Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 19, 2013, 06:13 PM   #1
jlusk99
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Why is Charter Cable not a choice for HBO go for apple TV?

I don't understand why Charter Cable is not one of the choices for HBO Go to set up on my Apple TV? I can use HBO Go to see on my computer, so what difference would it make to run it through Apple TV? Makes no sense whatsoever?

REALLY ANNOYING!!!

Anyone know what the problem is?
jlusk99 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 06:43 PM   #2
E.Lizardo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlusk99 View Post
I don't understand why Charter Cable is not one of the choices for HBO Go to set up on my Apple TV? I can use HBO Go to see on my computer, so what difference would it make to run it through Apple TV? Makes no sense whatsoever?

REALLY ANNOYING!!!

Anyone know what the problem is?
My guess is that Charter just sucks.That's why I left them as soon as I had a choice.
(meaning it's Charter's decision to enable it and chose not to)(probably)
__________________
I'm sure you care what Apple gear I have about as much as I care about yours,so I won't bother putting it here.
E.Lizardo is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 07:01 PM   #3
jlusk99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
If charter lets you use HBO GO on your computer or any other device, what purpose does it serve them to not allow you to use it on Apple TV? That makes no sense whatsoever to me? I mean I can still use it on my TV through Airplay, it is just way more inconvenient and the picture sucks.

If they are let you use HBO go, why do they care what device you use it through? Totally stupid. Of course cable is a monopoly where I live so I'm stuck with this stupidity.
jlusk99 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 11:35 PM   #4
Michael CM1
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have a friend who asked me about this. I figured it was just a glitch. Apparently not. Maybe it was a rights thing that didn't happen yet. I would send an email to customer service so maybe they'll pull and Xbox One-80.
__________________
Mid-2010 21.5" iMac; silver iPhone 5S 32GB; white iPad Air 32 GB; third-gen TV
Michael CM1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 08:06 AM   #5
jlusk99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Well I posted a question to Charter's Facebook page and this was their response:

"We're excited about the advancements on Apple TV too! At this time Charter has not has not launched the HBOGO app. Our Product and Marketing teams will continue to work on getting access available, however, we do not have a launch date yet. You can still use HBOGO by accessing it through AirPlay Mirroring (instruction here: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5209). Thanks for your patience."

I don't know if they are just blowing smoke, but at least it looks like their may be hope. I don't know what the hold up is if virtually all the other cable companies offer it. At least in my area, Charter has great internet service so it would seem like technology is not the problem.
jlusk99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 10:15 AM   #6
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlusk99 View Post
I don't understand why Charter Cable is not one of the choices for HBO Go to set up on my Apple TV? I can use HBO Go to see on my computer, so what difference would it make to run it through Apple TV? Makes no sense whatsoever?

REALLY ANNOYING!!!

Anyone know what the problem is?
Same reason that DirecTV isn't participating.

They're greedy, old-media d-bags!
Irishman is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 10:39 AM   #7
thesheleys
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishman View Post
Same reason that DirecTV isn't participating.

They're greedy, old-media d-bags!
As of today DirecTV is now available to use for HBOGo on the AppleTV. Just took a little public shaming on Twitter!
thesheleys is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 02:10 PM   #8
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesheleys View Post
As of today DirecTV is now available to use for HBOGo on the AppleTV. Just took a little public shaming on Twitter!
I can confirm that! The activation process is quick and painless! I'm watching Dark Knight Rises!
Irishman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 05:02 PM   #9
jlusk99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
So why the ******* is available for just about EVERY cable and dish subscriber in the COUNTRY except Charter? If the app was developed by HBO what do they have to do to get it to work in their system?
jlusk99 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 05:06 PM   #10
mattopotamus
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I just went to try this for the first time today. How lame is that?! I think we all need to blow them up on social networks.
mattopotamus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 05:25 PM   #11
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesheleys View Post
As of today DirecTV is now available to use for HBOGo on the AppleTV. Just took a little public shaming on Twitter!
I was on their Facebook page asking why it wasn't available 1st thing yesterday.
Good to see they finally came around
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, JetStream Gigabit, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 11:39 PM   #12
Michael CM1
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlusk99 View Post
So why the ******* is available for just about EVERY cable and dish subscriber in the COUNTRY except Charter? If the app was developed by HBO what do they have to do to get it to work in their system?
I wondered the same about Dish Network and Watch ESPN. It's basically old media thinking putting up a wall will keep people from doing something. That worked so well in Berlin.
__________________
Mid-2010 21.5" iMac; silver iPhone 5S 32GB; white iPad Air 32 GB; third-gen TV
Michael CM1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 09:07 PM   #13
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlusk99 View Post
So why the ******* is available for just about EVERY cable and dish subscriber in the COUNTRY except Charter? If the app was developed by HBO what do they have to do to get it to work in their system?
You need to ask Charter.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 11:59 PM   #14
jlusk99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Dozens of people have asked on Charter's twitter and Facebook page and they only have the stock answer that they are "excited" by the new offering through Apple TV and are "working on it". Sounds a lot different than the many sites that are reporting they refuse to authenticate it.
jlusk99 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 12:04 AM   #15
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Wait, what?

How does your ISP determine what content is available on your AppleTV?
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 03:20 AM   #16
brentsg
macrumors 68020
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
Wait, what?

How does your ISP determine what content is available on your AppleTV?
You cannot use HBO Go unless you subscribe to HBO via your legacyTV provider, AND that provider also participates in the authentication process.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 04:32 AM   #17
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
You cannot use HBO Go unless you subscribe to HBO via your legacyTV provider, AND that provider also participates in the authentication process.
That's crazy.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 07:18 AM   #18
mattopotamus
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
That's crazy.
The crazy part is the hbo go app works for those with charter on everything but the appletv. I can even airplay to the ATV just cannot use the app on the ATV.
mattopotamus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 10:43 AM   #19
E.Lizardo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
That's crazy.
Yes unfortunately a lot of cable channels work that way.After I cut my cable down to locals only(soon to be gone entirely)I ended up deleting apps like TBS because you have to be a cable subscriber to use it.

I guess it will take a while to play out.TBS(for example)makes revenue from ads,but also a monthly per subscriber fee from your provider.If they let you subscribe directly they might see a backlash from carriers that would not be worth the small(at first)number of added direct internet subscribers.

I suspect the landscape will change over the next few years with increased streaming and cord cutters.Maybe.
__________________
I'm sure you care what Apple gear I have about as much as I care about yours,so I won't bother putting it here.
E.Lizardo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 01:09 PM   #20
jlusk99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I just called Charter to see if I could get a response from a real person, and they are blaming Apple!!! They say they support it, but it's Apple's fault that Charter doesn't come up as one of the available choices in the list of providers when you are trying to set up HBO Go through Apple TV.

I tried to explain what's going on with this problem and explained that no other cable company in the country other than Charter seems to have this problem, and she had no clue what I was even talking about.
jlusk99 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 04:32 PM   #21
TsMkLg068426
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlusk99 View Post
I just called Charter to see if I could get a response from a real person, and they are blaming Apple!!! They say they support it, but it's Apple's fault that Charter doesn't come up as one of the available choices in the list of providers when you are trying to set up HBO Go through Apple TV.

I tried to explain what's going on with this problem and explained that no other cable company in the country other than Charter seems to have this problem, and she had no clue what I was even talking about.

Because Charter Communications sucks big dick and I want them out of my city, they like to their customers.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 04:35 PM   #22
brentsg
macrumors 68020
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlusk99 View Post
I just called Charter to see if I could get a response from a real person, and they are blaming Apple!!! They say they support it, but it's Apple's fault that Charter doesn't come up as one of the available choices in the list of providers when you are trying to set up HBO Go through Apple TV.

I tried to explain what's going on with this problem and explained that no other cable company in the country other than Charter seems to have this problem, and she had no clue what I was even talking about.
I started to reply to this a few days ago.

You aren't going to call Charter and get anyone that knows anything about what Apple is doing. At best you're going to get someone reading a script, but that's only for issues that are common enough to get such treatment.

Any communication between Apple and Charter will be at a corporate level and you're going to be visiting with a call center person, most likely at a local level.
brentsg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 04:37 PM   #23
TsMkLg068426
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Charter Communications sucks dick as a cable company, they make you pay $200 for a high speed internet that is not high speed, they block people from getting HBO Go on Apple TV, they make many false promises like TIVO, a new guide update or going all digital and adding more HD. Not only that but I made numerous complains about the internet how around 4:30 pm - 12 am I no longer get 50 Mbps and they send someone over to check and tell me there is nothing wrong and their excuse is TRAFFIC, yeah sure if everyone is connected to my internet because around those times my speed is 2 Mbps and I wonder how that is traffic related and why this is happening in the last 3 months but never before. I wish this cable company would just die off and someone else takes there place in my City and do not bother asking for discounts on your bill they only care for new customers only, they are special.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 06:07 PM   #24
brentsg
macrumors 68020
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I don't see how you could pay $200 for their broadband. My 50Mbit/s service from them is like half that with no bundle.
brentsg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 06:30 PM   #25
TsMkLg068426
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
I don't see how you could pay $200 for their broadband. My 50Mbit/s service from them is like half that with no bundle.
Not just for internet service I get cable to such as HBO, Showtime and etc. I get pretty much everything except the Spanish Tiers, 2 paid Armenian channels and a Philippine language channel. I use to get a discount that just expired and the price is insane now.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC