Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chelinka

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2013
Hi guys,

I'm a science student and am sick of keeping my daily logs (eg experiments done, papers read etc) in a paper notebook. I'd like to keep my lab book electronically, but creating hundreds of individual entries on MS word seems a bit tedious and difficult to organize and keep an overview of.

So I was wondering if there was anybody out there who keeps electronic lab books on their macs? Through some kind of notebook or journaling app on mac I guess?

Any recommendations?

Thanks!

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra
Hi guys,

I'm a science student and am sick of keeping my daily logs (eg experiments done, papers read etc) in a paper notebook. I'd like to keep my lab book electronically, but creating hundreds of individual entries on MS word seems a bit tedious and difficult to organize and keep an overview of.
What do you mean by hundreds of individual entries? If you mean that each is a sperate file, then you're not using Word to it's potential.

You would want a table of contents so you can find stuff in a single document. You might even want to create an index for a cross reference of related items.

The biggest part of the organization will be using chapters and section numbers correctly to divide up each day and separate days from each other. And of course you would still want to use one file per lab course. Without looking at your written notebooks, I would say you would want each day to be a separate chapter. Among other printing options, I believe word allows you to specifically print individual chapters which would let you print out everything for a specific day.

MathRulz

macrumors regular
Apr 15, 2011
Atlanta

Chelinka

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2013
Thanks for the replies!