Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2013, 08:35 PM   #1
dopeytree
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
iTunes -1 error installing ios 7

Registered Dev. Alt click restore pointed to new ios7 got to 75% then spouted itunes error 3014 (seems to be communication related) and the phone is now stick in dfu mode. Can't get it restore back to 6.1.4 it either spouts itunes error 3014 or unknown error -1.

******* Sake not how I had envisioned my evening panning out.

-- all fixed now - not completely sure what caused it but I used another computer in the end
__________________
http://www.ed-stone.co.uk

Last edited by dopeytree; Jun 19, 2013 at 01:06 PM. Reason: Now fixed
dopeytree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 08:38 PM   #2
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Damn that sucks. Hope it all works out.
Jordan921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 08:40 PM   #3
travisbrowning
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
That really sucks, mine just updated fine and is restarting
__________________
2009 Macbook White, 2.13 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD
iPhone 5c (White), 16 GB
travisbrowning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 08:42 PM   #4
Dalton63841
macrumors 65816
 
Dalton63841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SEMO, USA
Those errors generally mean iTunes can't connect with the gs.apple.com server, or you aren't signed into your account on iTunes.
__________________
mid-2009 13" Macbook Pro, 2.26Ghz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Dalton63841 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2013, 11:21 PM   #5
iamthekiller
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopeytree View Post
Registered Dev. Alt click restore pointed to new ios7 got to 75% then spouted itunes error 3014 (seems to be communication related) and the phone is now stick in dfu mode. Can't get it restore back to 6.1.4 it either spouts itunes error 3014 or unknown error -1.

******* Sake not how I had envisioned my evening panning out.
You're wrong. Your phone is not bricked. Bricked indicates that the phone is completely dead. You simply can connect to the server right now.
iamthekiller is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 03:31 AM   #6
dopeytree
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthekiller View Post
You're wrong. Your phone is not bricked. Bricked indicates that the phone is completely dead. You simply can connect to the server right now.
its stuck in the loop now gets to 75% then 'unknown error -1' no matter if I'm downgrading 6.1.4 or upgrading to ios7
__________________
http://www.ed-stone.co.uk
dopeytree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 03:49 AM   #7
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
everyone got it but you man... Lol you're like the only one we know of that managed to mess up their phone off this. Try dfu restoring to 6.1.4 that YOU downloaded then look at one of the many guides on the first page of this forum.
__________________
iPhone 5, iPod Touch, Apple TV, iPad Mini, MacBook Pro.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 04:02 AM   #8
bods
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
DFU restore worked for me - you should try it.
bods is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 04:05 AM   #9
Dalton63841
macrumors 65816
 
Dalton63841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SEMO, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopeytree View Post
its stuck in the loop now gets to 75% then 'unknown error -1' no matter if I'm downgrading 6.1.4 or upgrading to ios7
Out of curiosity, have you tweaked your hosts file or had TinyUmbrella run and tweak the hosts file for you? If so, that will prevent iTunes from connecting to Apples servers, which it needs to do.
__________________
mid-2009 13" Macbook Pro, 2.26Ghz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Dalton63841 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 07:10 AM   #10
dopeytree
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Good call I check the host file theres a few adobe things in there but no apple stuff I gave it a clear out anyhow as I now pay for adobe cloud.

After many attempts to install ios7 & restore io6 I have finally got it restored back to ios6. That's where I'll stay for the moment.
__________________
http://www.ed-stone.co.uk
dopeytree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 08:12 AM   #11
rmwebs
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
if it helps, this happened to me. A few restore attempts later it worked. This was on iTunes 11.0.2 - didnt update to .4 until after upgrading.
rmwebs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 08:15 AM   #12
robwilson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopeytree View Post
Registered Dev. Alt click restore pointed to new ios7 got to 75% then spouted itunes error 3014 (seems to be communication related) and the phone is now stick in dfu mode. Can't get it restore back to 6.1.4 it either spouts itunes error 3014 or unknown error -1.

******* Sake not how I had envisioned my evening panning out.
Use Xcode to update you phone......
robwilson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 08:16 AM   #13
UmbraDiaboli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Enter recovery mode, it will tell you that you must restore.
UmbraDiaboli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 08:21 AM   #14
street.cory
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Try the install on a different computer. Most likely due to tinyumbrella changing the host file for apples servers. Or you can delete the entry of gs.apple.com entry and try again in DFU mode.
street.cory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 04:36 AM   #15
dopeytree
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Smile

Thanks for all the tips guys! I tried installing ios7 from my brothers mac and it worked no problem. Love the new feel. Especially the new app switcher!


My host file is pretty much empty so im still at a loss for why it wouldn't work on my mac. Bit extreme but a fresh install of osx should sort out any future issues right?
__________________
http://www.ed-stone.co.uk
dopeytree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 04:58 AM   #16
lewismayell
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South West England
You should have alt-clicked update not restore
lewismayell is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 07:06 AM   #17
dopeytree
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewismayell View Post
You should have alt-clicked update not restore
That's what I did. Alt click restore also tried alt click update.

The phone was then permanently in DFU recovery mode as it never finished installing the firmware update.

Anyway it worked fine on my bros mac and ios7 is lovely.
__________________
http://www.ed-stone.co.uk
dopeytree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 05:32 PM   #18
Krissypantz2828
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I don't understand how you can brick it! It's possible if you don't do it properly but that's all! iOS 7 beta will not brick your device on its own! You will have little glitches here and there but that's to be a expected! I honestly hope you figure it out dude because I wouldn't be too happy if this was my iPhone 5!! Did I try getting back to iOS 6? Just plug the phone in DFU mode and make sure u are connected to iTunes and than must restore to iOS 6 from there!! Good luck
Krissypantz2828 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 05:56 PM   #19
mavis
macrumors 68040
 
mavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Send a message via AIM to mavis Send a message via MSN to mavis
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopeytree View Post
Thanks for all the tips guys! I tried installing ios7 from my brothers mac and it worked no problem. Love the new feel. Especially the new app switcher!


My host file is pretty much empty so im still at a loss for why it wouldn't work on my mac. Bit extreme but a fresh install of osx should sort out any future issues right?
Maybe you should edit the misleading thread title to reflect the fact that your iPhone is not actually bricked.
mavis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 07:13 PM   #20
Krissypantz2828
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopeytree View Post
Thanks for all the tips guys! I tried installing ios7 from my brothers mac and it worked no problem. Love the new feel. Especially the new app switcher!


My host file is pretty much empty so im still at a loss for why it wouldn't work on my mac. Bit extreme but a fresh install of osx should sort out any future issues right?
Glad to hear
Krissypantz2828 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 07:46 PM   #21
balzmcfearson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopeytree View Post
That's what I did. Alt click restore also tried alt click update.

The phone was then permanently in DFU recovery mode as it never finished installing the firmware update.

Anyway it worked fine on my bros mac and ios7 is lovely.
-1 error in some cases can be resolved by restarting your computer
balzmcfearson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 09:44 PM   #22
alia
macrumors 6502a
 
alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by balzmcfearson View Post
-1 error in some cases can be resolved by restarting your computer
This! I got the -1 error on multiple attempts of trying to get iOS 7 onto an essentially stock iPod Touch. After a reboot, it worked without a problem.
alia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 01:08 PM   #23
dopeytree
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavis View Post
Maybe you should edit the misleading thread title to reflect the fact that your iPhone is not actually bricked.
Done. Now lets put this thread to bed.
__________________
http://www.ed-stone.co.uk
dopeytree is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running iOS 7 GM with iTunes 11.1 error - But am I ok? jererermy iOS 7 19 Sep 15, 2013 06:40 PM
Error -42408 After Re-Installing iTunes 10.7 - Tried Everything? MsDalfo Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Aug 1, 2013 08:05 PM
FIXED WITHOUT iTunes- "An error occurred installing iOS 6.1.3" dave8209 iOS 6 0 Jun 19, 2013 12:45 PM
iPod Touch: Help Itunes error 11 when restoring ipod4 to ios 6.1.2 mullsey Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Apr 16, 2013 08:54 PM
Note replaced after installing iOS 6.1 and synchronizing with iTunes wouaheche iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Feb 4, 2013 07:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC