Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2013, 07:58 PM   #1
Julien
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Extreme AC Wireless Options 5Ghz

Just got a Extreme AC to replace my Extreme N. In setup it has a Wireless Options button (don't remember this before) that has a a 5 GHz option. It creates another WiFi with 5 GHz added on the end (so you have 2 WiFi). I checked this and connected this way. I had much lower speeds to my AirPort Express connecting to this WiFi. I thought 2.4/5GHz switching was auto and didn't need to be selected. Is this a new setup to the AC? I basically understand that higher frequencies can carry more data but have a more limited range. What is the beast way to setup and use?

Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 08:45 PM   #2
FreakinEurekan
macrumors 68030
 
FreakinEurekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Pretty much same screen for me on the (now) previous-generation Extreme.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 7.44.01 PM.png
Views:	18
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	417093  
FreakinEurekan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
You must have had the generation before last not the dual band one.
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 10:24 PM   #4
jayhawk11
macrumors 6502a
 
jayhawk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julien View Post
Just got a Extreme AC to replace my Extreme N. In setup it has a Wireless Options button (don't remember this before) that has a a 5 GHz option. It creates another WiFi with 5 GHz added on the end (so you have 2 WiFi). I checked this and connected this way. I had much lower speeds to my AirPort Express connecting to this WiFi. I thought 2.4/5GHz switching was auto and didn't need to be selected. Is this a new setup to the AC? I basically understand that higher frequencies can carry more data but have a more limited range. What is the beast way to setup and use?

Image
Those options have been there for quite a while. Nothing new.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7; 64 GB iPhone 6; 32GB iPad Mini with Retina Display
Rock Chalk Jayhawk, Go KU.
jayhawk11 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2013, 10:25 PM   #5
sick z33
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Yes you an set up a seperate 5g SSID if you want only certain devices to utilize it. IMO i turned this off as my Apple devices will connect to the wireless using the best signal available.
sick z33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 06:39 AM   #6
Julien
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by sick z33 View Post
Yes you an set up a seperate 5g SSID if you want only certain devices to utilize it. IMO i turned this off as my Apple devices will connect to the wireless using the best signal available.
So by checking/creating you will have an additional 5GHz ONLY network (even though the screen allows you to select channel info for 2.4GHz) that will NOT use/switch to 2.4GHz (limiting range???)?

If you just use the "regular" WiFi you will get 5GHz and 2.4GHz (auto switching?)? If this is the case it would seem that there is little to no advantage in making a 5GHz only WiFi. Unless your devices were always in the same room as the Extreme (in which case wouldn't it just select 5GHz anyway?)?
Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 08:05 AM   #7
sick z33
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julien View Post
So by checking/creating you will have an additional 5GHz ONLY network (even though the screen allows you to select channel info for 2.4GHz) that will NOT use/switch to 2.4GHz (limiting range???)?

If you just use the "regular" WiFi you will get 5GHz and 2.4GHz (auto switching?)? If this is the case it would seem that there is little to no advantage in making a 5GHz only WiFi. Unless your devices were always in the same room as the Extreme (in which case wouldn't it just select 5GHz anyway?)?
Correct. The advantage is that you can only have certain devices take priority of the 5GHZ. I found the range of 5GHZ to be very limited IMO.
sick z33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2013, 12:33 PM   #8
Julien
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by sick z33 View Post
Correct. The advantage is that you can only have certain devices take priority of the 5GHZ. I found the range of 5GHZ to be very limited IMO.
Thanks, now I understand.
Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Extreme MIMO w/ 5ghz and 2.4ghz slffl Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 7, 2013 01:14 AM
Airport Extreme 5Ghz not getting internet Mongus Mac Peripherals 0 Oct 4, 2013 03:14 PM
Help with 5ghz of Airport Extreme 5th generation NickSoulMusic Mac Peripherals 0 Jun 25, 2013 06:49 PM
5GHz wireless? gamoni Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Apr 11, 2013 09:36 AM
best channel to use for 5GHZ Mode in AIRPORT EXTREME? lamonsas Mac Peripherals 6 Oct 29, 2012 10:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC