Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:31 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Apple Posts 27" Retina iMac-Sized OS X Mavericks Background




As part of its flurry of updates to Apple.com today, Apple's web team posted the new OS X Mavericks background image at 5120x2880. That resolution is identical to the one anticipated for a 27" Retina display for the iMac or a standalone Retina Thunderbolt Display.

The image, which was noticed by Twitter user Marvin Scharle, is similar to Retina-sized images that were included in Lion in 2011, long before Apple had released any Retina-equipped Macs publicly.

With Apple's announcement today that the new Mac Pro would include support for 4K video displays along with Thunderbolt 2, the company is clearly getting ready for larger Retina panels in the future.

Article Link: Apple Posts 27" Retina iMac-Sized OS X Mavericks Background
MacRumors is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:32 PM   #2
jakebot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Pretty Sweet File size for such a big image
__________________
jakebot is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:33 PM   #3
Skika
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Apple is in full speed ahead mode.

I like it.
__________________
MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone
Skika is offline   25 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:33 PM   #4
Steve J0bs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Sunshine State
4k iMac !!!!
Steve J0bs is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:34 PM   #5
HarryPot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Now, if it only would stay as the background after a restart.....
HarryPot is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:35 PM   #6
lifeinhd
macrumors 65816
 
lifeinhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Oh yeah. This is a sure sign of things to come. No doubt
__________________
PowerBook G5, 1.67GHz MacBook Pro, iPhone Nano, iPhone 6, Apple Television Set
lifeinhd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:35 PM   #7
mtbdudex
macrumors 65816
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
time to replace my 2009 iMac!
__________________
Mike R, P.E. ;iMac 27"(i7), iPad2, iPhone5s, 24" iMac, TV(160)
Canon: 70D+lens:70-200 L f2.8 IS II/TC 1.4x 2x/15-85/f1.4 50;580EX II,FEISOL tripod CT-3441S
DIY acoustic panels. . .HT Project
mtbdudex is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:36 PM   #8
longofest
Editor emeritus
 
longofest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Send a message via AIM to longofest
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakebot View Post
Pretty Sweet File size for such a big image
Yeah, but it's still 3.3MB for an image to be broadcast over the web. Over a Fiber connection it may not be much, but for folks still stuck with DSL or Cable not by their choice (lack of options), that will suck. Also, imagine the kind of cache you will build up. I'd imagine caches of gigabytes easy, and when SSD based macs start at only 128GB, that's not something to sneeze at.
__________________
Never falling under anyone's Reality Distortion Field: Tech Perfect
longofest is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:37 PM   #9
AlligatorBloodz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by longofest View Post
Yeah, but it's still 3.3MB for an image to be broadcast over the web. Over a Fiber connection it may not be much, but for folks still stuck with DSL or Cable not by their choice (lack of options), that will suck. Also, imagine the kind of cache you will build up. I'd imagine caches of gigabytes easy, and when SSD based macs start at only 128GB, that's not something to sneeze at.
huh? its 3.3MB!

Edit: I'm guessing that was sarcasm.
AlligatorBloodz is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:38 PM   #10
Woodcrest64
macrumors 6502a
 
Woodcrest64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I really hope I can run a 27" Retina Display off of my 2012 Retina Macbook Pro via running it with both my thunderbolt ports but I doubt it. :|
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina | iPad 1 | iPhone 5 32GB | Apple TV 3rd Gen | HTC One | Nexus 7 32GB 2nd Gen
Woodcrest64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:38 PM   #11
MultiMediaWill
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Illinois
This does not mean a new Retina display is coming... There are plenty of screens that already have a 5120 x 2880 resolution already.
__________________
Click here for the iPhone 5 iOS 6.0 Jailbreak!
MacBook Pro 15" 2011 , 2.2 GHz Quad i7, 750GB HDD, 8GB RAM, Anti-Glare
iPhone 5 32gb
iPad 3 16gb
MultiMediaWill is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:39 PM   #12
bedifferent
macrumors Demi-God
 
bedifferent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Nice. Apple just replaced my 2 24" LED LCD's after three years of endless issues with 2 27" mini-DisplayPort models as my Mac Pro doesn't have Thunderbolt (yet). I was extremely thankful, they even refunded AppleCare and added it to the replacements. I was torn about getting the thunderbolt models in case of a new Mac Pro as they have more inputs, HD camera and can be daisy chained. If they release new displays, looks like I may be listing my 27" displays with my Mac Pro soon.
__________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
Arthur C. Clarke
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:41 PM   #13
freddiecable
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sweden
time to replace my 2013 iMac

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
time to replace my 2009 iMac!
__________________
iMac 27" i7 3TB Fusion 680 MX, iMac 27" i7 2,93, MBA i7 13" 512GB SSD, iPad Mini 32GB, Nexus 5 (waiting for iPhone 6), iPod Nano Gen 2, iPod Shuffle Gen 4, TV 2 x 2, Airport Extreme & Express
freddiecable is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:42 PM   #14
tillsbury
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodcrest64 View Post
I really hope I can run a 27" Retina Display off of my 2012 Retina Macbook Pro via running it with both my thunderbolt ports but I doubt it. :|
Why do you doubt it? You can already run two 2560x1600 displays as well as the internal display at an effective 3840x2400, which is a shedload more pixels than this...
__________________
rMBP15, 2.6/16/768, iPhone5/32, iPad 1+2+3+Air, iPod nano 1+4, Lisa 2 + 5Mb ProFile, IIe
tillsbury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:43 PM   #15
makaveli559m
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
What the heck happened to Bob Cat or Cougar?
__________________
15" MBP (mid 2010) Core i5 2.40GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD, Nvidia GT330m/ Intel HD.
makaveli559m is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:43 PM   #16
neuropsychguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I hope new screens have that resolution. I could use it for my work.
neuropsychguy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:45 PM   #17
Jensend
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Update: I was wrong. In data rates 1 GB/s = 1,000,000,000 byte/s
Thunderbolt 2 = 20 Gigabits
5120 * 2880 * 60 * (24 bits) = 19.7753906 Gigabits
5120 * 2880 * 60 * (24 bits) = 21.23 Gigabits

And there's probably some other overhead...

Last edited by Jensend; Jun 10, 2013 at 05:32 PM.
Jensend is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:46 PM   #18
Chuck-Norris
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
looks pretty sexy on my retina macbook
Chuck-Norris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:46 PM   #19
simon the diver
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hello....

Quote:
Originally Posted by longofest View Post
Yeah, but it's still 3.3MB for an image to be broadcast over the web. Over a Fiber connection it may not be much, but for folks still stuck with DSL or Cable not by their choice (lack of options), that will suck. Also, imagine the kind of cache you will build up. I'd imagine caches of gigabytes easy, and when SSD based macs start at only 128GB, that's not something to sneeze at.
"Hello, are you from the past ?"
simon the diver is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:46 PM   #20
bigwig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
They haven't updated the ACD with USB3 ports yet, I'll believe a Retina version when I see it.
bigwig is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:47 PM   #21
MartiNZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveli559m View Post
What the heck happened to Bob Cat or Cougar?
I think mavericks gives a bit of a tip of the hat to cougar, in terms of top gun. People keep saying the cougar is just a mountain lion, so maverick(s) is just better.
MartiNZ is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:47 PM   #22
simon the diver
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I have cougar running on my early 2008 macbook pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveli559m View Post
What the heck happened to Bob Cat or Cougar?
I have cougar running on my early 2008 macbook pro.... Or at least this machine feels like a cougar
simon the diver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:48 PM   #23
Master-D
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, UK
AirPlay second monitor is pretty exciting. As is full screen in second display not affecting first. Some good updates to osx.
Master-D is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:48 PM   #24
henryonapple
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
can't wait for a new TB display!
henryonapple is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 04:50 PM   #25
Tech198
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia, Perth
Nice wallpaper.
__________________
13" MBPR, i5, 256Gig SDD, 8 Gig Ram, Apple TV, iPhone 5S 16Gig, iPad 16Gig, Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 1TB HD
"There are no stupid questions, just stupid people."
Tech198 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV1st Gen and iMac running Mavericks - need to retrieve photos iandb Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Feb 17, 2014 05:55 PM
Missing dock and background flashing on Mavericks GM sdlyr8 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Dec 30, 2013 10:12 PM
Mavericks desktop flickers between wallpaper and green background melapple OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Dec 11, 2013 08:02 AM
Apple Posts New 'Colors' TV Ad for 13" MacBook Pro With Retina Display MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 177 Nov 18, 2012 02:05 PM
Can anyone make a retina ready background from this texture? Javik Design and Graphics 2 Sep 23, 2012 04:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC