Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 22, 2013, 08:21 AM   #1
musika
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Box of Pixelation in Safari on 2013 MBA

This has happened about 4 times on my 2013 MBA, while browsing in Safari.

Name:  MacBook Air Pixel Issue 062013.png
Views: 2238
Size:  27.4 KB

I'm kind of assuming it's a graphics card issue with the Intel HD Graphics 5000. When I move my cursor over the pixelation, it goes away.

I called Apple, reinstalled Mountain Lion, and it has happened one time since reinstalling. I don't think it's a hardware issue, especially because I was able to take a screenshot of it. Everything else on the computer is working flawlessly.

Seems like it's a firmware issue. I'll be keeping in touch with someone at Apple so that they can hopefully fix it. Has anyone else seen this?
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 08:22 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Yep, that looks like a defective GPU. I'd exchange it or get it repaired
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 08:29 AM   #3
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Yep, that looks like a defective GPU. I'd exchange it or get it repaired
You don't think it's a firmware issue?
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 09:16 AM   #4
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
It's also worth nothing that I'm only seeing it in Safari.
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:04 AM   #5
defomicron
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by musika View Post
It's also worth nothing that I'm only seeing it in Safari.
I'd take it to the Apple Store. They'll have the answers. I'd bet on them giving you a new one.
__________________
I write a website: Defomicron
2013 11-inch MacBook Air (i7/8GB/128GB) with OS X Mavericks
2012 iPhone 5 (Black & Slate/16GB) with iOS 7
2011 Mac mini (i5/8GB/500GB) with OS X Mavericks
defomicron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:04 AM   #6
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by defomicron View Post
I'd take it to the Apple Store. They'll have the answers. I'd bet on them giving you a new one.
I have a build to order model from the online store (i7/8/256). How do they go about replacing that? I have to wait another week now probably.
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:15 AM   #7
sk3tch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by musika View Post
I have a build to order model from the online store (i7/8/256). How do they go about replacing that? I have to wait another week now probably.
Likely. And perhaps they will let you keep your current rig until the new one arrives...so best to just go there and find out.
__________________
2013 MacBook Air 11.6" / 1.7 GHz dual core i7 / 8GB RAM / 512GB SSD
sk3tch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:17 AM   #8
defomicron
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by musika View Post
I have a build to order model from the online store (i7/8/256). How do they go about replacing that? I have to wait another week now probably.
I don't know exactly how the process works, but chances are yes, you'd have to wait another week.

If you have a store close to you I'd at least go and see what they say. Maybe they can tell you that yes, it'll be fixed with a firmware patch. They might have a method for resetting the firmware in a way you can't.

I really don't know, but they will.
__________________
I write a website: Defomicron
2013 11-inch MacBook Air (i7/8GB/128GB) with OS X Mavericks
2012 iPhone 5 (Black & Slate/16GB) with iOS 7
2011 Mac mini (i5/8GB/500GB) with OS X Mavericks
defomicron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:41 AM   #9
fa8362
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'd first check to see if I was running the latest Safari.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 12:22 PM   #10
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by fa8362 View Post
I'd first check to see if I was running the latest Safari.
It's a brand new Air and all software is up to date. I have a feeling it is a firmware issue.
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 12:24 PM   #11
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by musika View Post
You don't think it's a firmware issue?
Firmware does not cause pixelation when using it, like what you have shown.

Defective GPUs can cause this, and so I'd take it back to the apple store and have them look at it/exchange it.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 12:27 PM   #12
enisala
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I have similar issue. Also sometimes there is 0,5 mm stripe on centre of screen...
enisala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 12:59 PM   #13
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
This sucks!
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 01:10 PM   #14
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by musika View Post
It's a brand new Air and all software is up to date. I have a feeling it is a firmware issue.
The firmware handles booting, power management and some port connections, but graphics is almost entirely the domain of the GPU.

By chance is the MBA getting warm when this happens?
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 01:14 PM   #15
kosty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I have the same issue since yesterday.
After waking the Air (2013, 13", 8GB, 256GB) from sleep, almost the entire screen is pixelated, espacially finder. The only thing that always shows without problems is the app switcher (Cmd-Tab).

Sometimes the defect remains after restart, booting in Safemode (shift pressed while booting) and rebooting normally solves the issue.

I installed a Colorprofile from this forum for my LG display and I think the issue started afterwards.

Now after a couple of reboots everything is here except some icons not showing on the menu bar.

I installed Mavericks on another partition and there is no problem there, so I think it's a software issue.
Also taking screenshots if the pixelated Desktop shows the pixel on the image file, so it's not only the screen / graphic card that is affected but the shown image itself...

One more thing to add :
The first time I saw the glitched after waking up from sleep, I couldn't log in to my account (neither a second account, nor the guest one).
After typing the password in and pressing enter, the screen flashed grays and I was at the login screen again. I also noticed, that the color of the screen turned more blue, so I guessed that the color profile I downloaded was the problem. I rebooted in safe mode and set the color profile to the standard one and I was able to boot again.

I will try to reinstall mountain lion again and see if this solves the issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-06-22 at 16.13.23.png
Views:	43
Size:	410.4 KB
ID:	419142   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-06-22 at 20.03.44.png
Views:	23
Size:	12.5 KB
ID:	419143   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	121.2 KB
ID:	419144  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	135.5 KB
ID:	419145  
kosty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 01:19 PM   #16
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
That looks pretty bad!

This could possibly be a software problem. HD5000 graphics are new, and no doubt some patched drivers were added to the MBA's installations of 10.8.4 to make it work. We'd probably have to wait for 10.8.5 or 10.9 to come out of beta to know for sure.

Or... it could be bad GPUs.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 02:29 PM   #17
Woyzeck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
My new MBA has the same issue. Probably a driver error. Don't worry, will be fixed soon.
Woyzeck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 02:31 PM   #18
abz1981
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Just take it back and get it replaced and problem solved.
__________________
13.3" Macbook Air 2011, 1.7GHz, 4 GB RAM, 128GB flash storage; Apple Iphone 5 16GIG Black.
abz1981 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 02:40 PM   #19
kosty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by abz1981 View Post
Just take it back and get it replaced and problem solved.
I live in a country without official Apple retail store (only resellers), so I wouldn't get a replacement for one that I ordered online. I would have to ship it back to apple and it will take approx. one week to get the replacement.

If it's a software issue, I would have the same problem with the new one.
I'm reinstalling 10.8.4 combo as we speak.

edit : 10.8.4 combo can't be installed. It seems that the preinstalled version of 10.8.4 is build 12E3067, whereas the downloadable combo installer is build 12E55.
Will try with 10.8.5 beta now.
kosty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 02:44 PM   #20
abz1981
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kosty View Post
I live in a country without official Apple retail store (only resellers), so I wouldn't get a replacement for one that I ordered online. I would have to ship it back to apple and it will take approx. one week to get the replacement.

If it's a software issue, I would have the same problem with the new one.
I'm reinstalling 10.8.4 combo as we speak.
Oh okay that sucks dude
Hope the re-install will fix it.
__________________
13.3" Macbook Air 2011, 1.7GHz, 4 GB RAM, 128GB flash storage; Apple Iphone 5 16GIG Black.
abz1981 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 03:08 PM   #21
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaredpoet View Post
The firmware handles booting, power management and some port connections, but graphics is almost entirely the domain of the GPU.

By chance is the MBA getting warm when this happens?
Not at all.
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 03:19 PM   #22
musika
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
musika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woyzeck View Post
My new MBA has the same issue. Probably a driver error. Don't worry, will be fixed soon.
Good to know that others are having the issue and that it's not just me. You really seem sure that it's a software issue. How do you figure?
__________________
I write about lots of things at turtlepie.net.
musika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 04:30 PM   #23
enisala
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I did the same problem. I did reset smc and pram yesterday and so far I haven't had the issue. I don't know if resetting pram and smc could help
enisala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 04:38 PM   #24
kosty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by enisala View Post
I did the same problem. I did reset smc and pram yesterday and so far I haven't had the issue. I don't know if resetting pram and smc could help
Did PRAM reset twice yesterday without any changes.
SMC reset today lead to faster bootup but graphic glitches still remain.

edit : I just reinstalled 10.8.4 via Rescue Partition over the current install. So far the glitches are gone.

Last edited by kosty; Jun 22, 2013 at 05:38 PM.
kosty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 07:28 PM   #25
dlbmacfan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I've been having the same problem with the Growl icon in my menu bar. I'm also having a major issue when I zoom in on an image in CS6; the whole screen goes haywire!
dlbmacfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat - 2010 MBP vs. 2013 MBA vs. 2013 rMBP chorion MacBook Pro 8 Feb 24, 2014 06:12 AM
Do the 2013 MBA and Late 2013 rMBP 13 share the same SSD? SSD-GUY MacBook Pro 16 Jan 20, 2014 03:31 PM
2013 MBA Ultimate vs 2013 15" rMBP Base PoppaKap MacBook Pro 10 Oct 25, 2013 01:10 AM
2013 13" MBA $800 open box. Good deal? wmitch Buying Tips and Advice 5 Oct 23, 2013 03:09 PM
Open box, 2013 MBA. What should we look/test for? ritmomundo MacBook Air 9 Aug 19, 2013 11:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC