Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2013, 04:18 PM   #26
jaycarroll
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denville, NJ
Oh is that all? Well, sheet bro.. attach the diff already!

/me shoves his nose back in the iPhone Wiki...
__________________
15" rMBP / i7 / 16GB / 256GB / OS X 10.10 GM 2
iPhone 6 Plus - Space Grey / 128GB / iOS 8.1 Beta 2
Retina iPad Mini / 64GB / AT&T LTE / iOS 8.1 Beta 2
jaycarroll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 07:46 PM   #27
ps3zocker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
http://pastie.org/8067977
ps3zocker is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 08:15 PM   #28
KoolStar
macrumors Demi-God
 
KoolStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kentucky
Send a message via AIM to KoolStar Send a message via Skype™ to KoolStar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ps3zocker View Post
Right on.
KoolStar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 08:38 PM   #29
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ps3zocker View Post
Yeah, but how can you insert the PrototypeTools framework into /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks?
maverick808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 09:02 PM   #30
KoolStar
macrumors Demi-God
 
KoolStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kentucky
Send a message via AIM to KoolStar Send a message via Skype™ to KoolStar
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick808 View Post
Yeah, but how can you insert the PrototypeTools framework into /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks?
You need a jailbroken device as far as I know.
KoolStar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 09:04 PM   #31
ethan028
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ethan028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolStar View Post
You need a jailbroken device as far as I know.
Yep. Hamza just told me he has his own R/W exploit he will never share. I got it working in the iPhone Simulator but I don't believe there is a way to emulate the volume up button so we are screwed for now.
ethan028 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 12:29 AM   #32
richard6r
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Least you guys tried, I was following this thread closely. too bad he won't share his exploit. probably because he can pass it later on to the dev team for a real jailbreak. who knows. thanks guys

-edit- could you try the accessibility settings and use the assistivetouch to simulate the volume press? I figure its the same...
richard6r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 01:02 AM   #33
ethan028
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ethan028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Tried it, simulator doesn't have assistive touch.
ethan028 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 05:25 PM   #34
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Not sure you can get anywhere with this without write access to the device.

However, in case it is any use to anyone, you can import the private PrototypeTools framework into your project, and get a valid instance of some of the various classes used. For example, you can get an instance of PTSHUD with...

Quote:
Class y = NSClassFromString(@"PTSHUD");
id pts = [[y alloc] initWithFrame:CGRectMake(0.0f, 0.0f, 320.0f, 320.0f)];
and then run its methods with performSelector...

Quote:
[pts performSelector:@selector(show) withObject:nil];
However, you'll just get an error because it doesn't have a valid set of settings to work with. Obviously, if you class dump the PrototypeTools framework and SpringBoard you can see all the methods you can call.
maverick808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 08:02 PM   #35
tobiastimpe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Simply use the SSH Ramdisk Creator from MSFTguy, mount the FS, change the fstab to rw and enable AFC2. Then copy over the PrototypeSettings.framework.
tobiastimpe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 08:23 PM   #36
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobiastimpe View Post
Simply use the SSH Ramdisk Creator from MSFTguy, mount the FS, change the fstab to rw and enable AFC2. Then copy over the PrototypeSettings.framework.
Surely that would only work if you were running an SSH server on your phone... which you could only do if you were already jailbroken.
maverick808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 10:26 PM   #37
ethan028
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ethan028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobiastimpe View Post
Simply use the SSH Ramdisk Creator from MSFTguy, mount the FS, change the fstab to rw and enable AFC2. Then copy over the PrototypeSettings.framework.
I don't have an iPhone 4.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick808 View Post
Surely that would only work if you were running an SSH server on your phone... which you could only do if you were already jailbroken.
It works without jailbreak. It's a simple thing to give basic R/W access.
ethan028 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 11:09 PM   #38
martinocando
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
So, this means that when a jailbreak is released for iOS7, we will be able to enable these settings?
martinocando is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 11:12 PM   #39
glsillygili
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
pastie.org/8038159 afc2 for iphone 4 ios 7
glsillygili is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 07:32 AM   #40
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Thanks for everyone's help. However, I only have iPhone 5 and iPad devices, and for the 5 ramdisk creator just says unsupported device. So looks like I'm stuck.
maverick808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 02:08 PM   #41
ethan028
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ethan028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinocando View Post
So, this means that when a jailbreak is released for iOS7, we will be able to enable these settings?
Exactly.
ethan028 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 02:30 PM   #42
ethan028
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ethan028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick808 View Post
Thanks for everyone's help. However, I only have iPhone 5 and iPad devices, and for the 5 ramdisk creator just says unsupported device. So looks like I'm stuck.
Yep, same here. Although I do have a hint of the exploit would you be willing to help me find it maybe? It seems like you know a lot more about this than I do.
ethan028 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 07:38 PM   #43
Nickmor7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethan028 View Post
I don't have an iPhone 4.
I have a iPhone 4 and am willing to help if you can point me in the right direction.

Last edited by balamw; Dec 22, 2013 at 08:00 AM. Reason: fixed quote
Nickmor7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 10:42 PM   #44
Nickmor7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Any one still trying to figure this out
Nickmor7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 04:28 PM   #45
ethan028
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
ethan028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickmor7 View Post
Any one still trying to figure this out
Yes
ethan028 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 07:55 PM   #46
Nickmor7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Could you help me wit this Ethan
Nickmor7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 05:57 PM   #47
Nickmor7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
All I would need is the internal settings framework and the file name with the strings needed to be edited or tell me where it is
Nickmor7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 02:16 AM   #48
wasabeeguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick808 View Post
Not sure you can get anywhere with this without write access to the device.

However, in case it is any use to anyone, you can import the private PrototypeTools framework into your project, and get a valid instance of some of the various classes used. For example, you can get an instance of PTSHUD with...
where exactly are you finding the PrototypeTools framework? I have Xcode 5 beta installed and everything. I have been scouring everywhere for that framework and I cannot find it for the life of me.
wasabeeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 03:44 AM   #49
maverick808
macrumors 65816
 
maverick808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasabeeguy View Post
where exactly are you finding the PrototypeTools framework? I have Xcode 5 beta installed and everything. I have been scouring everywhere for that framework and I cannot find it for the life of me.
Same place private frameworks always are now...

/Applications/Xcode5-DP2.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneOS7.0.sdk/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/
maverick808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 11:21 PM   #50
Nickmor7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thank you mavericks I'm downloading Xcode now and i will try to see if this will work on my iPhone 4
Nickmor7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't figure out how to download SD movies in ios 7 davidwarren iOS 7 1 Apr 13, 2014 06:20 PM
Migrate Data and Settings from IOS 7 to IOS 6? libbytgb iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 26, 2013 10:04 AM
Hidden iOS 7 Settings Reveal 'iOS in the Car' Could Work Over AirPlay MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 23 Jul 10, 2013 07:17 PM
Hidden iOS 7 settings? WhackyNinja iOS 7 4 Jun 18, 2013 01:16 AM
Where have network settings gone in iOS 6? shaundon iPhone 1 Sep 16, 2012 02:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC