Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacAttackMark

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 19, 2013
I've had my dell inspiron for a little over 4 years now and had no problems till earlier this month, seems like the screen on my laptop is dying/fading. I hate the new windows 8, and haven't used a mac in a little over 10 years now... so this will be interesting.

I feel that it's a pretty good time for a laptop upgrade. I'm currently a college student, so I'm looking for a nice durable sleek (it was a huge pain luggaging that inspiron from class to class) laptop, with a great battery life. Though, I don't like the flimsy feel on the airs so pro it is.
I've heard great things from friends and other colleagues about MBPs, and I'm looking to buy a 13 inch pro. Although I'm stuck between choosing the older 2012 model or the new retina version.

For the most part, I'll probably be using word/office creating essays, graphs, and power points. I'm also a huge internet surfer so battery life would be essential as I can barely get maybe 2 hours if I'm lucky on my insprion. Along with your usual music/video player.
I'm not a photographer/designer so little to no photo editing.
I didn't plan on doing any spec upgrades for either, but I wouldn't be able to on the retina due to the price (though the hardrive space on the retina disheartening)

I keep switching back and forth, care to share some advice? It will keep me occupied while I hold my breath in hopes for apples B2S sale.

kbt1020

macrumors regular
Feb 15, 2010
I think the MBA is pretty good, but if you can afford it might as well go for a 13" rMBP. Some decent price in the refurb too.

Stetrain

macrumors 68040
Feb 6, 2009
I would recommend either the 13" Air or the 13" retina at this point, unless you really need the built-in DVD drive.