Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Old Nov 8, 2005, 02:43 PM   #1
mbopy22
macrumors 6502

IBOOK sync with NOKIA cell question

Hello I’m new in the MAC world and I just LOVE IT.

I bought a brand new Ibook G4 12” a week ago and I love it.

I’ve been having problems to sync it with my NOKIA 6620 through Bluetooth. My cell phone company supports wide band internet through this cell phone so technically I should be able to connect my computer to the internet with my cell.
Could any of you please tell me how to configure either the cell phone or the computer.

Thanks.

“in a world full of doors… who need windows or gates…?”
mbopy22 is offline   0
Old Nov 8, 2005, 03:38 PM   #2
Danksi
macrumors 68000

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbopy22
I’ve been having problems to sync it with my NOKIA 6620 through Bluetooth. My cell phone company supports wide band internet through this cell phone so technically I should be able to connect my computer to the internet with my cell.
Could any of you please tell me how to configure either the cell phone or the computer.

Thanks.
I could tell you how to do this on a PC, as I have used a Nokia 6600 as a bluetooth modem before. I suspect it's similar with a Mac.

You will need to set up the 6620 as a Modem. There should be an 'add Modem' option in the System Preferences menu? Start there and follow the instructions. Hopefully that'll get you going.

I'm sure someone else will chip in sooner or later.
Old Nov 9, 2005, 04:36 AM   #3
mbopy22
macrumors 6502

I've done that... and it doesn't work...
mbopy22 is offline   0
Old Nov 9, 2005, 09:26 AM   #4
Danksi
macrumors 68000

I've taken a look at the 6600 I have sync'd with my iMac at home.

If you already have the 6620 syncing (calendar/address book) then:

System Preferences>Bluetooth>Sharing tab>Add new serial port Service (select modem instead of RS232)