Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2013, 09:53 AM   #1
sparkie7
macrumors 68000
 
sparkie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
New Mac Pro = New Displays?

Would make sense.. it's time  replace the crappy 27" Thunderbolt display with a 30+" professional display without that hideous glass in front.

Most likely black to match the new black trash can?
sparkie7 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 10:22 AM   #2
liquid stereo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Paul
matte/flat screen would be awesome!

Its highly unlikely but I am hoping of a new matte display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie7 View Post
Would make sense.. it's time  replace the crappy 27" Thunderbolt display with a 30+" professional display without that hideous glass in front.

Most likely black to match the new black trash can?
liquid stereo is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 01:41 PM   #3
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie7 View Post
Would make sense.. it's time  replace the crappy 27" Thunderbolt display with a 30+" professional display without that hideous glass in front.

Most likely black to match the new black trash can?
New thunderbolt displays are likely. At worst they'll match the current iMac design but at least will include USB 3.0 Ports and hopefully still a FireWire port.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 10:21 PM   #4
degl
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Caracas
This is the Kid
http://www.asus.com/News/L9xTPmmMwTlPMq5l
__________________
2 MacPro 8-Core | 8TB Raid | 32GB Ram
Sony FS100 | Sony A7 | Olympus OM-D E-M5 | Lumix GH3
Cinema 4D R15 | Creative Cloud 2014 | ZBrush4r6
degl is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2013, 11:07 PM   #5
applegeek897
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I think apple will keep the current 27" Thunderbolt Display, but also make a 30" or 32" 4K display. Who knows if it will be matte or glossy (hoping for matte) but hopefully it will be 16:10 and not 16:9.
__________________
cMac Pro 5,1: 2.8GHz QC / 16GB Ram / ATI 5770 / 1x2TB / 3x1TB / 240GB SSD. 30" ACD, 24" Benq.
rMacBook Pro: 2.6Ghz / 16GB / GT 750M 2GB / 1TB SSD.
Gear: Canon 1D MK IV / Canon 16-35mm 2.8L II USM
applegeek897 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 12:30 AM   #6
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
By the time the Mac Pro ships the 4K displays will be announced.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 05:11 AM   #7
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
4K poses a really tough decision for Apple.

Retina, or not?

If Retina, it will reflect a 1920 x 1200 (1080?) resolution, which works fine if your display is 20 - 24" in size. If they make a 27" or 30" 4K display as a 'retina' display, it would make most UI elements WAY too big. Imagine a 30" 1920 x 1200 display. Yuk.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 06:18 AM   #8
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Yeah, 4K... what the hell??

For me 24" to 27" is the sweet spot. A 30 or 32" display is just too big. It'll take an hour just to find your mouse cursor.

And 4K on a 30" or smaller monitor means nothing will be readable without wearing some sort of assisted technology headset.


Or upscaling the GUIs of every OS X application on the planet prior to release. And there are a massive buttload of applications and utilities which can not be scaled by the OS.

4K? It's gotta be for home theaters and 4K specific content creators ONLY, no?
Tesselator is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 06:35 AM   #9
IGregory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by degl View Post
Yeah, if you can afford it @ $4,000. i rounded up of course.
__________________
The happy owner of a Mid-2012 Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, iPad Air and iPhone 5s .
IGregory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:01 AM   #10
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Yeah, 4K... what the hell??

For me 24" to 27" is the sweet spot. A 30 or 32" display is just too big. It'll take an hour just to find your mouse cursor.

And 4K on a 30" or smaller monitor means nothing will be readable without wearing some sort of assisted technology headset.
I've mentioned before that it would be possible to do with scaling. Both 24 and 27" 16:10 and 16:9 displays fall within what could be done with doubling. 24" has has used 1920x1200 and 1920x1080. 27" has also used 1920x1080. Going for double on one of those could work. 30"+ died out in favor of a 27" middle ground. For a while we had 21" 1600x1200 displays at a medium price range, then most 30" types were priced into the stratosphere. The current 27" panels actually evolved from the prior 25.5" (often called 26") ones that showed up around 2008-2009ish. Those were 16:10 types. They just retained a static height dimension and widened them to 16:9 27" types. I guess the point is that 30" displays have been tested in the past, and LG discontinued panels in that size.

For me 24" is great. 27" could work too. I use a wacom tablet. The large is the biggest one that is comfortable to use on a flat surface. The oversized versions suck for that due to the angles you have to extend your arm, and large sizes tend to make for crazy mapping. Cintiqs are larger, but they can be angled more like a drafting table. If you instead use a mouse or trackpad, large screens require mouse acceleration which is annoying in itself. I prefer consistent mapping speeds. Either way some people end up with multiple displays. My second display just holds visual references, notes, and email. I like that method of organization.

That headset is awesome. I want one, but I do lots of weird things. I've used fake beards for a laugh before.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:09 AM   #11
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
With dual 6GB Radeon/Fire Pro cards, there's technically enough grunt there to power a 5,120 x 2,880 pixel display or two.

- '4K' (3,840 x 2,160) = 8,294,400 pixels pushed
- 'Retina 27" (5,120 x 2,880) = 14,745,600 pixels pushed

3 x 4K screens = 24,883,200 pixels
2 x 27" Retinas = 29,491,200 pixels.

I know the max output on the new Mac Pro is 3 x 4K monitors. I wonder if it could pump out dual Retina 27" displays? Not THAT many more pixels than 3 x 4K.

Of course, I'll be happy with one 4K, or one Retina 27".
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:19 AM   #12
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
I've mentioned before that it would be possible to do with scaling. Both 24 and 27" 16:10 and 16:9 displays fall within what could be done with doubling.
Doubling? Wouldn't that make text and buttons look like crap?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrichardson View Post
With dual 6GB Radeon/Fire Pro cards,
Thru technical understanding and by the way Apple said what they said I think it's like: If you use 4K displays you're limited to three. Implying of course that it support 6 2K displays or 6 1080 displays, etc.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:32 AM   #13
Pakaku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
If Apple makes a retina Thunderbolt display at 4K resolution or so, are the rest of the Macs going to be able to power it? I don't see Apple making a product only one of their Macs can handle, a very niche Mac at that.

Or maybe it so happens that they all can power one of these theoretical new displays, but it just so happens the New Mac Pro can power a few more at once than the others, and in which case I have no idea what I'm talking about.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.1, Macbook Pro 10.1
Pakaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:37 AM   #14
Cubemmal
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
My best combination is a single 27" Cinema flanked by two 24" Cinema displays with my Mac Pro on my circular sit/stand desk. Three 27's won't fit on a desk - too big. And too much real estate really. The 24-27-24 is pretty ideal visually and space wise. Unfortunately they don't sell the 24's anymore.

The next best is 27-27, which I have next to it (an identical desk) in TB monitors.
Cubemmal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:51 AM   #15
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubemmal View Post
My best combination is a single 27" Cinema flanked by two 24" Cinema displays with my Mac Pro on my circular sit/stand desk. Three 27's won't fit on a desk - too big. And too much real estate really. The 24-27-24 is pretty ideal visually and space wise. Unfortunately they don't sell the 24's anymore.

The next best is 27-27, which I have next to it (an identical desk) in TB monitors.
I have dual 24" and have considered adding a 27" as a centre display. Hmm
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 07:58 AM   #16
Cubemmal
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrichardson View Post
I have dual 24" and have considered adding a 27" as a centre display. Hmm
Yup, it's perfect.
Cubemmal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 08:32 AM   #17
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Doubling? Wouldn't that make text and buttons look like crap?
I meant what they do currently to keep things from being tiny on the 13 and 15" rmbps. admittedly I haven't spent much time wiht them. When I did, they looked fine to me. Viewing angles were better than the old ones. They didn't have the really cold whites either.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 11:42 AM   #18
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
I meant what they do currently to keep things from being tiny on the 13 and 15" rmbps. admittedly I haven't spent much time wiht them. When I did, they looked fine to me. Viewing angles were better than the old ones. They didn't have the really cold whites either.
Ah, OK, I see. Yeah I dunno much about retina displays. They're supposed to be of some resolution relative of the human retina or something. I guess my son's iPhone5 has it. The few times I looked I didn't notice any difference but I'm sure there must be. My Android Galaxy Note II phablet is supposed to have some super-special screen too but I don't notice much difference with that either. But I'm pretty ancient too and my eyes are starting to go, so...
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 11:44 AM   #19
ThisIsNotMe
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
New thunderbolt displays are likely. At worst they'll match the current iMac design but at least will include USB 3.0 Ports and hopefully still a FireWire port.
This is Apple's Thunderbolt strategy.
Everyone is bitching about legacy ports and the need for adapters.
Your adapters and legacy ports are included on the display.
ThisIsNotMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 11:54 AM   #20
ThisIsNotMe
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pakaku View Post
If Apple makes a retina Thunderbolt display at 4K resolution or so, are the rest of the Macs going to be able to power it? I don't see Apple making a product only one of their Macs can handle, a very niche Mac at that.

Or maybe it so happens that they all can power one of these theoretical new displays, but it just so happens the New Mac Pro can power a few more at once than the others, and in which case I have no idea what I'm talking about.
Intel's HD 4000 integrated graphics can handle 4k.
ThisIsNotMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 12:07 PM   #21
digitalmatt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ashland, OR
Send a message via AIM to digitalmatt
Am I the only one who loves his 27" mac cinema display? Sure it could use some upgrading, the usb 3.0, maybe retina to sharpen it up. But I think the size is perfect, colors and brightness good, and I like the resolution it runs at. But this is a guy who is doing CAD and personal use, no crazy 3d or video stuff
digitalmatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 02:21 PM   #22
barmann
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Still running my old cinema displays, a 23" and 20" aluminum, but will switch my main monitor to a pro model for photo retouching .

Any issues to expect, if I got a new MP, and want to use a current HDMI or Displayport Monitor along with one or two of my old ACDs ?
__________________
MacPro 2.8 Octo 3.1 / MBP 15" 4.1 / MBA 11.6" ultimate
barmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2013, 12:20 AM   #23
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Ah, OK, I see. Yeah I dunno much about retina displays. They're supposed to be of some resolution relative of the human retina or something. I guess my son's iPhone5 has it. The few times I looked I didn't notice any difference but I'm sure there must be. My Android Galaxy Note II phablet is supposed to have some super-special screen too but I don't notice much difference with that either. But I'm pretty ancient too and my eyes are starting to go, so...
Yeah silly overly generic Apple math that is overly parroted by the Apple faithful. I wasn't referring to that so much. I was referring to the way they're scaled. They have twice the pixels in each dimension when compared to the standard resolution models (not the "high res"), and things on screen are displayed at the same size. It helps a little with text and things.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2013, 12:46 AM   #24
petsounds
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
No, I will suggest something quite different.

During the Mac Pro reveal, Phil showed a photo with three displays hooked up to the Mac Pro. None of them were Apple displays. I just went back and watched that segment of the reveal. Phil said, "Of course you want to hook up the latest third-party displays, and this supports 4K displays." When has Apple ever even recognized that there are displays other than Apple's? And especially at a big media event?

I think the writing is on the wall -- there will be no more Cinema Displays. It will go the way of the LaserWriter. I'm sure Tim wants to trim down the Pro line to the barest minimum, and I would bet most people who buy a Mac Pro use third-party displays with it anyway, aside from companies like ad agencies that lease Mac products en masse.
petsounds is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2013, 02:03 AM   #25
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsounds View Post
No, I will suggest something quite different.

During the Mac Pro reveal, Phil showed a photo with three displays hooked up to the Mac Pro. None of them were Apple displays. I just went back and watched that segment of the reveal. Phil said, "Of course you want to hook up the latest third-party displays, and this supports 4K displays." When has Apple ever even recognized that there are displays other than Apple's? And especially at a big media event?

I think the writing is on the wall -- there will be no more Cinema Displays. It will go the way of the LaserWriter. I'm sure Tim wants to trim down the Pro line to the barest minimum, and I would bet most people who buy a Mac Pro use third-party displays with it anyway, aside from companies like ad agencies that lease Mac products en masse.
If it wasn't for the huge market for ACDs to compliment Apple notebooks, I might agree. I'm of the opinion that there will be TB ACD displays as long as there are Apple notebooks with TB ports on them. Now, if you said Apple was not building displays for the Pro market... that... I'd agree with. The length of the interconnect cables on the current ACDs should be enough to convince anyone of that.
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mac Pro...4 displays? macpro2000 Mac Pro 5 Jun 15, 2013 07:11 PM
New Displays and Possible Thunderbolt Mac Pro Quandary bedifferent Mac Pro 9 May 27, 2013 07:26 PM
Mac Pro 3 displays with 5870 WRP Mac Pro 2 Oct 25, 2012 04:16 PM
Mac Pro and three displays bax2003 Mac Pro 0 Oct 3, 2012 03:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC