Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mbcollins93

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 22, 2008
Six years ago, I bought my first mac. My late-2008 macbook pro truly opened my eyes to how much better macs are to PCs. It really has been a perfect experience. I have milked all the life out of my late-2008 that I can get. It now has a broken screen, a battery that has ballooned to the point that it has bent the battery cover, and a dead wireless card. I have been avoiding it, but I believe it is time to upgrade.

Currently, I am a college student at a technical college. This fall semester will be my last at the college I currently attend before I transfer to a university. Out of the five semesters that I have attended, I have only taken my macbook pro to one lecture, but I have a feeling that I will need a laptop for lectures in the future. The reason I only took it to one lecture is due to the fact that the macbook pro is on the heavy side. While it is not extremely heavy, (combined with three or four really large textbooks or binders) I tended to leave it behind. I need portability, for I really hate typing long essays in a desk chair. Even if I never use my new computer(s) for lectures, I never want to be confined to a desk. I also need hard drive space for music, movies, photos, and larger programs like photoshop. I am not a professional by any means, but I like to have the ability to do photo editing and video editing when I need to. I do not play games, so I do not need it for gaming.

Where My Decision Lies