Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 26, 2013, 07:43 PM   #251
Hennesie2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DK Hedgefund View Post
Thx Guys for the input in this thread.

Are the owner of a mac pro1 (2x2.66mhz 5150 zeon with the original std. 256 mb Nvidia grafik GT Card and with 7GB 667 ram)

Useally im 95 % of the time booted up in Windows, and it Works great, ewen thow the grafikcard from times to time comes short, when running realtimes stock & quotes streaming program on multiple screens, but its okay, and useable at the time.

Are planning a clean OSX install on one of the disks (got 4 sata, and 1 Intel 80 GB SSD inside and some external Networks disks)

And was wondering when I lately have heard about the new free Mavericks OSX in the news, if that was a choice.

But it seems it aint, due to some lack in grafic codes and same goes for ML.

But what is preferable then.. Lion ' or Snov Leopard for this older mac pro on a SSD intel disk?
There are plenty of other threads discussing 10.6 vs 10.7. This thread is about getting 10.9 to run on older Macs.
Hennesie2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 08:28 PM   #252
kylew01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quick Question...

I have a Mac Pro (MacPro1,1), which I put into target disk mode. I used my newer MacBook Pro and booted up off of my Mac Pro, and was able to run software update and get it up to 10.9 (still booting my MacBook Pro off of my Mac Pro's internal HDD). My question is, will the steps mentioned earlier still work? Is there an easy thing I can do to it (with the pro still in TDM, target disk mode, preferably) to allow it to now natively boot its newly upgraded installation?

I hope that made sense... Thanks so much!
kylew01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 09:21 PM   #253
H00NER
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I'm happy to report success in installing Mavericks OS X 10.9 on my mid-2006 MacPro 1,1. I have the ATI Radeon HD 5770, so there were no problems with video display during install.
I followed batmanofzurenar's guide almost to the letter, but prepared a USB install drive of Mavericks first. If you download Mavericks from the App Store on a supported Mac computer, you can easily create a bootable USB install drive using DiskMakerX 3, which is free to download. (This is the full 5GB install and not the 20MB installer file.) Bring the Mavericks USB boot drive over to your MacPro (it won't boot), but you can use it instead of the Developer Preview DMG in Step 3 of the guide.
I pretty much ignored the post install instructions in the guide. I did not copy over the "mach_kernel” and “boot" files to the new install of Mavericks. Instead, I boot from the Startup Disk HDD (1 GB partition) and have it select the Mavericks HDD from Chameleon as the default partition.
H00NER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 12:07 AM   #254
Snowshiro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by H00NER View Post
I pretty much ignored the post install instructions in the guide. I did not copy over the "mach_kernel” and “boot" files to the new install of Mavericks. Instead, I boot from the Startup Disk HDD (1 GB partition) and have it select the Mavericks HDD from Chameleon as the default partition.
Yup. I think it's becoming apparent from the number of successful reports in this thread that once booted, the Mavericks installer will run pretty much untouched - the previous kernel and boot files required for Mountain Lion don't seem to be necessary any more - the installer will use the packaged kernel that comes with the distribution. Which is great news really, because presumably it means we're running the full native Mavericks kernel instead of some alternative provided for the purpose.

The Mac Pro 1,1 marches onwards.

By the way I benchmarked mine with Geekbench yesterday on Mavericks and got a score of about 10,500 which puts it only about 5% behind the average score of the base 2012 15" Quad Core Retina MacBook Pro. (My spec is dual x5355, 10 Gig RAM, HD 5770). It's running as smoothly as I can ever remember it. Even though Apple had abandoned us, this is still a great upgrade for 1,1 owners.

Last edited by Snowshiro; Oct 27, 2013 at 05:38 AM.
Snowshiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 01:10 AM   #255
Hennesie2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowshiro View Post
Yup. I think it's becoming apparent from the number of successful reports in this thread that once booted, the Mavericks installer will run pretty much untouched - the previous kernel and boot files required for Mountain Lion don't seem to be necessary any more - the installer will use the packaged kernel that comes with the distribution. Which is great news really, because presumably it means we're running the full native Mavericks kernel instead of some alternative provided for the purpose.

The Mac Pro 1,1 marches onwards.

By the way I benchmarked mine with Geekbench yesterday on Mavericks and got a score of over 10,500 which puts it only about 5% behind the average score of the base 2012 15" Quad Core Retina MacBook Pro. (My spec is dual x5355, 10 Gig RAM, HD 5770). It's running as smoothly as I can ever remember it. Even though Apple had abandoned us, this is still a great upgrade for 1,1 owners.
Did you do your processor swap yourself? Easy?
Hennesie2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 02:58 AM   #256
adam4og
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Hi, I followed instructions I die, unfortunately without success. starts every time my macbook air 1.1 (A1237), with gray prohibition sign. Even non camelion goes, whether I. 1 GB or 20GB patition I Internally generated SMBplist ect. Not going well.
The instructions only marking a MacbookPro? Someone can give me a MacBookAir at the beginning of 2008 1.1 Help?

sorry for english , Germany

Last edited by adam4og; Oct 27, 2013 at 03:39 AM.
adam4og is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 04:30 AM   #257
Antoni Nygaard
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam4og View Post
Hi, I followed instructions I die, unfortunately without success. starts every time my macbook air 1.1 (A1237), with gray prohibition sign. Even non camelion goes, whether I. 1 GB or 20GB patition I Internally generated SMBplist ect. Not going well.
The instructions only marking a MacbookPro? Someone can give me a MacBookAir at the beginning of 2008 1.1 Help?

sorry for english , Germany
This is for The Mac Pro NOT Macbook Pro og Macbook Air
Antoni Nygaard is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 04:34 AM   #258
RV-ABZ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam4og View Post
Hi, I followed instructions I die, unfortunately without success. starts every time my macbook air 1.1 (A1237), with gray prohibition sign. Even non camelion goes, whether I. 1 GB or 20GB patition I Internally generated SMBplist ect. Not going well.
The instructions only marking a MacbookPro? Someone can give me a MacBookAir at the beginning of 2008 1.1 Help?

sorry for english , Germany

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=190
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=152

MacBook Air1,1 NOT SUPPORTED!
KAPUTT MIT MAVERICKS
__________________
Latitude D430, U7700 1.33GHz, GMA950, SL 10.6.8/L 10.7.5/ML 10.8.5
Latitude D630, T7500/T9300 2.2/2.5GHz, GMA X3100/nVidia NVS 135M, ML 10.8.5/Mav 10.9.4/Yos 10.10 ... + a few more!

Last edited by RV-ABZ; Oct 27, 2013 at 04:44 AM.
RV-ABZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 05:27 AM   #259
Snowshiro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hennesie2000 View Post
Did you do your processor swap yourself? Easy?
Not that difficult as long as you are careful to take your time and not rush. The two hardest parts were:
  • Finding a hex wrench long enough
  • Removing the heatsinks
The heatsink screws are made of really soft metal and the heads can deform really easily. If you're really patient though and go very very slowly at that point, the rest is pretty easy. The hardest part was finding a wrench - no local hardware stores sold one with a long enough handle, and I ended up finding one company to mail order from.

Also, despite doubling the number of cores, my machine actually runs about 4-5 degrees cooler now because the thermal paste on the CPUs loses its effectiveness and isn't always applied that well at the factory. I bought a high quality paste and applied it carefully (a lot of people apply too much) and it now runs at around 27 degrees most of the time (with a little boost from smc fan control), which is barely warmer than the room it's in.

But yeah, long story short, it's pretty straightforward. So many people have done it now, that its really well documented and there are a wealth of videos and 'how-tos' on the web. You might even consider X5365s now - most people used to go for the 5355s like me because they were much cheaper in comparison and got more bang for the buck, but the 65s have dropped a lot in price.


Here's my benchmark - it identifies as a 3,1 (from the Mavericks install) but it's a bona fide 7 year old 1,1 with the 2,1 firmware installed to facilitate the quad core processors.



Last edited by Snowshiro; Oct 27, 2013 at 05:44 AM.
Snowshiro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 06:06 AM   #260
scara
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterHolbrook View Post
No, there isn't a "trick" as such. Make sure your syntax and the volume name are correct. My advice is that you look for Jabbawok's blog and follow it with attention, taking care to "translate" his "ML instructions" to the corresponding "Mavericks instructions" contributed by several people in the blog.
I've been able to successfully install Mavericks on my Mac Pro 1,1 - 6GB RAM, 8800GT.

The issue was probably an incomplete Chameleon installation. It ran fine after I updated Snow Leopard to the most recent version.
scara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 11:28 AM   #261
Hennesie2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowshiro;18239857[url=http://i.imgur.com/tHkALuL.png
Image[/url]
Yea I benchmark a little over 5000. I'm looking to put in two x5365's. Can get two of those for $150 now instead of $500 a year ago. A pair of X5355's can be had for $60.
Hennesie2000 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 12:38 PM   #262
tripmusic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowshiro View Post
Not that difficult as long as you are careful to take your time and not rush. The two hardest parts were:
  • Finding a hex wrench long enough
  • Removing the heatsinks
The heatsink screws are made of really soft metal and the heads can deform really easily. If you're really patient though and go very very slowly at that point, the rest is pretty easy. The hardest part was finding a wrench - no local hardware stores sold one with a long enough handle, and I ended up finding one company to mail order from.

Also, despite doubling the number of cores, my machine actually runs about 4-5 degrees cooler now because the thermal paste on the CPUs loses its effectiveness and isn't always applied that well at the factory. I bought a high quality paste and applied it carefully (a lot of people apply too much) and it now runs at around 27 degrees most of the time (with a little boost from smc fan control), which is barely warmer than the room it's in.

But yeah, long story short, it's pretty straightforward. So many people have done it now, that its really well documented and there are a wealth of videos and 'how-tos' on the web. You might even consider X5365s now - most people used to go for the 5355s like me because they were much cheaper in comparison and got more bang for the buck, but the 65s have dropped a lot in price.


Here's my benchmark - it identifies as a 3,1 (from the Mavericks install) but it's a bona fide 7 year old 1,1 with the 2,1 firmware installed to facilitate the quad core processors.


Image
I did the X5355 upgrade and agree the Hex screws on the heat sinks are soft. Makes sense... it does heat up in there. Actually, the tutorial I used I believe initially said to use a phillips head or hex and I stripped them a little with the phillips head. I was getting a little nervous... if you screw up those heat sink screws it would be a sad day . The Hex fit perfectly. Got mine for $100. Yes the SMC fan control utility is a must have to control the temps.

I haven't tried putting Mavericks on my 2,1 MP yet. I've never done any kind of programming/code before, so I'm just trying to read as much info on this before I try. Plus I'm not sure if my flashed HD4870 will work. However, if I get it running Mavericks nicely, I may go for a final CPU upgrade to the X5365's and maybe an SSD and ride this old beast into the sunset
__________________
Mac Pro (2,1) - 2 x Quad @2.66 GHz, 13 GB RAM, 2.25 TB HD MacBook Pro (4,1) - Core2 Duo @2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD Mac OSX 10.9.2 iPhone 4s, iOS 7.1.1
tripmusic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 02:35 PM   #263
Thoughtsponge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thumbs up Looking for a brief tutorial.

Any thoughts for someone trying to do this with the final release on a Mac Pro 1,1 (firmware set to 2,1) and an unflashed Geforce GTX 550ti?
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 (2,1 firmware); 3.0Ghz Dual Core; 12GB RAM; 250GB SSD; EVGA Geforce GTX 550 ti 2GB Edition; Mac OS 10.9
Thoughtsponge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 02:39 PM   #264
Caesar_091
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubberjabber View Post
Thanks for all the posts on here. Have spent a few hours today getting Mavericks up and running on my MacPro 1.1.

If anyone is experiencing any issues in getting Chameleon to boot (EBIOS errors, flashing cursor) , reset your PRAM and it'll kick into life
Is there a guide or something to install 10.9 on a 1,1 Mac Pro? Will future OS X 19.9.x updates will be a issue using Chamaleon? Will I have to use SoftwareUpdate or I'll have to hack for every new system update? How is actually working with ML?
Everything will work on OS X 10.9 (all RAM available, sounds, dual or 3 monitor configs, Bluetooth communications, USBs, FWs, sleep/stop, AirPort connections, dual Ethernet connections)?

TIA
__________________
MacPro 5,1 dual 6 core Xeon 3,46GHz 24GB RAM ATI RadeonHD 5870 1GB SAMSUNG SSD 830 Series 256GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD 240GB running MacOS X 10.8.5

Last edited by Caesar_091; Oct 27, 2013 at 02:47 PM.
Caesar_091 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 02:45 PM   #265
PeterHolbrook
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar_091 View Post
Is there a guide or something to install 10.9 on a 1,1 Mac Pro?
Will future OS X update will be a issue using Chamaleon?

TIA
Jabbawok's blog probably contains the best tutorial for installing ML on a Mac Pro 1,1 using Chameleon. Look for it (Google is your friend). Adapting it to Mavericks is trivial.

Future iterations of OS X might be a problem for unsupported Macs if they require newer graphics cards (probably not a problem for a Mac Pro) or when they become a 128-bit operating system!
PeterHolbrook is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 04:13 PM   #266
cyberish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
"How To" on that late 2006 iMac

HackerWayne!

can you tell us how you succeeded for that late 2006 iMac please? - Reading all these posts here it's mostly about the Mac Pro 1.1.
- Which GPU .kext is working with your iMac?

thank you!




Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
We'll be downloading it first hand and get it tested out :P - From HackerWayne & MLForAll (MLPostFactor)

What we know so far.

- Won't work with anything that doesn't run Mountain Lion.
- EFI64 only, just like 10.8.
- 64-bit support for older Macs (that currently runs MLPFv0.3) is not going to be easy as many things has changed.

SUCCESS!!! Maverick on old 2006 iMac!! Pics up later.

Got it working on X3100 based MacBooks too. Tons of issues. Bugs and glitches everywhere and graphics doesn't quite work yet. Its gonna be like how MLPF started at first. So be patient.
cyberish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 04:22 PM   #267
Cryder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I'm interested too in knowing how to install Mavericks in the late 2006 iMac. I haven't been able to boot in Mavericks install partition, neither with chameleon nor with refit/refind. So, I couldn't test if it's possible to update MLPF to Mavericks.

Please, hackerwayne, could you share that first version of MVPF in order to being able to boot in Mavericks installation?

Thank you!
Cryder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 05:30 PM   #268
Thoughtsponge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubberjabber View Post
Thanks for all the posts on here. Have spent a few hours today getting Mavericks up and running on my MacPro 1.1.

If anyone is experiencing any issues in getting Chameleon to boot (EBIOS errors, flashing cursor) , reset your PRAM and it'll kick into life
When you say, "flashing icon", do you mean when it flashes between the apple logo, prohibit, and question mark folder? Right now, that's my issue after trying to get it to boot into the Startup Disk/EFI Boot.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 (2,1 firmware); 3.0Ghz Dual Core; 12GB RAM; 250GB SSD; EVGA Geforce GTX 550 ti 2GB Edition; Mac OS 10.9
Thoughtsponge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 06:13 PM   #269
Mjsais
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Looking for detail instructions

I have read most of the posts in this site and I'm still somewhat confused. I have a Mac Pro 1,1 with apple's 5770 video card. A year ago, i followed Jabbawok's guide an installed ML. I'm looking for detail instructions on how to upgrade my ML drive to Maverick. Do I need to get another drive? Do I need to modify my chameleon installation? Can I run the installer from a ML itself - like if it was an update?Because I don't do this often, step by step instructions is what I need. Thank you for your assistance?
Mjsais is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 06:50 PM   #270
DK Hedgefund
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hennesie2000 View Post
This thread is about getting 10.9 to run on older Macs.
Nope, not really..

dont let the title fool you, the majority of thread lately ' is regarding older mac pro's and get the 10.9 in play here, and that was mainly the basis for possible mac pro1 OSX preferable..

and for some it seems to Work, when you upgrade the CPU's fm etc..

but still some variety regarding older mac pro1 specs (cpu/gpu)

and if was worth the while (cost, time, maverick's pro & cons) or if it ' for the simple main mac pro1 user, doesnt really make sense to challenge Mavericks in a mac pro1 clothing.

unless your cherise the challenge, there for some can be a reward in its own.

But newermind, you seem to have you mind full, trying to comprihent the approach and the cpu upgrade..
and mine intention was mainly just to get an Picture ' if mavericks was worth the while, or one of its predessesor is still the best solution, when all is said and done.. and not least a plain mac pro1 user with an setup, like mine wich are old and basic.. (2*2.66 / 7GB 667 / 7300GT / on SSD) and where Snow Leopard still seems to be choice of merit regarding a new clean install ' with that specs...

Last edited by DK Hedgefund; Oct 27, 2013 at 07:14 PM.
DK Hedgefund is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 07:36 PM   #271
geonico
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida, USA
Macbook Pro 17" 2.33ghz- Will it work

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV-ABZ View Post
What is the status with a Macbook Pro with ATI Radeon x1600 graphics. Is that dead in the water too in reference to trying to run OSX 10.9 (Mavericks)? Is it best to stay on ML?
geonico is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 08:12 PM   #272
gio64
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Trying to Wrap up and Failing

Hi all,
I am all setup with Mavericks on my MacPro 1 1 (5770, Xeon 3.0).
I had 4 drives, I moved some stuff around, I put everything back in and:

1) The drive with Windows is out: all works well. My Lion drive boots, my EFI boot works and chameleon allows me to pick Mavericks, which starts up fine.

2) I put the drive with Windows in and all I get is a failed boot of EFI boot. Or it starts Windows. I don't know what to do and I am getting extremely annoyed.

First off, hitting arrow keys, F8 key or F10 key, does not change the outcome of the boot once I have selected to boot the EFI disk.
Second, although I fiddled with a couple of things, this does not seem to affect chameleon.

If anyone can help me out, I am really losing my patience, but before I smash the Windows HD into a wall, I would like to hear from somebody who's better than me at this stuff.

Thank you in advance and sorry for venting frustration.

Edit: I forgot to mention: I have Mavericks on one drive, Lion on another drive, Windows on a third drive.
Bay 1 Lion, Bay 2 Mavericks, Bay 3 Windows. Windows is on a partitioned HD. Mavericks is on a partitioned SSD (second partition is the Startup Disk), The HD with Lion is one volume.

Edit 2: I do not intend to boot Windows from Chameleon. It was booting on its own before.

Last edited by gio64; Oct 27, 2013 at 08:17 PM.
gio64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 10:03 PM   #273
Thoughtsponge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gio64 View Post
Hi all,
I am all setup with Mavericks on my MacPro 1 1 (5770, Xeon 3.0).
I had 4 drives, I moved some stuff around, I put everything back in and:

1) The drive with Windows is out: all works well. My Lion drive boots, my EFI boot works and chameleon allows me to pick Mavericks, which starts up fine.

2) I put the drive with Windows in and all I get is a failed boot of EFI boot. Or it starts Windows. I don't know what to do and I am getting extremely annoyed.

First off, hitting arrow keys, F8 key or F10 key, does not change the outcome of the boot once I have selected to boot the EFI disk.
Second, although I fiddled with a couple of things, this does not seem to affect chameleon.

If anyone can help me out, I am really losing my patience, but before I smash the Windows HD into a wall, I would like to hear from somebody who's better than me at this stuff.

Thank you in advance and sorry for venting frustration.

Edit: I forgot to mention: I have Mavericks on one drive, Lion on another drive, Windows on a third drive.
Bay 1 Lion, Bay 2 Mavericks, Bay 3 Windows. Windows is on a partitioned HD. Mavericks is on a partitioned SSD (second partition is the Startup Disk), The HD with Lion is one volume.

Edit 2: I do not intend to boot Windows from Chameleon. It was booting on its own before.
I was about to give this a shot, but now I'm concerned because I have a Windows partition. Is this an issue for anyone with a Windows partition or is it just under certain circumstances? (ie. which drive the Windows partition is located).
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 (2,1 firmware); 3.0Ghz Dual Core; 12GB RAM; 250GB SSD; EVGA Geforce GTX 550 ti 2GB Edition; Mac OS 10.9
Thoughtsponge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 10:32 PM   #274
Hennesie2000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thoughtsponge View Post
I was about to give this a shot, but now I'm concerned because I have a Windows partition. Is this an issue for anyone with a Windows partition or is it just under certain circumstances? (ie. which drive the Windows partition is located).
I have 3 partitions and dual boot Mavericks and Windows. I got Mavericks booting with Chameleon first and then installed Windows. Once done the windows install you have to set the active partition, using the cmd prompt and DiskPart.exe, to the Mavericks partition. My 3rd partition is where Chameleon is located.

When partitioning the drive (using your existing OS 10.7 install) set the drive up as a GUID. 1GB partition HFS+, OS X partition HFS+ and Windows partition FAT. When installing Windows you will have to reformat the FAT partition as NTFS using the Windows installer.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK Hedgefund View Post
Nope, not really..

dont let the title fool you, the majority of thread lately ' is regarding older mac pro's and get the 10.9 in play here, and that was mainly the basis for possible mac pro1 OSX preferable..

and for some it seems to Work, when you upgrade the CPU's fm etc..

but still some variety regarding older mac pro1 specs (cpu/gpu)

and if was worth the while (cost, time, maverick's pro & cons) or if it ' for the simple main mac pro1 user, doesnt really make sense to challenge Mavericks in a mac pro1 clothing.

unless your cherise the challenge, there for some can be a reward in its own.

But newermind, you seem to have you mind full, trying to comprihent the approach and the cpu upgrade..
and mine intention was mainly just to get an Picture ' if mavericks was worth the while, or one of its predessesor is still the best solution, when all is said and done.. and not least a plain mac pro1 user with an setup, like mine wich are old and basic.. (2*2.66 / 7GB 667 / 7300GT / on SSD) and where Snow Leopard still seems to be choice of merit regarding a new clean install ' with that specs...
What? I already have a Mac Pro 1,1 running Mavericks just fine so I am not sure whatever it is that you are talking about. Further more your original question was about what is better, 10.6 or 10.7 and like is said this thread is about 10.9. The only thing you need to upgrade to run Mavericks is that 7300GT, nothing else.
__________________
Mac Pro 1.1, 2.66GHz, 10GB Ram, GTX 570, OS X 10.9.4/10.10 | MacBook Pro 13" 2.66GHz, 4GB Ram, OS X 10.9.2 | PowerBook G4 17" 1.33GHz, 2GB Ram, OS X 10.5.8
iPhone 5 16GB, iOS 7 | iPad 4 64GB, iOS 7

Last edited by Hennesie2000; Oct 27, 2013 at 10:40 PM.
Hennesie2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 10:52 PM   #275
Thoughtsponge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
That makes sense. After restarting and selecting EFI Boot it flung me into my Windows partition. I'll go ahead and create a disk image of my Windows partition and then restore it once I have Mavericks working.

Update: Even better, I just create a VM in Parallels and then delete the Windows partition.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 (2,1 firmware); 3.0Ghz Dual Core; 12GB RAM; 250GB SSD; EVGA Geforce GTX 550 ti 2GB Edition; Mac OS 10.9

Last edited by Thoughtsponge; Oct 27, 2013 at 10:58 PM. Reason: Update
Thoughtsponge is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new guide for installing mountain lion gm on unsupported macs dead.xx OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 157 Feb 28, 2014 06:41 PM
De-installing Mavericks, Re-installing Mountain Lion filmboy OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Dec 13, 2013 04:43 PM
Mavericks on Older Macs? superspartan OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Oct 22, 2013 08:00 PM
Airdrop on Older Macs - Mavericks ParagJain OS X Mavericks (10.9) 9 Oct 16, 2013 06:17 AM
Installing Newer Software on Older Macs beyondcreative Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Aug 12, 2012 01:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC