Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2013, 12:39 PM   #1
pvig42
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Handbrake files too big

Apologies if this has been posted before.

I've been using Handbrake for the past couple of years to rip my favourite films/programmes for use on my Apple TV 2 & 3, iPhone and iPad.

I've updated to the newest version and when selecting "Universal" I have noticed that a 24 minute show is anything between 700mb to 1.1gb even though a show using the previous version was below or around 300mb. I'm not that savvy when it comes to settings in software but I was wondering if someone here may know how to get the file size lower?

Many thanks.
Paolo.
pvig42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 04:30 AM   #2
potatis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Downgrade to 0.9.8
potatis is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 09:05 AM   #3
pvig42
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by potatis View Post
Downgrade to 0.9.8
Thank you for the response but.........how do I downgrade? I'm checking online how to do it but can't find anything. Apologies for sounding and being thick The only way I can think of is restoring from time machine back up.
pvig42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 12:35 PM   #4
Redneck-Randy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Here are the older version of Handbrake.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/
Redneck-Randy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 02:59 PM   #5
pvig42
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck-Randy View Post
Here are the older version of Handbrake.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/
Thank you very much. Really is appreciated. Now, shall I download 0.9.8 or the favourite 0.9.5? Decisions eh
pvig42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 03:54 PM   #6
Idgit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Is there a bug in version 0.9.9 that's causing the OP's oversized files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by potatis View Post
Downgrade to 0.9.8
Idgit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:18 AM   #7
technowar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cebu, Philippines
Anyone who has the link for HandBrake 0.9.8 with Apple TV 3 preset? Would be very glad if someone will post it here.
__________________
Trigger Happy
technowar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 01:28 PM   #8
pvig42
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by technowar View Post
Anyone who has the link for HandBrake 0.9.8 with Apple TV 3 preset? Would be very glad if someone will post it here.
Here you are.

http://www.oldapps.com/handbrake.php?old_handbrake=7986
pvig42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 08:34 PM   #9
technowar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cebu, Philippines
Thank you man. Really means a lot!
technowar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 05:41 PM   #10
pvig42
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by technowar View Post
Thank you man. Really means a lot!
No problem.
pvig42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 06:15 PM   #11
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
If you want the same results as 0.9.8 in 0.9.9 try this:

Move the x264 presets slider one notch right to 'slow' instead of the exisiting 'medium'.

This will slow down your encode (basically to what it was in 0.9.8) and give you a smaller file of the same quality.

----------

Plus, realize unless you are comparing identical source files across HB versions ... each source will have a different final file size / bitrate depending on a number of factors like grain, complexity etc. This is well known among video encoders.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 06:55 PM   #12
technowar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cebu, Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvig42 View Post
No problem.
By the way, is there a Mac version for this?
__________________
Trigger Happy
technowar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake- broken files? Bokes Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Apr 22, 2014 12:40 PM
Fewer big files or many small files? soupmix Web Design and Development 8 Jun 17, 2013 07:05 AM
Handbrake is Crashing on a Few Files Only jason.siegel Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 13, 2013 07:36 PM
Why doesn't handbrake output 1080p files? jrm27 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Jan 3, 2013 05:56 PM
Handbrake files will not import into iTunes? Bokes Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Dec 12, 2012 07:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC