Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

banapple!

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2013
Hi all! I'm thinking of selling my 2012 MBA 11" and am just hoping for some advice on what would be a fair price. It's my first time selling a laptop online so hoping to tap into the collective wisdom here :)

It's the 2012 model, 11 inch, 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5 processor, 4gb RAM, 256gb SSD. 3 months old and under warranty and in perfect condition.

I've checked the completed listings on ebay, but not too many have sold in the last week. About a week ago sales of over $1000 were normal, but I imagine that the release of the 2013 model may have changed this.

Thanks for any advice! I just want to sell it for whatever's fair!

tgi

macrumors 65816
Aug 29, 2012
Seeing as you can get a similar model refurbished for $799 directly from Apple. I would say you should probably sell in the range $750-900.

Refurbished 11.6-inch MacBook Air 1.7GHz dual-core Intel Core i5

Originally released June 2012
11.6-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit glossy widescreen display, 1366-by-768 resolution
4GB memory
128GB flash storage
720p FaceTime HD camera
Intel HD Graphics 4000
$799

I don't think anyone would be willing to pay more since the 2013's were just released, you never know though. Are you located in the states? I would probably try Craigslist first and see how that goes. I'm reluctant to sell big ticket items online.

You should also specify if the box and/or any accessories are included. That will effect the asking price.

maxosx

macrumors 68020
Dec 13, 2012
Southern California
Hi all! I'm thinking of selling my 2012 MBA 11" and am just hoping for some advice on what would be a fair price. It's my first time selling a laptop online so hoping to tap into the collective wisdom here :)
Collective wisdom?

You're being far too kind, it's sheer guesswork when the model is so new. :D