Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stryker412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2012
Hello all, I have a bunch of emacs and old iMacs that I need to securely wipe before sending out to recycling. I'm new to the Mac environment and quickly discovered I could not boot to USB after I created a DBAN disk. All of the emacs do not have an optical drive to use a Tiger/Leopard disc from either. Can anyone recommend a quick way to securely wipe these computers without taking the HDDs out?

Last edited:

Nameci

macrumors 68000
Oct 29, 2010
The Philippines...
Hello all, I have a bunch of emacs and old iMacs that I need to securely wipe before sending out to recycling. I'm new to the Mac environment and quickly discovered I could not boot to USB after I created a DBAN disk. All of the emacs do not have an optical drive to use a Tiger/Leopard disc from either. Can anyone recommend a quick way to securely wipe these computers without taking the HDDs out?

Target Disk Mode.

Stryker412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2012
I was able to find a firewire external HDD! Can anyone give some directions now on how I can create a bootable (I'm guessing) Leopard install so that I can use the disk utility to wipe these machines?

edit: Nevermind I completely misunderstood the first time what you were trying to tell me. I got it now, and am currently wiping the first computer. However, I would love to hear ideas on how to wipe more at one time if you have any. We have about 30 machines that need to be wiped so doing one at a time via Firewire will take a weeks.

Last edited:

chibiterasu

macrumors 6502
Apr 5, 2012
London, The United Kingdom