Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 30, 2013, 01:12 PM   #1
Ollifi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
4GB or 8GB of RAM memory

I consider the newest MBA 13", 128GB

My usage:
- Website development (FileZilla, text editor)
- Word, Excel, PowerPoint
- website browsing
- Spotify, YouTube (1080p?), internet radio
- Skype
- Facetime

I consider of 4GB RAM Memory. Is that enough for doing several of tasks above simultaneously? Thanks for helping, this would be my first MBA.
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 01:52 PM   #2
Saberon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
8GB for sure. Especially if you plan to keep it a few years. It's only $100 and you get good bang for your buck with it
Saberon is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 01:55 PM   #3
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Ok, but when you think I would need it?
Ollifi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 02:10 PM   #4
TC25
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollifi View Post
Ok, but when you think I would need it?
At purchase time.
TC25 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 02:45 PM   #5
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
But I mean, when would I benefit from the extra 4GB ? I think I maybe should first try with 4GB,and if it seems to be too low, then return and buy another (30 days return guarantee)
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 03:00 PM   #6
enisala
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I am similar user to you. I have 4 gb on new MBA and yes I have some page outs but I cant see any lags or something like that. On Mavericks maybe I won't have any page outs
enisala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 03:05 PM   #7
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Ok, thanks for your comments. Currently I'm on Win8 and I have 2 GB of 4 GB in use (Chrome, Spotify, Skype, Filezilla, Dropbox etc.) So will Mac use more memory than Windows?
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 04:40 PM   #8
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by enisala View Post
I am similar user to you. I have 4 gb on new MBA and yes I have some page outs but I cant see any lags or something like that. On Mavericks maybe I won't have any page outs
You're having page outs on a new 2013 MBA? What exactly are you running?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollifi View Post
Ok, thanks for your comments. Currently I'm on Win8 and I have 2 GB of 4 GB in use (Chrome, Spotify, Skype, Filezilla, Dropbox etc.) So will Mac use more memory than Windows?
I don't think Mac uses as much as windows.
__________________
Computer: Late 2009 Mac Mini
Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: iPhone 6 Plus (AT&T)
Phone: OnePlus One (AT&T) ROM: Mahdi
HiDEF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 04:45 PM   #9
mkeisu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
It doesn't sound like you need more memory than 4GB if a text editor is all your using for development. But if you are using a fully fledged IDE, you might want to upgrade. Other applications sound pretty lightweight.
mkeisu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 04:50 PM   #10
mj1108
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Reasons to upgrade to 8GB:

* You plan on keeping this laptop for a few years.
* You can't upgrade it later.
mj1108 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 04:53 PM   #11
maxosx
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
This topic had been argued ad nausea. Apple like most other companies is notoriously cheap when it comes to the amount of ram they equip their computers with. Signal the Apple faithful and they'll provide one zillion and two reasons why only a minuscule amount of ram is needed in a Mac.

Yet the bottom line truth never changes. If you plan on _using_your Mac for all that you think you will, it's likely that once you take delivery and experience how nice it is, you'll likely be using it for more than you anticipated.

Buy the most ram you can afford. You'll be glad you did. In addition by the time you're ready to sell it, suddenly that won't seem like an excessive amount compared to new machines of the moment.
maxosx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2013, 05:59 PM   #12
enisala
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
You're having page outs on a new 2013 MBA? What exactly are you running?

----------



I don't think Mac uses as much as windows.
Safari, mail, messages, iTunes, reeder sometimes iPhoto, 1password, dropbox, istat menu, flux, dropbox, activity monitor, libre office (rarely)
Of course I use one app at once. Reeder and safari are often full-screened.
Imho the most problematic is safari but i hate chrome
enisala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 01:52 AM   #13
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
If I plug external display (21") to MBA via HDMI, will it use more RAM?
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:39 AM   #14
iphonesrq
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollifi View Post
If I plug external display (21") to MBA via HDMI, will it use more RAM?
there is no HDMI port on the new MBA
__________________
13" 2.53 GHz uMBP, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD ; 8GB iPhone 3G
iphonesrq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 03:51 AM   #15
Isamilis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Just to share. I have 8gb in my MBA 13" 2012. And most of the time, the free memory was for my virtual disk. I am light user of safari, office and video player.
4gb could be less important especially small difference in performance when system swap to ssd storage.
Isamilis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 04:01 AM   #16
APlotdevice
macrumors 68020
 
APlotdevice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphonesrq View Post
there is no HDMI port on the new MBA
You could however use a mini-DP to HDMI adapter.
__________________
There is something deeply wrong with a society more offended by breasts than by entrails.
Pebble SmartWatch | iPhone 5c | 11" Macbook Air '13 | HTPC | TV | Numerous Old Consoles
APlotdevice is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 04:09 AM   #17
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by APlotdevice View Post
You could however use a mini-DP to HDMI adapter.
Yes, that is what I mean. If I connect my screen via adapter to my Macbook air, will it consume more RAM than just MBA's own screen?
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:04 AM   #18
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollifi View Post
Yes, that is what I mean. If I connect my screen via adapter to my Macbook air, will it consume more RAM than just MBA's own screen?
I don't think its the RAM, I believe it's the Air's video memory.

I was taking a look at the BookArc, and they claim this:

Quote:
Thereís one additional benefit of using your MacBook Air closed in a BookArc vs using it in dual-screen mode with an external monitor. It actually speeds up your MacBook Air! Dedicating 100% of your MacBook Airís video memory to the external monitor decreases redraw time in everything from iPhoto to Photoshop.
Can anyone confirm this?
__________________
Computer: Late 2009 Mac Mini
Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: iPhone 6 Plus (AT&T)
Phone: OnePlus One (AT&T) ROM: Mahdi
HiDEF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:43 AM   #19
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Thanks.But, you can close Air's cover without BookArc, too So BookArc actually does not speed up Air.
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:47 AM   #20
HiDEF
macrumors 6502a
 
HiDEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollifi View Post
Thanks.But, you can close Air's cover without BookArc, too So BookArc actually does not speed up Air.
I get that--should have explained myself a bit more..

My point was, if you connect a ext monitor and have the MBA in Closed Clamshell Mode, it shouldn't use the MBA virtual memory--according to their site.

I also understand that wasn't your original question but I thought I'd share what I read.
__________________
Computer: Late 2009 Mac Mini
Tablet: iPad Mini Retina
Phone: iPhone 6 Plus (AT&T)
Phone: OnePlus One (AT&T) ROM: Mahdi
HiDEF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:51 AM   #21
wermy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiDEF View Post
I don't think its the RAM, I believe it's the Air's video memory.

I was taking a look at the BookArc, and they claim this:



Can anyone confirm this?
Isn't the video memory shared with the RAM for the integrated graphics?
Also if you have the laptop closed while driving an external monitor, it makes sense that it would be faster - it's driving far fewer pixels in that scenario.
wermy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2013, 09:53 AM   #22
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Ok, I'll understand.
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 03:00 AM   #23
Jedi Master
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: ar the moment on the Death Star
You need it now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollifi View Post
I consider the newest MBA 13", 128GB

My usage:
- Website development (FileZilla, text editor)
- Word, Excel, PowerPoint
- website browsing
- Spotify, YouTube (1080p?), internet radio
- Skype
- Facetime

I consider of 4GB RAM Memory. Is that enough for doing several of tasks above simultaneously? Thanks for helping, this would be my first MBA.
If you do all the above tasks at the same time, also how many browsers tabs open and which browser do you use. You can't add the memory later.

Besides if if need the ask, you need the 8GB
Jedi Master is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 11:26 AM   #24
Ollifi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I usually don't do all those tasks at the time. I usually have ~5 browser tabs open (Chrome), Spotify, Skype, and Filezilla. And currently memory usage:2,3Gb/4Gb, on Win8 64-bit. So what you think, if the memory is enough now, would it be enoguh with MBA? Does laptop consume more memory than normal computer? I actually don't have much experience on laptops, I'm sorry for that.
Ollifi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 11:33 AM   #25
Saberon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
A laptop doesn't use more or less memory than a desktop


I build and fix computers for a living. Ill just be blunt. Getting 4GB on a notebook in 2013 is shooting yourself in the foot. Even if you "might only be using 2.5-3GB" now, why cut it so close? The more memory the better. Memory requirements for operating systems and programs are only going to be growing. Don't sell yourself short with 4GB, give yourself a bit of breathing room. The difference is only $100, what a small price to pay for peace of mind if anything. Nobody wants to see page outs when you've spent over $1000, I'm actually quite saddened to see 4GB as stock for that price.
Saberon is offline   3 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade RAM: Two, 2GB memory cards or will one 4GB memory card work? cmhall9 MacBook Pro 10 Nov 4, 2014 07:54 AM
Can you combine two 4GB memory with two 8GB? td2243 Mac Pro 1 Jan 4, 2014 09:04 PM
rMBP 13" (late 2013) 4GB RAM vs 8GB RAM Thomasasz MacBook Pro 9 Nov 10, 2013 06:38 PM
Got 8GB Memory but only shows 4GB drfunk1986 Mac mini 6 Aug 6, 2012 08:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC