Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 5, 2013, 01:00 AM   #1
rrmoore73
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Help! Apple TV performance issues

I'm not tech savvy and I am lost when it comes to my AppleTv.
A) when I stream Pandora from my iPhone or iPad through my Apple TV, it pauses randomly.
B) as I'm currently watching a show through Netflix, the show is is pixelated and buffers at times
C) if I download a movie from iTunes it literally takes 23 hours to download, which is comical because I have 24 hours to watch it.

I have the most recent Atv and even returned my prior one, assuming was wrong with it and causing these problems. Then I assumed it was my wifi (I have Verizon fits), so I upgraded to a 'faster package'.
Then today. When I simply tried to stream a song I have ON my iPhone through the Atv, it even randomly played the music.
Please help. What is the problem?
My Atv, my router, my wifi?
Thanks in advance.
rrmoore73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 01:22 AM   #2
Che Castro
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2009
Run a speed test on speedtest.net and post the results here

http://www.speedtest.net/
Che Castro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 01:47 AM   #3
rrmoore73
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Done

Ping 14ms
Download 27mbps
Upload 23.8 Mbps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Che Castro View Post
Run a speed test on speedtest.net and post the results here

http://www.speedtest.net/
rrmoore73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 03:13 AM   #4
bucksaddle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmoore73 View Post
Then I assumed it was my wifi (I have Verizon fits), so I upgraded to a 'faster package'.
Upgrading to a "faster package" from Verizon will have no affect on your Wi-Fi speeds and from what you have posted it does sound like your Wi-Fi is an issue. Can you plug the Apple TV directly into your router with an Ethernet cable - this would be the first troubleshooting test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmoore73 View Post
if I download a movie from iTunes it literally takes 23 hours to download, which is comical because I have 24 hours to watch it.
You have 30 days to watch the movie until you hit play - once you have done that then you have 24 hours to finish watching it.
bucksaddle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 07:04 AM   #5
Julien
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmoore73 View Post
...My Atv, my router, my wifi?
Thanks in advance.
Is your ATV connected by WiFi and if so is it in (or surrounded by) a metal case or rack?

Also haw far and how many/type walls separates the ATV from your WiFi router and is your WiFi router an n?
Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 09:37 AM   #6
phr0ze
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Columbia, MD
Wifi issues for sure. I hard wire all my streaming boxes.
__________________
2012 11" MBA i7/8/256
2011 Mac Mini
Black iPad Air 64GB Verizon
Black iPhone 5S 32GB ATT
phr0ze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 12:10 PM   #7
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
You can try changing the channel your router operates on for Wi-Fi to help avoid interference.

Is the router adequately cooled? Don't box it in and stack other electronics on it which will cause a dramatic heat increase and adversely affect performance.

Lastly, if you can, try and connect the ATV to your router with a hardwire connection, Ethernet, and see what you get in performance.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 01:32 PM   #8
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
You can try changing the channel your router operates on for Wi-Fi to help avoid interference.
I'll second that. I was getting interruption when airplaying iTunes music to my Airport Express (which was using wifi for communication with the AEBS). I went through every wifi channel, recording the S/N, which I have to say varied only slightly. Chose the lowest S/N and have not had a stutter since. I have to admit that it surprised me that it worked as well as it has.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 12:14 AM   #9
rrmoore73
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hello.
Sorry, what's the S/N and where would I get that information?
Also, people have suggested using an Ethernet cable. As my router is on the other side of the room,then it's not practical. Also, isn't the whole idea is for all this stuff to work wirelessly. Isn't that what we are striving and paying all this money for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I'll second that. I was getting interruption when airplaying iTunes music to my Airport Express (which was using wifi for communication with the AEBS). I went through every wifi channel, recording the S/N, which I have to say varied only slightly. Chose the lowest S/N and have not had a stutter since. I have to admit that it surprised me that it worked as well as it has.
rrmoore73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 07:12 AM   #10
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmoore73 View Post
Hello.
Sorry, what's the S/N and where would I get that information?
Also, people have suggested using an Ethernet cable. As my router is on the other side of the room,then it's not practical. Also, isn't the whole idea is for all this stuff to work wirelessly. Isn't that what we are striving and paying all this money for?
It may not be practical for you, but you could do it temporarily as a means of testing to find out what the problem is.

As for paying for wireless, no that's not the object of these products, it's just one of many features. When I can, I use Ethernet for all my stuff as its by far more stable and faster than a wireless connection. The only things I have on wireless are the iPhone, iPad and Nintendo Wii, because they do not have Ethernet ports.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:52 PM   #11
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmoore73 View Post
Also, people have suggested using an Ethernet cable. As my router is on the other side of the room,then it's not practical. Also, isn't the whole idea is for all this stuff to work wirelessly. Isn't that what we are striving and paying all this money for?
The aTV works well through wifi, that's how mine is connected, but it is small, has a small antenna, and has little tollerance for interference since it is sending a dense file. In addition to the other suggestions, move it away from things like cable boxes whose electronics can generate a radio signal or act as insulation against radio transmission. I had stuttering on Netflix and moving my aTV from next to my cable box to the empty shelf above it resolved the problem.

Out of curiosity, were you using the iPad to stream Netflix, or were you using the aTV to access Netflix directly?
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:57 PM   #12
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by slothrob View Post
I had stuttering on Netflix and moving my aTV from next to my cable box to the empty shelf above it resolved the problem.
That's interesting. I'll have to keep that in mind in case I ever use the ATV on wireless again or someone else is having problems. Thanks for that.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:32 PM   #13
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
That's interesting. I'll have to keep that in mind in case I ever use the ATV on wireless again or someone else is having problems. Thanks for that.
My wifi performance is borderline enough that I will still have pausing once every month or two, but it used to be nearly every night. Airplay was and is hardly ever a problem, since it buffers.
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 08:16 PM   #14
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by slothrob View Post
My wifi performance is borderline enough that I will still have pausing once every month or two, but it used to be nearly every night. Airplay was and is hardly ever a problem, since it buffers.
Is your router close enough you could use Ethernet?
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 06:10 AM   #15
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Is your router close enough you could use Ethernet?
Not where the router is. I could move it closer, but I wanted to see if I could get wifi working reliably, before I moved it, since it is nicely out of sight (which I assume doesn't help things, since it has to go through 2 plaster walls with wire lathe that probably comes close to creating a Faraday cage). Any Netflix glitches are rare enough that I'm not really considering moving the router, anymore. For HD iTunes content I sometimes pause it for a minute at the beginning to allow it to buffer, just as insurance.
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 06:20 AM   #16
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by slothrob View Post
Not where the router is. I could move it closer, but I wanted to see if I could get wifi working reliably, before I moved it, since it is nicely out of sight (which I assume doesn't help things, since it has to go through 2 plaster walls with wire lathe that probably comes close to creating a Faraday cage). Any Netflix glitches are rare enough that I'm not really considering moving the router, anymore. For HD iTunes content I sometimes pause it for a minute at the beginning to allow it to buffer, just as insurance.
Alrighty then. I thought maybe since the modem was right there, that the router would be too. If its working well enough for you, and you're happy with it, that's what counts.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 01:27 PM   #17
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Some Apple TV units are known to have Wifi issues. Apple is aware of the problem and has issued a replacement program.

http://www.macrumors.com/2013/04/15/...tivity-issues/
__________________
27 Inch iMac i5 (Mid-2010); 11 Inch MacBook Air; iPad Air; iPhone 5s, and a bunch of Canon photography gear.
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 04:38 PM   #18
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgara View Post
Some Apple TV units are known to have Wifi issues. Apple is aware of the problem and has issued a replacement program.

http://www.macrumors.com/2013/04/15/...tivity-issues/
I was fortunate to have a couple of ATV's that were not affected by this and have been quite pleased with their performance.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 06:44 PM   #19
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I was fortunate to have a couple of ATV's that were not affected by this and have been quite pleased with their performance.
Yes, I just picked one up myself and the SN is nowhere near the ones listed. I'm looking forward to using it soon.
__________________
27 Inch iMac i5 (Mid-2010); 11 Inch MacBook Air; iPad Air; iPhone 5s, and a bunch of Canon photography gear.
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 07:00 PM   #20
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgara View Post
Yes, I just picked one up myself and the SN is nowhere near the ones listed. I'm looking forward to using it soon.
Although, I may not have noticed, if it weren't for this news story, because I use my ATV's with Ethernet!
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 10:51 PM   #21
BeKure
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Although, I may not have noticed, if it weren't for this news story, because I use my ATV's with Ethernet!
Interesting. My ATV is hard wired and I have a host of buffering issues at least a few times a day. It's VERY frustrating.
I called Apple customer support and was told that they are not honoring any exchange policy for ATV's with "so called" Wifi issues. I spent $100 on this thing and I am frustrated with its performance. I have it mounted behind my 50" HDTV which is also wall mounted.
__________________
Bekure is the name, pronounced [beck-rah]
BeKure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 11:18 PM   #22
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I would have never known mine was one of the models with those serial numbers. However, I have mine wired and have not had any problems and have never tested via wifi. Since I plan to keep all my streaming devices hardwired, i will just keep it. My Roku 2 in my bedroom has a horrible wifi reception. I have the new TC, and all my other wifi devices such as iphone and ipad, have DL speeds over 50 Mbs is my bedroom, while the Roku 2 can only eek out 3 or 4 Mbs, unless I move the Roku away from tv and close to the door, and then i can squeeze out 15 Mbs.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 11:49 PM   #23
BeKure
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by darster View Post
I would have never known mine was one of the models with those serial numbers. However, I have mine wired and have not had any problems and have never tested via wifi. Since I plan to keep all my streaming devices hardwired, i will just keep it. My Roku 2 in my bedroom has a horrible wifi reception. I have the new TC, and all my other wifi devices such as iphone and ipad, have DL speeds over 50 Mbs is my bedroom, while the Roku 2 can only eek out 3 or 4 Mbs, unless I move the Roku away from tv and close to the door, and then i can squeeze out 15 Mbs.
Tell me something. How do you know for a fact that your device actually recognizes that a Ethernet cable is connected to it? Is there conformation in the setting menu?
In the settings, my ATV displays a signal strength which doesn't make any sense to me bring that it's hard wired. Does your state the same thing?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21373341636.975784.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	422198
__________________
Bekure is the name, pronounced [beck-rah]
BeKure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 01:14 AM   #24
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeKure View Post
Tell me something. How do you know for a fact that your device actually recognizes that a Ethernet cable is connected to it? Is there conformation in the setting menu?
In the settings, my ATV displays a signal strength which doesn't make any sense to me bring that it's hard wired. Does your state the same thing?

Attachment 422198
Because when I go into settings, network, it shows an Ethernet address. Plus I never set it up to use wifi.
Also when I click on About, it shows ethernet address instead of signal strength.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 03:19 AM   #25
JGRE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dutch Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmoore73 View Post
Done

Ping 14ms
Download 27mbps
Upload 23.8 Mbps
It might not be the WiFi speed between you and your provider but the wifi speed of your home network (internally).
__________________
iPhone 5s, 2008 iMac 20", 2011 MBP 13", 2014 MBA 13", ATV3, iPad Mini.
JGRE is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance Issues ouimetnick OS X Mavericks (10.9) 6 May 9, 2014 01:21 PM
iPad Mini: New rMini Performance Issues Rodster iPad 26 Feb 4, 2014 01:56 AM
Wireless performance issues WhatAmI Mac mini 0 Apr 3, 2013 03:52 PM
MBA performance issues cefey MacBook Air 10 Aug 5, 2012 10:17 AM
Performance MX scrolling issues with ML The.316 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 27, 2012 10:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC