Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:24 PM   #1
iBreatheApple
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Did anyone notice the signal strength indicators?

I just noticed they are only dots now, I think I like this better.


__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:24 PM   #2
Paddle1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBreatheApple View Post
I just noticed they are only dots now, I think I like this better.


Image
That is the carrier.
Paddle1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:26 PM   #3
iBreatheApple
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddle1 View Post
That is the carrier.
Well that's embarrassing.
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:26 PM   #4
scottish
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddle1 View Post
That is the carrier.
iOS 6 below for reference. Apple have always left the carrier out of promotional shots.

scottish is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:27 PM   #5
Paddle1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2013
Honestly I can't really tell.
Paddle1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:27 PM   #6
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddle1 View Post
That is the carrier.
No, it's the signal strength.

Apple have managed to totally remove the carrier from OS and the device, apart from delving within the settings. Unimaginable 5+ years ago.
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:28 PM   #7
iBreatheApple
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottish View Post
iOS 6 for reference:

Image
Hmmm... so I'm not stupid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
No, it's the signal strength.

Apple have managed to totally remove the carrier from OS and the device, apart from delving within the settings. Unimaginable 5+ years ago.
Well the carrier name never shows when on Wifi so that's still up for debate. Or have you seen a demo with wifi turned off...?
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:28 PM   #8
SpaceKitty
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
From what I understand, the iOS will no longer show the carrier up there.
SpaceKitty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:29 PM   #9
Paddle1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBreatheApple View Post
Hmmm... so I'm not stupid?
That probably is the signal strength. They probably didn't put a carrier.
Paddle1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:29 PM   #10
iPawd13
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I don't like it at all tbh. Like why dots? they should've kept the regular signal indicator and made it transparent but oh well.
iPawd13 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:30 PM   #11
HeezyBear
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
No, it's the signal strength.

Apple have managed to totally remove the carrier from OS and the device, apart from delving within the settings. Unimaginable 5+ years ago.
Your carrier will likely still be displayed when you're not on wifi just like it currently is. Apple just won't show it in their promotional material.
HeezyBear is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:30 PM   #12
naltst*
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
If you look back at the iOS6 screenshot there was no carrier thee either... I bet carriers will still appear top left by the dots for me
naltst* is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:31 PM   #13
kmj2318
macrumors 6502a
 
kmj2318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Naples, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceKitty View Post
From what I understand, the iOS will no longer show the carrier up there.
I was wondering about this. Hopefully they don't. it would take up too much space.
kmj2318 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:31 PM   #14
iBreatheApple
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPawd13 View Post
I don't like it at all tbh. Like why dots? they should've kept the regular signal indicator and made it transparent but oh well.
Will be easier to read at a glance IMO. There are certain times (color of the screen + certain lighting, etc.) when it takes a second to focus on if you have two, three, or four bars. Not that you'll ever be desperate to know in an instant... just makes it easier.
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:41 PM   #15
rmwebs
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBreatheApple View Post
Hmmm... so I'm not stupid?



Well the carrier name never shows when on Wifi so that's still up for debate. Or have you seen a demo with wifi turned off...?
Check again. Currently connected to wifi and have my carrier ('3') between radio signal and wifi signal.
rmwebs is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:43 PM   #16
iBreatheApple
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmwebs View Post
Check again. Currently connected to wifi and have my carrier ('3') between radio signal and wifi signal.
Probably because it's so short. I'm on AT&T and it does not show.

Edit.
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.

Last edited by iBreatheApple; Jun 10, 2013 at 03:50 PM.
iBreatheApple is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:46 PM   #17
Stuke00
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Collinsville,IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBreatheApple View Post
Probably because it's so short. I'm on AT&T and it does not show.
I am on Sprint and it shows between cell radio and wifi bars... Every iPhone I have seen does this.
Stuke00 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:48 PM   #18
rovex
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
They could of done with chaning the wifi bars to those dots, as the wifi bar never really proves be that accurate at all.
rovex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:50 PM   #19
iBreatheApple
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuke00 View Post
I am on Sprint and it shows between cell radio and wifi bars... Every iPhone I have seen does this.
I don't know why I was so certain that it doesn't. I'm at home and it IS showing AT&T while on wifi. I swear I've seen it not show before.
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:52 PM   #20
naltst*
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBreatheApple View Post
I don't know why I was so certain that it doesn't. I'm at home and it IS showing AT&T while on wifi. I swear I've seen it not show before.
airplane mode with wifi on?
naltst* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:54 PM   #21
Nikos
macrumors 65816
 
Nikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York
Looks a lot better now.
Nikos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 03:57 PM   #22
BFG86
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
The dots are really dumb and take up more space than the bars
BFG86 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:02 PM   #23
Stuke00
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Collinsville,IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBreatheApple View Post
I don't know why I was so certain that it doesn't. I'm at home and it IS showing AT&T while on wifi. I swear I've seen it not show before.
I've seen it go away when I don't have signal. Then again, that is pretty common with Sprint.
Stuke00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:21 PM   #24
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
well this is dumb i thought we finally got rid of the carrier logo, my carrier "t-mobile.de" is so long that the spinning wheel always jumps to the right side. redic
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 05:25 PM   #25
Paddle1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bindle View Post
It is still there.
Paddle1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Numerical signal strength gone? Nacket iOS 7 4 Oct 24, 2013 11:35 PM
Signal Strength Indicators parseckadet iOS 7 4 Aug 9, 2013 04:13 PM
Cellular signal strength Samtb iPhone 3 Feb 18, 2013 01:57 PM
Horrendous Wi-Fi signal strength Steve.P.JobsFan iPhone 14 Dec 12, 2012 09:41 PM
LTE vs 3G signal strength (AT&T) Derek87 iPhone 7 Oct 16, 2012 12:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC