearly stating that. Your quote is about another form: square wave inverter. It is not about stepped sine wave that is discussed here. The HP file has this to say about what to use:
Quote:
For the best protection during unexpected utility outages, use a UPS that has a true sine wave inverter. A line-interactive UPS with a stepped sine inverter may be satisfactory if the dead zone is less than 2 ms.
Note the second sentence!

Quote:
Whether or not the Mac Pro is actually effected by a stepped sine wave is somewhat irrelevant, the equipment was designed to run off a pure sine wave and any UPS that outputs otherwise is simply a cheap unit.
As you can clearly see from the HP document it doesn't matter if you use pure or stepped sine wave. They both are fine to use. Mind you, this document is about what UPS to use for HP SERVER (yes, SERVER!) products. You know, those machines that are one step higher on the "professional" ladder than workstations such as the Mac Pro.

There is a much simpler approach to the UPS products from APC: their SmartUPS line is their more professional line. They didn't aim for a cheap UPS for the consumer in that range and thus did not cut any prices by leaving out functionality or by limiting certain functions except for their SC models (they are a simplified version that uses square wave). It also means that it will have the best support there is, meaning that it is far more likely that it will simply work (work with OS X, Linux via NUT or apcupsd, etc.). If you want something proper from APC then this is the product line one should look at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
What's the difference between the SMT and SMC lines from APC?
They put out new products and with that also changed the model numbering apparently. SMT means the standard model, SMX the extended run ones (previous they put XL at the end) and SMC is the simplified version. I've managed to found something in the APC faq: Frequently Asked Questions for the new SMX and SMT series of Smart-UPS products.. For the SMC see the following: Smart-UPS C Series FAQ. To answer your question: they look very similar. You can look for them on apc.com and compare them to see some of the differences.
dyn is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 02:25 PM   #23
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
When it comes to UPS, I only trust APC. I have an old Back-UPS 1500 with additional battary pack in use for many years. I have replaced the batteries in them once.

During hurricane Sandy, when the lights started to flicker, I had more than ample time to power down my equipment before suffering any damage.
I have a few rack mount APCs and that 1500 plus a bigger one but I never use them lately. The power here goes out all the time (once a month on average - but sometimes once a day for a week or so) due to overdraw at the breaker-box. The Mac and other machines go dark but a UPS should be more than saving you from that. That almost never causes any damage at all. It never has for me - ever - in 30 years.

What a UPS needs to do is finish up a job the machines have been working on for X number of hours - determined by your deadline, tolerance, or whatever. For me that's about 5 hours. I mean if it's been working for 5 hours on something then I don't want to lose that work-time because of a breaker flipping off or whatever. And to finish up a 5 hour job it's probably going to need a few hours of battery time. Thus when I'm working on such projects I hook up my (very expensive) UPS systems but otherwise no need - at all.

I do agree that APC is the best tho.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 02:50 PM   #24
flat five
macrumors 68000
 
flat five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: newyorkcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
During hurricane Sandy, when the lights started to flicker, I had more than ample time to power down my equipment before suffering any damage.
ha. my sandy/mac story is like this..

i'm in tampa at the time.. my mac is below street level.. i see this picture on the news which is 1.5 blocks from my house



rent a car to drive home (airports were closed).. drive 16hrs straight and my house, along with everything in it, is perfectly dry
(and the electric worked too)
flat five is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 03:30 PM   #25
Korican100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
That would have scared the **** out of my butt^^

Anywho, I ordered this UPS a couple days ago on amazon, it hasn't gotten here yet. Can anyone tell me if this is ok for my system?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Mac pro 2008, 2 x 3.2 ghz, 16gb ram, 4 hds (mix of ssd and hdd) gtx 680, and a dell ultrawide 29 (which pulls about 45 watts i think)
Korican100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Ipad Air--Smart Cover, Smart Case. Smart Cover with Sleeve or Naked with sleeve? jaybar iPad Accessories 3 Nov 4, 2013 10:52 PM
APC Smart-UPS SMX1000 OK to use with MacPro? sngraphics Mac Pro 28 Dec 4, 2012 05:42 PM
UPS in transit: Hold at UPS facility? Eldiablojoe iPhone 4 Sep 23, 2012 12:38 PM
Hard drive got wipe & i ant got back ups or boot ups cyclone696 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Aug 11, 2012 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC