Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 5, 2013, 05:53 PM   #1
TsMkLg068426
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Apple Servers down?

I keep getting that message while watching Netflix on Apple TV and when I tested my Wi-Fi on Apple TV and when I checked to see if my internet was doing good also and no problem. Is the Apple servers down or Netflix?
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:05 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
All of Apples systems appear to be up and running.

http://www.apple.com/support/systemstatus/

Netflix also seems to be up as well.

http://downrightnow.com/netflix
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:14 PM   #3
TsMkLg068426
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Ehh, I am not sure why this keeps happening to my Apple TV just bought it 2 weeks ago.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:15 PM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
What does the message say exactly?
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:25 PM   #5
TsMkLg068426
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
What does the message say exactly?
It says Servers are down but if I remember correctly it said Apple Servers are down.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:30 PM   #6
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Since you're relying on memory, can you get it to do it again and tell us what it says? I've seen mine have network issues before, it's been a long time, but I don't ever recall seeing anything like what you're describing.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:55 PM   #7
TsMkLg068426
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Since you're relying on memory, can you get it to do it again and tell us what it says? I've seen mine have network issues before, it's been a long time, but I don't ever recall seeing anything like what you're describing.
It usually goes away after I turn it off, but after I watch Netflix for a while on Apple TV I start getting internet issues for some reason.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:57 PM   #8
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Do you have adequate cooling around the unit? If you have it stacked on other heat producing components it can have negative affects on performance, including network and speed issues.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 07:48 PM   #9
TsMkLg068426
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Do you have adequate cooling around the unit? If you have it stacked on other heat producing components it can have negative affects on performance, including network and speed issues.

It is near my DVR or Cable box but not on top of it and not really that close at all, plus Apple TV is out not anywhere inside that would block the cooling or my wireless connection. Also, I have a Airport Extreme and a Airport Express which Airport Extreme is extended to my Airport Express so I can get more wireless since my bedroom and family room is far.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 07:51 PM   #10
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Okay then... how about the connection itself. Is it wireless to the ATV or wired with Ethernet? If it's wireless, try connecting it via Ethernet and see how the performance play out. Maybe, just maybe, there is too much wireless interference that is causing issues. That's about all I can think of now.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 08:45 PM   #11
TsMkLg068426
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Okay then... how about the connection itself. Is it wireless to the ATV or wired with Ethernet? If it's wireless, try connecting it via Ethernet and see how the performance play out. Maybe, just maybe, there is too much wireless interference that is causing issues. That's about all I can think of now.
This is the biggest problem I can never figure out, I got Sony Blu Ray player wireless is terrible on it so I have wired connection but I still have connection issues with Blu Ray even wired connected. I also did speed test late at nights or sometimes at afternoon Charter Communications fails hard I have 30 Mbps Download speed but at nights it is like 4 or below. I have called my cable company they came out and said no problem and called again same thing all I get BS from them about Traffic. Never was having problems 2 years ago, so I can not find where the problem is wired or wireless or my ISP.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 08:47 PM   #12
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
How about swapping out the router and/or modem with different ones. There could be an issue with one of those devices.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 09:06 PM   #13
TsMkLg068426
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
How about swapping out the router and/or modem with different ones. There could be an issue with one of those devices.
My ISP checked my modem and said everything is fine, as for my Airport Extreme it is 4th Gen and my Express is the latest gen. Not sure which I would need to swap if I can not tell which is the problem. How can I check to see if my cable modem is working correctly? I see all the lights on it working correctly.
__________________
21.5" iMac, 2.7GHz, Intel Core i5, 4GB Memory, 1 TB HD, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2; 32 GB iPod Touch iOS 5.0.1
TsMkLg068426 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 09:14 PM   #14
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by TsMkLg068426 View Post
My ISP checked my modem and said everything is fine, as for my Airport Extreme it is 4th Gen and my Express is the latest gen. Not sure which I would need to swap if I can not tell which is the problem. How can I check to see if my cable modem is working correctly? I see all the lights on it working correctly.
If the cable company checked it and they said it's fine, it probably is. I suggest you start isolating your router and express unit and determine if one of them is causing a problem. Set it up so the router is the only thing working and test it out. Then, by process of elimination, determine which, if any, of your components is the issue.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV could not connect to servers TsMkLg068426 Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Jul 16, 2013 04:25 PM
Intelligence Program Gives US Government Direct Access to Customer Data on Apple Servers [Update: Apple Denies] MacRumors Politics, Religion, Social Issues 460 Jun 18, 2013 11:06 AM
Are Apple Update Servers down? imaginex20 iOS 7 0 Jun 10, 2013 09:23 PM
at&t/apple servers pinkmess52 iPhone 8 Sep 8, 2012 06:23 PM
iOS 6 apple servers down? jekyoo iOS 6 4 Jul 27, 2012 05:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps