Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2013, 10:27 AM   #1
Nanasaki
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Where is the APN setting in iOS 7?

In iOS 6, you can see the APN setting under cellular data. But I couldn't find any in iOS 7. Also tried to use iPhone configuration utility to set APN, but apparently it doesn't work under iOS 7 (I am sure the setting is right, because when it worked after I reverted back to iOS 6). Any suggestion? I am kind worried it will never worked out even iOS 7 reach to final stage. I do need my 3G connections on my iPad Mini (yeah, I know, I am using Petro Canada Unlimited Web Browsing 3G connection).
__________________
MacBook Air 2012, Mac Mini 2011, iPad Mini 1&2, iPad 4, Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Moto G
Nanasaki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 02:05 PM   #2
htep
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Hello,

I'm interesting in too. I update to IOS7 and I'm unable to use the Iphone utility configuration to push an APN configuration.

Waiting for an update of IUC...
htep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 02:29 PM   #3
5t3f4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanasaki View Post
In iOS 6, you can see the APN setting under cellular data. But I couldn't find any in iOS 7. Also tried to use iPhone configuration utility to set APN, but apparently it doesn't work under iOS 7 (I am sure the setting is right, because when it worked after I reverted back to iOS 6). Any suggestion? I am kind worried it will never worked out even iOS 7 reach to final stage. I do need my 3G connections on my iPad Mini (yeah, I know, I am using Petro Canada Unlimited Web Browsing 3G connection).
Settings -> Cellular -> Mobile Data Network

It's under the Data-roaming toggle for me.
5t3f4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 08:45 PM   #4
Nanasaki
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5t3f4n View Post
Settings -> Cellular -> Mobile Data Network

It's under the Data-roaming toggle for me.
Since I can't figure out, i reverted back to iOS 6 again. But still, thank you for your reply.
__________________
MacBook Air 2012, Mac Mini 2011, iPad Mini 1&2, iPad 4, Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Moto G
Nanasaki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 12:38 PM   #5
htep
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5t3f4n View Post
Settings -> Cellular -> Mobile Data Network

It's under the Data-roaming toggle for me.
Yes but you can't edit the APN.
It's seems that Iphone configuration utility is not ready for IOS 7 Beta.
htep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:16 PM   #6
5t3f4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by htep View Post
Yes but you can't edit the APN.
It's seems that Iphone configuration utility is not ready for IOS 7 Beta.
I'm sorry I thought he meant from within iOS.
5t3f4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:23 PM   #7
SimonasLT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I can change APN just like in iOS6. iOS 7 Beta 2 iPhone 5 (w/o UDID) here.
SimonasLT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:28 PM   #8
fedecape
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Miami, FL
how about a profile? unlockit.co.nz ?
fedecape is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 10:00 PM   #9
nalk7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedecape View Post
how about a profile? unlockit.co.nz ?
^
This! This is how I set up my APN settings after a clean install
nalk7 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 03:29 AM   #10
htep
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nalk7 View Post
^
This! This is how I set up my APN settings after a clean install
How do you create your own profil with unlockit.co.nz. I have to add a proxy to the defaut Orange APN enable in unlockit.co.nz

Maybe do I have to use a user agent on firefox and edit the .mobileconf

Thanks
htep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 12:17 PM   #11
BadaBing!!
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Aside of loading a profile from a file, any way to do it manually ?

Can't find it anywhere (iOS 7 beta 3)
__________________
2011 MacBook Air 13", 1.7Ghz, 256Gb | iPhone 5 32Gb black | 16Gb retina IPad Mini
Visit about.me/maxaudet
BadaBing!! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 02:42 PM   #12
htep
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Just edit the mobileconf file as you wish (or use apple configurator kit) and then upload it on a personal web site (or upload it directly With apple configurator).

Save the address URL and browse it with safari on your iPhone... And install.

Can't try to put a proxy, I downgrade to 6.4
htep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2013, 12:50 AM   #13
Ualanih
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanasaki View Post
Since I can't figure out, i reverted back to iOS 6 again. But still, thank you for your reply.
Hi how can I go back to iOS 6 I updated to the iOS 7 but don't like it please help
Ualanih is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2013, 12:52 AM   #14
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ualanih View Post
Hi how can I go back to iOS 6 I updated to the iOS 7 but don't like it please help
Apple has stopped "signing" iOS 6, and so far nobody has managed to reverse-engineer the signing process. This means that unfortunately there is currently no way to revert to iOS 6.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2013, 03:48 PM   #15
fardeenah
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
APN is found in settings>general> and its below itunes wifi-sync.

i used http://www.unlockit.co.nz/mobilesettings/ to create an APN settings for me

use safari and download your configuration there
fardeenah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2013, 04:32 PM   #16
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanasaki View Post
In iOS 6, you can see the APN setting under cellular data. But I couldn't find any in iOS 7. Also tried to use iPhone configuration utility to set APN, but apparently it doesn't work under iOS 7 (I am sure the setting is right, because when it worked after I reverted back to iOS 6). Any suggestion? I am kind worried it will never worked out even iOS 7 reach to final stage. I do need my 3G connections on my iPad Mini (yeah, I know, I am using Petro Canada Unlimited Web Browsing 3G connection).
On my iPhone it is under Settings, Mobile, Mobile Data Network
__________________
W2P KLD talking...what's your handle, WR2 GFO?
Defender2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2013, 08:39 PM   #17
Niq
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Hi

I just got a petro canada SIM card and I got the unlimited data but it's not working I don't know why. They sent me to this site witch reads as fallows ----

I have a new Petro-Canada SIM card, and have added the Unlimited Browsing but it still doesn't work.
It is possible that your handset does not detect the correct settings to access our browser. Also, there are some handsets that do not work with our browser. Refer to the settings for the APN:

Homepage http://wap:8582/start.wml
Connection security: Off
Active Bearer: GPRS
Connection type: GPRS Attach on Demand
Authentication Type: Normal
Access Point Name: goam.com
User Name: wapuser1
Password: wap
Login Type: Automatic
Primary Proxy Server Setting 10.128.1.69
Primary Proxy Server Port: 80

Please note that if you are using an unsupported handset, our Customer Service group will not be able to troubleshoot your issue. If you are still having trouble, contact your handset manufacturer.------

But I don't understand a thing that's written here I'm no teck so I need help I heard that some people with iPhone 5 were able to get it working so I also want to know please advise and if you do make it simple please thanks
Niq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2013, 08:45 PM   #18
Nanasaki
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niq View Post
Hi

I just got a petro canada SIM card and I got the unlimited data but it's not working I don't know why. They sent me to this site witch reads as fallows ----

I have a new Petro-Canada SIM card, and have added the Unlimited Browsing but it still doesn't work.
It is possible that your handset does not detect the correct settings to access our browser. Also, there are some handsets that do not work with our browser. Refer to the settings for the APN:

Homepage http://wap:8582/start.wml
Connection security: Off
Active Bearer: GPRS
Connection type: GPRS Attach on Demand
Authentication Type: Normal
Access Point Name: goam.com
User Name: wapuser1
Password: wap
Login Type: Automatic
Primary Proxy Server Setting 10.128.1.69
Primary Proxy Server Port: 80

Please note that if you are using an unsupported handset, our Customer Service group will not be able to troubleshoot your issue. If you are still having trouble, contact your handset manufacturer.------

But I don't understand a thing that's written here I'm no teck so I need help I heard that some people with iPhone 5 were able to get it working so I also want to know please advise and if you do make it simple please thanks
I get Perto Canada working with my iPad Mini... But it shown as Rogers for some reason...

You can go to the website people mentioned here...
__________________
MacBook Air 2012, Mac Mini 2011, iPad Mini 1&2, iPad 4, Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Moto G
Nanasaki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2014, 01:19 AM   #19
arnabsen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Speakout Wireless

Hi, this also did the trick for Speakout Wireless 7-11 in Canada on my iPhone 4 with iOS 7.1
arnabsen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After updating to iOS 7 APN settings will not save sordan iOS 7 25 Oct 30, 2013 11:55 PM
iPhone 4 iOS 7 Straight Talk Apn Karicoco iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Oct 27, 2013 11:32 PM
iOS 7 Internet issue - keeps forgetting APN settings Jahin14 iOS 7 2 Sep 23, 2013 11:23 AM
iOS 7 & APN settings question MDTyKe iOS 7 1 Sep 10, 2013 04:40 PM
APN setting for Skyrocket and Straight Talk stroked Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Apr 9, 2013 06:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC