Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 28, 2013, 05:29 PM   #1
dandeco
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Remove tape from non-functioning MiniDV camcorder

I really need help with something. My Canon Optura 50 MiniDV camcorder was working really well until this afternoon when I was shooting a home movie when the LCD screen suddenly dimmed and then it powered off. Now it doesn't do anything at all; I can't turn it on, I can't charge the battery (it was fully charged when this happened), and I can't eject the tape. I tried the "reset" feature and it didn't help.

Does anybody have any idea on how I could at least remove the tape if the camcorder can't be repaired? (i.e. taking it apart or something) It has vital footage on it that cannot be reshot...
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 06:05 PM   #2
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Connect camcorder into mains and see if you get any power. Do you have a spare battery?
When you charged your battery before did you wait until there was no charge. Or did you charged your battery half way through?
You should be able to use your camcorder on mains power. If not check your fuse on your socket.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 06:13 PM   #3
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by daybreak View Post
Connect camcorder into mains and see if you get any power. Do you have a spare battery?
When you charged your battery before did you wait until there was no charge. Or did you charged your battery half way through?
You should be able to use your camcorder on mains power. If not check your fuse on your socket.
I did not get any power from the mains. I tried it on various outlets.
I let the battery charge when it was half-drained up to full. But I doubt it's a problem with the battery...
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2013, 06:43 AM   #4
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
So if you connect any power source to your camcorder there is no power on your camcorder.?
Go on web page of your camcorder manufacture and see if they have a trouble section.
A camcorder dont die for no reason. We did the other night have a power surge.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 02:25 PM   #5
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
UPDATE: Now sometimes when I attempt to power it on, the light briefly blinks and the camcorder beeps but then stops. I wonder what is going on with it now...
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 03:41 PM   #6
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Check your wiring on your plug also check for any loose connection. It sounds if you have a fault with your wire or connection. Camcorder seems fine from what you say.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 02:02 AM   #7
rockbestit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
A camcorder dont die for no reason. We did the other night have a power surge.[img]***********************[/img]
rockbestit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 06:30 AM   #8
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Dandeco, have you opened your plug and see if all the wiring is connected?. If you are getting some sort of power something is loose with your connections.
Why not get your camcorder checked out?
Once you got your tape out and it is greased up I know a way of clearing it.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2013, 06:26 PM   #9
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Quote:
A camcorder dont die for no reason.
True, they die for a reason. Usually because something inside has failed. I had the same problem as the OP. Working one day, not the next. No power light, either on battery or mains.

It was still under guarantee, so I got a replacement. Luckily there was only about 10 minutes or so of video on the tape. Meant that I couldn't use it for the rest of my holiday in the Rockies though.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.9.2
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2013, 09:44 AM   #10
nep61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Braine View Post
True, they die for a reason. Usually because something inside has failed. I had the same problem as the OP. Working one day, not the next. No power light, either on battery or mains.

It was still under guarantee, so I got a replacement. Luckily there was only about 10 minutes or so of video on the tape. Meant that I couldn't use it for the rest of my holiday in the Rockies though.
If that tape had 10 min of VITAL footage that couldn't be re-shot... and you're going on Vacation.... I'd use a NEW tape.... Tapes are cheap, Footage and Cameras are not.

Not sure why-- even with a replacement camera --- you'd keep that tape in there and continue to use?? Just curious
nep61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2013, 04:56 PM   #11
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Was on holiday when the camcorder failed so spent the rest of the time without a camcorder. I had to send the camcorder away to get the new unit when I got home. The tape didn't come back.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.9.2
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Search within Messages not functioning/functioning poorly Kstea1 iOS 7 0 Oct 2, 2013 01:10 AM
Help importing miniDV tapes please bexetc Digital Video 6 May 15, 2013 04:22 PM
iPad Mini: Does scotch tape remove olephobic coating? applefanboy5 iPad 8 Nov 2, 2012 02:51 PM
FCE and miniDV Goofy Yno Digital Video 12 Jul 18, 2012 11:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC