Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 3, 2013, 02:08 PM   #1
deviance
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Triple Screen with MBA?

hey all,

I used to have a triple head 2 go for work, but no longer have access to one.
I'm tempted to get three external monitors given current prices - but wanted to know what the most cost effective solution would be to run three from a 2013 MBA?

I've read some reviews on USB > DVI converters, but would a MBA run them three of them effectively from a splitter? I'm guessing not ...

Just FYI - it's not for super high res gaming or anything ...
__________________
2013 13" MBA i7, 8GB, 256GB
2009 15" MBP 2.66GHZ, 8GB + 256MB 9600M, (Samsung 840 250GB SSD + 1TB Optibay Drive)
deviance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 03:59 PM   #2
mattferg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by deviance View Post
hey all,

I used to have a triple head 2 go for work, but no longer have access to one.
I'm tempted to get three external monitors given current prices - but wanted to know what the most cost effective solution would be to run three from a 2013 MBA?

I've read some reviews on USB > DVI converters, but would a MBA run them three of them effectively from a splitter? I'm guessing not ...

Just FYI - it's not for super high res gaming or anything ...
If you're buying monitors, get thunderbolt ones you can daisy chain and run all off one thunderbolt port on the MBA. I think you can do that, anyways.
mattferg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 06:30 PM   #3
w00tini
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I am also looking for confirmation that two TB displays can be daisy chained to the MBA. Anyone?
w00tini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 06:47 PM   #4
w00tini
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
confirmed: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219#dispnum
w00tini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 05:58 PM   #5
iterva
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sweden
I was intrested in this setup myself, and after some searching my understanding is that to be able to run 3 displays with MBA you would need to use (due to limitations on the thunderbolt chipset used in MBA):
2 displays with thunderbolt daisy chain
1 display through a USB to HDMI/DVI adapter
__________________
2013 MBA 13" (i7/8/256), iPhone 5 16GB, iPad Mini 32GB, iPad rMini 32GB, aTV 3d gen
iterva is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC