Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:12 AM   #1
sparkskraps
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I have a 2009 Mac Pro with no wireless capability

Hi

I have been given a 2009 Mac Pro with no wireless capability.

I have a Virgin Media broadband wireless router.

Is it possible to get this router to connect to my Mac wirelessly (without buying an internal card)?
sparkskraps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 06:17 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
If the Mac Pro has not wireless abilities and you do not want an internal card and you do want a wireless connection, you then need a wireless adapter with a USB interface like this.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 07:39 AM   #3
mooblie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Or something like this:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Edimax-EW-74.../dp/B001HW0JVU
...set up in "AP Client Mode", where it picks up your WiFi signal and is connected to your Mac Pro with a short RJ45 patch lead.



That device will add WiFi capability to ANY wired-Ethernet-capable device, without needing a WiFi dongle and drivers, etc., and the problems that can bring (e.g. also for Smart TVs, etc.)
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD now on Blu-ray

Last edited by mooblie; Jun 27, 2013 at 07:53 AM.
mooblie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 10:58 AM   #4
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooblie View Post
Or something like this:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Edimax-EW-74.../dp/B001HW0JVU
...set up in "AP Client Mode", where it picks up your WiFi signal and is connected to your Mac Pro with a short RJ45 patch lead.

Image

That device will add WiFi capability to ANY wired-Ethernet-capable device, without needing a WiFi dongle and drivers, etc., and the problems that can bring (e.g. also for Smart TVs, etc.)
Thats called a wireless bridge.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 11:31 AM   #5
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
installing the internal card takes about 2 minutes and is the most elegant solution. Why dont you want this?
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 01:16 PM   #6
rk25123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
installing the internal card takes about 2 minutes and is the most elegant solution. Why dont you want this?
On top of that you get Airdrop!
rk25123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 04:42 AM   #7
sparkskraps
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thanks the for replies everyone!

I had looked into the internal card a little bit, and read some reports saying that the connection can drop out every now and then, and as the computer will be situated in a room fairly far away from the router I thought external might be the best option?
sparkskraps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 05:22 PM   #8
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkskraps View Post
Thanks the for replies everyone!

I had looked into the internal card a little bit, and read some reports saying that the connection can drop out every now and then, and as the computer will be situated in a room fairly far away from the router I thought external might be the best option?
Never ever had mine drop out in over 3 years. And I am constantly moving files and loading files, so I would notice.
With an external one you really dont know what quality stuff you are getting it could have some cheap internals, with less range stability etc. Who knows.

Could I suggest an Airport express for Wifi range extension?
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985

Last edited by The-Pro; Jul 1, 2013 at 06:04 PM.
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 05:26 PM   #9
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
Could I suggest an Airport express for Wifi range extension?
Um, you kind of just did.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 06:04 PM   #10
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Um, you kind of just did.
That was the point my friend
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping Mac Pro 2010 CPU board to Mac Pro 2009 Spacedust Mac Pro 3 May 31, 2014 03:24 PM
Wireless on 2009 Mac Pro Tower wmcy Mac Pro 11 May 16, 2014 01:54 PM
Mac pro 2010 logic board in 2009 Mac Pro ljubonni Mac Pro 1 Mar 28, 2014 04:09 AM
Mac Pro 2009 early 2009 vs 2010 vs new ivybridge quad core i7 Aleymeow Mac Pro 8 Sep 21, 2012 04:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC