Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 9, 2013, 04:50 PM   #1
applefan289
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Do I need a router for only one device?

If I am only using one computer that will be hard-wired (with no other internet enabled devices), do I even need a router? Can I just plug it in directly to the modem (are there safety issues?). Thanks.
__________________
http://www.email-standards.org/
applefan289 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 06:13 PM   #2
Apple fanboy
macrumors 603
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
There would be no safety issues using a modem hard wired to your computer. If there is no wifi requirement, not having wifi will make your network more secure than a wifi network with a password.
__________________
iMac 21.5 2013, iPhone 6 Plus, iPad 2/4/Air Nikon D7100/D300 70-200 2.8/24-70 2.8/14-24 2.8/60 Macro 2.8/10.5 Fish eye 2.8
Apple fanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2013, 10:47 PM   #3
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
be sure to turn on the firewall!
old-wiz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 10:56 AM   #4
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple fanboy View Post
There would be no safety issues using a modem hard wired to your computer.
I'm not sure that's entirely true. There are risks from being connected directly to the modem that being behind a router (wired or wireless) avoids, such as port sniffing.
Hacking a wireless network is a potential vulnerability, too, but that's still not "in" your computer, unless you've got public shares.
__________________
2012 MacMini, 2.6GHz i7, 16Gb RAM, Fusion Drive | 2012 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 480 Gb SSD |
2009 MacBook | 2006 iMac | 2003 G3 iBook | Beige G3 | PowerMac 7600 | Mac IIsi |
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 11:48 AM   #5
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
When you say there are no Internet enabled devices, does that mean that there are other devices or that there are no other devices.

If there are other devices, what are you doing about DHCP ? Where are these other devices getting a local IP address ? If they are all USB attached to your sole device, then you are OK without DHCP as your device will get an IP address from your ISP and the USB devices don't need an IP address.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Device Tracker for iPhone & iPad ( Track and Locate your device on the Web ) mustafas iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Sep 14, 2013 06:28 AM
Can I force wireless device to associate with router not extender? bjjp2 Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 28, 2013 09:32 AM
How to show iOS device name in router? mikezang OS X 5 Mar 11, 2013 08:13 AM
Router to external HD device archdelux Mac Peripherals 3 Aug 2, 2012 11:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC