Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2013, 06:46 PM   #1
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does iMovie create render files?

I've always wondered how iMovie plays back without any kind of rendering indicator.

Either the things you can apply just aren't big enough that it needs rendering, or it renders in the background like FCPX, but without any indicator.

I assume the former. I know that some of the older versions had to render.

I don't actually use iMovie though, can't quite remember how limited it is...my biggest problem with it is that the timeline isn't accurate, it's horrible to use.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 04:53 PM   #2
Siderz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Anybody know?

Not urgent...I'm just curious.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 09:55 AM   #3
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
It has always seemed to me that it renders on export since export time seems to vary on the complexity of content. Judging by the processor usage, it doesn't seem to do anything in the background.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Yosemite Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV in the household.
talmy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 03:09 PM   #4
Siderz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
It has always seemed to me that it renders on export since export time seems to vary on the complexity of content. Judging by the processor usage, it doesn't seem to do anything in the background.
Thanks!

Did you check the processor activity during playback?

Once again, not urgent, just curious, don't worry if you can't be bothered to do it. I don't actually have iMovie installed anymore which is why I can't try it out.
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 07:09 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
It is probably due to all the effects being real-time with the machines they are supported on due to the iMovie version.

FCP and FCE and even Avid Media Composer and Adobe Premiere Pro have many real time effects, which do not need to be rendered before playback and thus not create any render files somewhere.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 12:57 PM   #6
kohlson
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
IIRC, iMovie uses an intermediate codec that enables essentially realtime for the available effects. When you "share" (export) then then this is rendered into the final format/resolution. This usually takes some time.
Older versions of iMovie did not have realtime effects. When they were applied, a progress bar appeared in the frame to show you how soon you could see the effect. When the current version came to market, it required Intel processors, annoying those Power Macs who wanted to move beyond iMovie 6.
kohlson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMovie very slow to render AndyThomsen Digital Video 6 Jun 10, 2014 02:12 PM
Create/Export iMovie project to which format for Windows XP? Ann P Mac Basics and Help 3 Apr 19, 2014 02:12 AM
Does iMovie create files importable to Dragon AABirdy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jan 25, 2013 09:36 AM
Create files from list in CSV jasperx Mac Programming 22 Oct 19, 2012 10:27 PM
How to create a website one can upload files to? simsaladimbamba Web Design and Development 1 Jul 18, 2012 02:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC