Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2013, 05:19 PM   #1
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Handbrake issue

Ok so I know this really doesn't have to do with the mac pro so much, but I knew that if anyone would know it would be the pro users. I have tons of raw footage I just transferred onto my harddrive for editing in videopad. Now the issue is that I can play the footage in vlc (i'm on a windows workstation) but when I put it into videopad it says its converting it and then it doesn't work. So I downloaded handbrake and the .dv filetype would not translate to .avi and it refused to convert it or even recognize the raw footage


help me please,
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 05:40 PM   #2
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
...I have tons of raw footage I just transferred onto my harddrive for editing in videopad. Now the issue is that I can play the footage in vlc (i'm on a windows workstation) but when I put it into videopad it says its converting it and then it doesn't work. So I downloaded handbrake and the .dv filetype would not translate to .avi and it refused to convert it or even recognize the raw footage
HandBrake has nearly zero options for the import of raw video/MPEG-2/AND_SO_ON. You should use AviSynth (scripts) under Windows. AviSynth supports high quality import, denoise and deinterlace plugins. And .dv files can contain different data:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DV#Variants

Btw, if you are on a Windows workstation, you can use the lossless HuffYUV compressor. This reduces the file size to ≈ 50 percent and allows lossless editing.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 05:43 PM   #3
elvisizer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
what was the material recorded on?
If they're just plain DV files, imovie should import them- have you tried that instead of videopad?
elvisizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 05:50 PM   #4
Lil Chillbil
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
windows machine man, not imovie


problem solved, I called up videopad asked for a refund they said yes. downloaded jashaka which is basicly the opensorce do it all premiere style editor. and it takes raw footage straight up and edits them like a champ. only issue is that it takes up all 16 gigs of ram I have and 100% of my processor and if I am doing 1080p it seems to take up all the gt 640 can offer as well.

so at the end of the day I got a great video editor for free,
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake issue? LevMac Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Sep 10, 2013 03:51 AM
Handbrake Cropping issue - Blu Ray safe? iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Aug 28, 2013 03:00 PM
Handbrake Audio Output Issue kumquat Digital Audio 4 Aug 21, 2013 05:30 PM
Handbrake - Audio Source Issue kumquat Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 17, 2013 03:57 AM
Handbrake issue with images mancuk29 Mac Basics and Help 1 Jul 11, 2013 05:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC