Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2013, 09:57 AM   #1
Sean Dempsey
macrumors 68000
 
Sean Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
New Mac Pro for games - starcraft, Diablo, Minecraft

My Air runs these like **** with 4000 card. I have no idea what the capabilities of the new Mac Pro chips are, or if they even do 3D. I know my 7300's in the 1,1 I have are **** as well.

Are these GPU's actually capable of some games?
__________________
[Removed for not complying with forum signature rules]
Sean Dempsey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 10:00 AM   #2
Hakone
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dempsey View Post
My Air runs these like **** with 4000 card. I have no idea what the capabilities of the new Mac Pro chips are, or if they even do 3D. I know my 7300's in the 1,1 I have are **** as well.

Are these GPU's actually capable of some games?
I'm quite sure the MP will run any of those rather easily at good w/ some slight degrade at ultra settings. For some, the iMac suffices even w/ those games.
Hakone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 10:14 AM   #3
canadax14
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Dude the Mac Pro will destroy those games. My 2012 iMac runs all of those at Ultra settings with like 60+ fps. Don't even worry about it. While I wouldn't buy the new mac pro purely as a gaming machine (way overpriced...I'm assuming)...if you are a pro user who enjoys playing games...it is going to be heaven!
canadax14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 10:20 AM   #4
Sean Dempsey
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sean Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadax14 View Post
Dude the Mac Pro will destroy those games. My 2012 iMac runs all of those at Ultra settings with like 60+ fps. Don't even worry about it. While I wouldn't buy the new mac pro purely as a gaming machine (way overpriced...I'm assuming)...if you are a pro user who enjoys playing games...it is going to be heaven!
I am, and do.
__________________
[Removed for not complying with forum signature rules]
Sean Dempsey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 11:17 AM   #5
ltorrelles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I don't know how the ATIs will behave on gaming, but they seem to be extremely powerful cards, so I assume they won't have any major issues at running most AAA games.
Either way, you can always get an external GPU case (I've heard Silverstone is aiming for the 250$ price point without card) and connect it via Thunderbolt to the Mac Pro.

Last edited by ltorrelles; Jun 11, 2013 at 11:41 AM.
ltorrelles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 11:28 AM   #6
davidb367
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Don't Bother

I tried this with a MacPro 1,1. The new MacPro uses custom designed GPU's and Apple is historically slooow in updating their supported GPU offerings.

Your best bet is to build a dedicated gaming rig. I built a modest one for $600 that plays most bleeding edge games very well. Most GPUs have a two year lifespan before they no longer can play new games well.
davidb367 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 11:31 AM   #7
thedarkhorse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
just build a PC for gaming and keep your air for mac side, you'll save money. the AMD GPUs in the new mac pro are workstation class, they might run games but the drivers aren't made at all with gaming in mind, they are made for professional graphics and compute applications. That said the GPU's they unveiled with the machine seem to be the top top tier, they may offer gaming grade GPUs in lower models.
thedarkhorse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 12:47 PM   #8
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
I'm curious about the difference between these workstation graphics cards, and the "regular" sort. I would assume that they'd play games quite well - not at insane ultra settings with a zillion fps, but pretty well.

Like the original poster, I'm a power user who also likes the odd game, and while I could get a PC gaming rig for less money, if I can have it all in one machine, that would be handy. For one thing, having a Thunderbolt display means I'm a bit stuck for PC options.
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 01:11 PM   #9
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
I'm curious about the difference between these workstation graphics cards, and the "regular" sort. I would assume that they'd play games quite well - not at insane ultra settings with a zillion fps, but pretty well.

Like the original poster, I'm a power user who also likes the odd game, and while I could get a PC gaming rig for less money, if I can have it all in one machine, that would be handy. For one thing, having a Thunderbolt display means I'm a bit stuck for PC options.
The GPU in the Mac Pro should play games decently. Just don't expect 100+ FPS at Ultra settings all the time. Some games are more intensive than others. And newer games tend to be even more graphics intensive.

Gamer GPUs are designed a bit differently (as has been mentioned) however, unless you're a dedicated gamer, the GPU in the Pro should be good enough, especially if you need the Mac Pro for your computer work.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 01:38 PM   #10
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Don't buy a workstation to play games. You pay way too much and it is optimized for other purposes. If you can find a happy medium like I did with 3.33GHz Hex and GTX 680 then so be it but paying for FirePro and low clocked 12-core chips is just stupid. Games need high clocks up to 4 cores and non-worstation GPU's.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 02:14 PM   #11
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Don't buy a workstation to play games. You pay way too much and it is optimized for other purposes. If you can find a happy medium like I did with 3.33GHz Hex and GTX 680 then so be it but paying for FirePro and low clocked 12-core chips is just stupid. Games need high clocks up to 4 cores and non-worstation GPU's.
I agree, but like I said I'm stuck with a Thunderbolt display and have limited deskspace... unless I can fit a PC tower under the desk and run dual displays somehow (one Thunderbolt, one DVI or whatever it is that PCs use).

Actually, is that possible? I'm currently running a new Mac mini - can that run one Thunderbolt and one DVI monitor as dual screens?
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 02:25 PM   #12
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
I agree, but like I said I'm stuck with a Thunderbolt display and have limited deskspace... unless I can fit a PC tower under the desk and run dual displays somehow (one Thunderbolt, one DVI or whatever it is that PCs use).

Actually, is that possible? I'm currently running a new Mac mini - can that run one Thunderbolt and one DVI monitor as dual screens?
Pretty sure. Doesn't new Mac MIni have TB and HDMI? Use those. HDMI to DVI cable or similar should work. No audio gets passed through DVI though so you could get a PC display with HDMI which are everywhere. Then TB-TB and HDMI-HDMI. Simple.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 02:27 PM   #13
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Pretty sure. Doesn't new Mac MIni have TB and HDMI? Use those. HDMI to DVI cable or similar should work. No audio gets passed through DVI though so you could get a PC display with HDMI which are everywhere. The TB-TB and HDMI-HDMI. Simple.
Yeah, the mini has HDMI. Curious... so I could have two monitors to run on the Mac (yay screen real estate), and then I can switch the HDMI monitor to a PC rig if I want gaming.

Thanks!
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 02:29 PM   #14
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
Yeah, the mini has HDMI. Curious... so I could have two monitors to run on the Mac (yay screen real estate), and then I can switch the HDMI monitor to a PC rig if I want gaming.

Thanks!
Yes. Most display's have a combo of DVI/ VGA/ HDMI/ Display port. Find one that fits your needs both now and future. DVI and HDMI are always good bets because they can be converted using cheap adapters if needed.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 02:33 PM   #15
FluJunkie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
I'm curious about the difference between these workstation graphics cards, and the "regular" sort. I would assume that they'd play games quite well - not at insane ultra settings with a zillion fps, but pretty well.
Not necessarily. Workstation graphics cards are often appallingly bad for gaming.
FluJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 03:25 PM   #16
syrinxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...k,3265-19.html
syrinxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 10:50 AM   #17
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
We just have to wait to find out which configs of (Dual?) GPU's on the new Mac Pro will be available.

The current Mac Pro's also feature a high-end workstation grfx card which is not best suited for games.
But the Mac Pro is also configurable with "desktop" GPUs' which are suited for gaming.

Let's hope that the new Mac Pro will be configurable with "desktop" class GPU's as CTO.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 11:06 AM   #18
ElderBrE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
The ones presentes ar WWDC are basically 7970 with another name. The main difference are drivers, which is basically the extra you are paying for the same hardware plus ecc memory.

Like others are saying, they may even offer gaming specific Gpus, but. Wouldn't hold my breadth. If you want to game, it will obliterate stuff, but if you want to game with the biggest bang for your buck, you'll just have to make a gaming windows rig.
ElderBrE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 11:21 AM   #19
superdx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Those DirectX benchmarks don't say much about how it'll perform on OSX where games tend to use OpenGL.

Hopefully there's an option to swap the GPU boards or to connect a Thunderbolt 2 expansion box that has a gaming GPU in it. I'd be very happy with that setup.
superdx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2014, 07:05 PM   #20
Christian159260
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadax14 View Post
Dude the Mac Pro will destroy those games. My 2012 iMac runs all of those at Ultra settings with like 60+ fps. Don't even worry about it. While I wouldn't buy the new mac pro purely as a gaming machine (way overpriced...I'm assuming)...if you are a pro user who enjoys playing games...it is going to be heaven!
The only problem is that mac pro has workbench GPU's, so the imac's GPU's are actually better for gaming

Still
getting a mac pro here

CUZ IT shud FTW

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
The GPU in the Mac Pro should play games decently. Just don't expect 100+ FPS at Ultra settings all the time. Some games are more intensive than others. And newer games tend to be even more graphics intensive.

Gamer GPUs are designed a bit differently (as has been mentioned) however, unless you're a dedicated gamer, the GPU in the Pro should be good enough, especially if you need the Mac Pro for your computer work.
Wh oneeds 100 fps, the screen with the highest possible framerate is only 110-120fps, although, most screens are 60fps, and the human eye can only (average) see 60 fps.
Christian159260 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2014, 07:53 PM   #21
AidenShaw
macrumors G5
 
AidenShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Peninsula
You do!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian159260 View Post
Who needs 100 fps, the screen with the highest possible framerate is only 110-120fps, although, most screens are 60fps, and the human eye can only (average) see 60 fps.
Benchmarks quote average frame rates - yet games vary greatly in complexity (and FPS) from scene to scene.

If you have the 60FPS system because you think that the "human eye can only see 60 FPS", you might be in the very low teens on complex action scenes. And the human eye does notice 12 FPS.
__________________
6 October 2014 - the day that the debate about marriage equality ended. And equality prevailed.
AidenShaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablo/Starcraft and the 21"/750M, how is it ? Nic0 iMac 8 Jun 7, 2014 04:38 PM
OS X: Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2 owensfg2 Mac and PC Games 20 May 17, 2013 02:48 AM
2012 iMac and Starcraft/Diablo travistaylor iMac 8 Dec 8, 2012 09:15 PM
Diablo 3 vs Starcraft 2 SimonDK Mac and PC Games 2 Jul 13, 2012 01:51 PM
MBPR gaming experience (Diablo, Starcraft) Deliak MacBook Pro 78 Jun 30, 2012 04:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC