Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 17, 2013, 04:13 PM   #1
Kingsly
macrumors 68040
 
Kingsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Either in front of a computer or behind a camera.
RAM options for MP 3,1?

After a good five year run, the ram in my MP finally gave up this weekend. Why does this stuff always happen when there's a deadline?

What options do I have in finding good 800mhz DDR2 sticks for this machine? Seems to have been entirely replaced with DR3, and thus is becoming very hard to come by. Do I have to stay Mac specific or can I use sticks designated for a PC application? Any good known alternatives out there?

Thanks!
Kingsly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 04:44 PM   #2
OS6-OSX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
http://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...202008&Cat=RAM

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor...ory#800-memory
__________________
MacPro 2008 3,1 | 26GB Ram | Quadro 4000 | MC6.0 | OS 10.6.8 | MOTU HDX-SDI | ATTO R644 | LaCie 324
OS6-OSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 08:12 PM   #3
Kingsly
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Kingsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Either in front of a computer or behind a camera.
Thanks! The stuff that went down was OWC and I'm awaiting a warranty replacement, but honestly I always needed more than the 6gb I had.

It absolutely has to be ECC, right?
Has anyone any experience with using a non "apple approved" heat sink?

Last edited by Kingsly; Jun 17, 2013 at 08:26 PM.
Kingsly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2013, 08:19 PM   #4
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsly View Post
It absolutely has to be ECC, right?

Yes.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 11:07 AM   #5
rdsii64
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
3.1 ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsly View Post
After a good five year run, the ram in my MP finally gave up this weekend. Why does this stuff always happen when there's a deadline?

What options do I have in finding good 800mhz DDR2 sticks for this machine? Seems to have been entirely replaced with DR3, and thus is becoming very hard to come by. Do I have to stay Mac specific or can I use sticks designated for a PC application? Any good known alternatives out there?

Thanks!
last night I found 16 gigs of 800mhz DDR2 for 250. If shopping on Ebay isn't your thing, OWC carries ram for mac pro's all the way back to 1.1
rdsii64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 01:03 PM   #6
xSinghx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I would advise you to stay away from Mac Ram Direct.

I bought 32Gb of ram from them for my 2008 mac pro. The batch was bad and slowly over time had failures from it. While they did eventually replace the batch - I had too much back and forth with them and condescending attitude that I would not use them in the future. Buyer Beware!
__________________
2008 Mac Pro, 2 x 3GHz, 32GB RAM, ATI 5870, 2010 15" MacBook Pro, 2.6GHz i7, 8GB RAM
xSinghx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 07:45 PM   #7
rdsii64
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
yes it does

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsly View Post
Thanks! The stuff that went down was OWC and I'm awaiting a warranty replacement, but honestly I always needed more than the 6gb I had.

It absolutely has to be ECC, right?
Has anyone any experience with using a non "apple approved" heat sink?
I'm not the resident expert in the room but I believe the ram must be ECC.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.1, Dual Harpertown E5462's, 32 GB RAM, HD 5770
24" aluminum iMac, 2.93 Core2Duo, 8 GB RAM
16 GB iPhone 4
rdsii64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 01:17 PM   #8
darthraige
macrumors 68000
 
darthraige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Coruscant, but Boston will do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsly View Post
Thanks! The stuff that went down was OWC and I'm awaiting a warranty replacement
You try switching them RAM around to different slots? That sometimes helps me out getting it to recognize again. OWC to me is the cheapest and most solid around. Haven't had any major issues with them.
__________________
MacPro 8-core Penryn / 18GB Ram / 12TB
32GB iPhone 5 Verizon - iOS 7.1.2 Pangu
11" MacBook Air 1.6GHz Intel Core i5

16GB iPad Mini Retina
darthraige is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Late-2009 iMac ram options sensei- iMac 7 May 11, 2013 10:51 AM
RAM Upgrade (iMac 10,1) - discuss the options xghostofme iMac 5 Apr 10, 2013 03:23 PM
What route to take: hard drives, ram and too many options Weerez935 Buying Tips and Advice 2 Jan 2, 2013 10:05 AM
New iMac RAM options question washburn iMac 2 Nov 19, 2012 05:06 PM
RAM options caymandrew Mac Pro 5 Jul 29, 2012 06:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC