Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 15, 2013, 12:45 PM   #1
yustas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Making Safari to Open Google Search in a New Tab

Hello,

In Safari, when I select a word and do a "right click," one of the options is "Search with Google." To open it in a new tab, I need to hold the Command key, but is there a way to set it to always open in a new tab without pressing the Command key?

Thanks.
yustas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 01:47 PM   #2
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Well... sort of.
When you right-click, don't select "Search with Google," instead go to "Services" and select the "Search with Google" there. That one will open in a new tab.

Not much of a solution, but it's the best I've got.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 02:24 PM   #3
yustas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth.Titan View Post
Well... sort of.
When you right-click, don't select "Search with Google," instead go to "Services" and select the "Search with Google" there. That one will open in a new tab.

Not much of a solution, but it's the best I've got.
I wonder why the "services" path opens it in a new window, but the shorter path does not. Strange.
yustas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 03:09 PM   #4
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Quote:
instead go to "Services" and select the "Search with Google" there.
As it's in a Menu, you should be able to make a keyboard shortcut for it. Not sure how though.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.8.5
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 04:07 PM   #5
yustas
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Braine View Post
As it's in a Menu, you should be able to make a keyboard shortcut for it. Not sure how though.
There is a way to do that, but the whole idea is not to use the keyboard.
yustas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 04:40 PM   #6
DavidMarks
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Check this out:

http://pilotmoon.com/popclip/

It does the trick, you never have to touch the keyboard, and apart from allowing you to google selected text on a new tab, you can also copy, paste, and a zillion other things.
__________________
 MacBook Mavericks Mid09 White  iPod nano 2 Black  iPod nano 5 Green ó , Bring Back COVERFLOW
"You canít connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards." ~ S. Jobs
DavidMarks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 09:22 PM   #7
aaronvan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by yustas View Post
There is a way to do that, but the whole idea is not to use the keyboard.
You can do a Google search with one hand not using the keyboard:

1. Highlight word.
2. Select "Search with Google" from Services.

Search results pops open in a new tab.
__________________
2012 13.3" MBA 1.8GHz Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD. Scrivener and Slugline.
aaronvan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 12:48 PM   #8
DJDeals.com
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Simply hold Command when you click Search With Google in the right click menu to open the results in a new tab.
DJDeals.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 10:12 PM   #9
MLinneer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sherman, TX
My installs may be different but I have 2 "Search with Google" entries in the right click popup menu on both Safari 7.01 on my MBA and in Safari 6.1.1 on my iMac running 10.7. The top one opens search results in the same tab and the bottom one opens in a new tab.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-01-04 at 10.09.28 PM.png
Views:	6
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	454727  
MLinneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 10:21 PM   #10
MLinneer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sherman, TX
I should add...

Both my installs are updates, not clean fresh installs. I had Lion when I bought the Macbook Air and imported everything with Migration Assistant. Then I just did the upgrades to Mountain Lion and Mavericks rather than reinstall everything. I also used to run Glims on both machines and I think it adds some search features. Maybe the 2nd search menu item is an artifact from when I removed Glims? It works though so I've never done anything about it.
MLinneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2014, 03:45 AM   #11
IndyBob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLinneer View Post
My installs may be different but I have 2 "Search with Google" entries in the right click popup menu on both Safari 7.01 on my MBA and in Safari 6.1.1 on my iMac running 10.7. The top one opens search results in the same tab and the bottom one opens in a new tab.
This is the way mine is also.
__________________
27 inch iMac Late 2012, 24GB Ram, 1T Fusion, i5, OS 10.9 Mavericks
iPhone 5 32GB Verizon
iPad Air 32GB 4G Verizon
IndyBob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2014, 01:21 PM   #12
coldjeanzzz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > Services and check "Search with Google"

It creates a new menu command to open in a new tab, but you will still see the old one at the top which is kind of annoying. I don't know why they didn't just make it the default behavior to begin with, Apple can be so difficult at times.
coldjeanzzz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2014, 03:44 PM   #13
Cassady
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Africa
Alternatively, look at Popclip? Costs a few $$, but brings plenty to the table. It has a Google search option, which opens directly in a new tab - with a search of the selected text.
Cassady is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC