Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2013, 02:25 PM   #1
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Single Processor only for the new Pro?

Seems like a pretty big step back if so...
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 02:28 PM   #2
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Yes it is.
Umbongo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 02:34 PM   #3
wallysb01
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
Seems like a pretty big step back if so...
For those looking for the most raw horsepower available in a workstation, yes, its a step back. But obviously that's not what Apple was going for. Clearly they think a single Ivy Bridge E5 is enough computational power for most buys of a Mac Pro and that this new "sexier" form will attract more attention from those not going the way of the Mac Pro before.

So, I think Apple sees this as a step to the side and then forward. And if price comes down ~$2000 for the entry level Mac Pro, I might agree (assuming E5-1620 v2, 1 graphics card, smaller PCIe SSD), then I might agree. But if its $2500 like the last bottom end mac pro...I agree its a backwards step. This machine needs to appeal to more people, and keeping the base under $2000 is important for that, IMO.
wallysb01 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 02:41 PM   #4
Wild-Bill
macrumors 68020
 
Wild-Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ?
Not only single processor, but say goodbye to FW800.





iGarbageCan



FAIL
__________________
Wild-Bill is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 02:45 PM   #5
RoastingPig
macrumors 65816
 
RoastingPig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Send a message via AIM to RoastingPig
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild-Bill View Post
Not only single processor, but say goodbye to FW800.





iGarbageCan



FAIL
thunderbolt to firewire 800 cost like 10 bucks at frys dude or amazon
__________________
Mac Pro 6 Core D700*, Retina 13 256gb/8gb 5000
RoastingPig is offline   19 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 02:51 PM   #6
Stetrain
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild-Bill View Post
Not only single processor, but say goodbye to FW800.





iGarbageCan



FAIL
You mean say hello to 6 FW800 ports via Thunderbolt adapters?


Also, the Ivy Bridge E5 Xeons go up to 12 cores on a single chip, the same as the old Mac Pro had with two chips.
Stetrain is offline   18 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:04 PM   #7
JesterJJZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stetrain View Post
You mean say hello to 6 FW800 ports via Thunderbolt adapters?


Also, the Ivy Bridge E5 Xeons go up to 12 cores on a single chip, the same as the old Mac Pro had with two chips.
Meaning we could have 24 physical cores if they kept the current form factor.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   15 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:32 PM   #8
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
But that would have probably generated more heat than the enclosure can disperse.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:52 PM   #9
handsome pete
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielCoffey View Post
But that would have probably generated more heat than the enclosure can disperse.
Of course, but I'm guessing that's why there were a good amount of people only wanting updated hardware (not a shrunken enclosure).
handsome pete is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:59 PM   #10
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
form over function. Again.
calaverasgrande is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:11 PM   #11
Wild-Bill
macrumors 68020
 
Wild-Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoastingPig View Post
thunderbolt to firewire 800 cost like 10 bucks at frys dude or amazon
And audio interfaces historically do NOT play well when there are "adapters" between them and the computer.
__________________
Wild-Bill is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:21 PM   #12
Coleman2010
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild-Bill View Post
Not only single processor, but say goodbye to FW800.





iGarbageCan



FAIL
Isn't there a firewire port on the thunderbolt monitor? Plug it in there.
Coleman2010 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:37 PM   #13
--AG--
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
So basically no new Mac Pro then. Sounds more like a Mac Mini turbo. I need many computing cores and was almost expecting to see the possibility of adding a Xeon Phi card to the new Pro. I'd rather have dual cpu than dual gpu if I have to choose. With the previous form factor we could have both. Will most likely replace my old Pro with an iMac and a rack server running linux.
--AG-- is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:12 PM   #14
JesterJJZ
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
What are the chances of a slightly taller unit with dual processors?
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:16 PM   #15
peabo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
So which CPU will it use? Which of the new Xeons has 12 cores?
peabo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:26 PM   #16
IceMacMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
Meaning we could have 24 physical cores if they kept the current form factor.
Exactly. Makes me sad to think about.
__________________
MacPro MacPro 4,1 8core 2.66GHZ; 32 GB RAM; 12TB RAID; ATI4870, NvidiaGT120 30" ACD + 2 23" ACD
MBPro 2011 15" 8GB iPad2 iPodTouch 4th gen Other Macs, iPods
IceMacMac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:28 PM   #17
TType85
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by peabo View Post
So which CPU will it use? Which of the new Xeons has 12 cores?
That is a good question. On intel's site I have only found up to 10 core (20 thread). If it is only 6 core/12 thread that is pretty disappointing.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ivy_Bri...roarchitecture)

Ivy Bridge-E features [edit]
The upcoming Ivy Bridge-E processor line in 2013 is expected to have up to 12 cores instead of 8 and an increased third level cache of up to 30 MB,[21][22] although the current leaked lineup includes processors with a maximum of 6 cores.[23] Both Core-i7 and Xeon versions will be produced - the Xeon versions will be marketed as Xeon E5 V2 and act as drop-in replacements for the existing Sandy Bridge-EN and Sandy Bridge-EP based Xeon E5, and Core-i7 versions designated i7-4820K, i7-4930K, i7-4960X, are expected to release in the 3rd quarter of 2013 and to remain compatible with existing X79 and LGA2011 hardware.[22][24]
A new Ivy Bridge-EX line marketed as Xeon E7 V2 has no corresponding predecessor using the Sandy Bridge microarchitecture but instead follows the older Westmere-EX processors.
TType85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:29 PM   #18
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild-Bill View Post
Not only single processor, but say goodbye to FW800.
Easily done:

Goodbye FW800! I never knew you, I never used you, and you will NOT be missed.
Tesselator is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:29 PM   #19
filmbuff
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Out of curiosity, what do people do with 24 processor cores? I remember a documentary about South Park where they said the entire show is animated and rendered on regular iMacs. 4K video editing can put a lot of stress on a computer but it looks like the new Pro was designed specifically for that.
filmbuff is online now   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:29 PM   #20
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by peabo View Post
So which CPU will it use? Which of the new Xeons has 12 cores?
An Ivy Bridge-EP Xeon E5-2600V2 processor. Unreleased, hence the wait.
Umbongo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:31 PM   #21
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
What are the chances of a slightly taller unit with dual processors?
If I were to guess I would say that's reserved for the MacPro 7,1 in a year or two.
Tesselator is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:36 PM   #22
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umbongo View Post
An Ivy Bridge-EP Xeon E5-2600V2 processor. Unreleased, hence the wait.
Is there anywhere we can see a list of proposed CPU parts? Clocks and core counts?
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:42 PM   #23
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmbuff View Post
Out of curiosity, what do people do with 24 processor cores? I remember a documentary about South Park where they said the entire show is animated and rendered on regular iMacs. 4K video editing can put a lot of stress on a computer but it looks like the new Pro was designed specifically for that.
We have 6 MAxed out Mac Pro's with the most ram you can buy and 512gb SSDs. They run overnight to render broadcast quality HD animations. And those are mostly just bumpers and interstitials.
calaverasgrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:44 PM   #24
spunkgarLEWII
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
HAHAHA... lol! iGarbageCan

Yes, say goodnite to FW800 and say goodnite to internal expansion. I wonder if the darn processor will be upgradable or is that SOLDERED to the board? Or even the video memory chips?

By the time you buy the iGarbageCan xMac for 2499.99 add an additional 2000-3000 in thunderbolt drives - You are in the stratosphere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild-Bill View Post
Not only single processor, but say goodbye to FW800.





iGarbageCan



FAIL
spunkgarLEWII is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:44 PM   #25
nox-uk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
yeah hmmm. bit disappointed in the single cpu config - for some people two cpu's are more important than two gpu's. Would of preferred that option as someone else pointed out.

That said... a current mac pro with twin x5690's - thats 24 cores. the new e5's are up to 40% faster and up to 16 cores. What ends up in the new mac pro could actually be fairly close to the horse power of a current mac pro... and a much smaller machine.

Will make a decision based on cost when it's out

Nox
nox-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Early 2009 Single Processor to Dual Processor sunman Mac Pro 11 Jun 21, 2014 11:19 AM
W5590 in 2009 single processor mac pro? i-rui Mac Pro 15 Dec 9, 2013 08:13 AM
New Mac Pro, single processor only? alphaod Mac Pro 9 Oct 23, 2013 11:33 AM
Decision on Mac Pro Single vs dual processor Jaredrieger Mac Pro 8 Oct 6, 2012 12:34 PM
Single to dual processor for G5 ameharhughes Mac Pro 2 Sep 19, 2012 11:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC