Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2013, 03:57 PM   #1
tennisproha
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Carrier Unlock process via iTunes vs iCloud

I couldn't find a thread on this nor did i find my answer in search. Any help from someone who knows the process would really be appreciated!

Ive got an iPhone 4S with at&t that i purchased in october 2011. My contracts not up yet but I contacted at&t about unlocking the device this week. I got an email back from at&t stating that my device is approved for unlock and to restore from iTunes to complete the process.

I understand restoring from iTunes does a full firmware update. My question is, will resetting the device through 'Erase all content and settings' and restoring from iCloud using the setup assistant have the same effect in unlocking the phone as restoring from iTunes?

Thanks again!


PS: What actually changes when a phone is unlocked? I assumed it would just be a software access change but does it in fact change code in the firmware?
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs

Last edited by tennisproha; Jul 6, 2013 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Question clarification.
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 04:01 PM   #2
Gav2k
macrumors 603
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
I couldn't find a thread on this nor did i find my answer in search. Any help from someone who knows the process would really be appreciated!

Ive got an iPhone 4S with at&t that i purchased in october 2011. My contracts not up yet but I contacted at&t about unlocking the device this week. I got an email back from at&t stating that my device is approved for unlock and to restore from iTunes to complete the process.

I understand restoring from iTunes does a full firmware update. My question is, will resetting the device through 'Erase all content and settings' and restoring from iCloud using the setup assistant have the same effect in unlocking the phone as restoring from iTunes?

Thanks again!


PS: What actually changes when a phone is unlocked? I assumed it would just be a software access change but does it in fact change code in the firmware?
I've not unlocked an iPhone since my 3G been on a sim only rolling contract since but I didn't restore my iPhone I just sync'd with iTunes an it popped up with a message stating it was now unlocked. Obviously this process might have changed.
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 04:19 PM   #3
jer04
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Australia
I don't even think you need to restore. A lot of people in this forum just requested an unlock and then their phones were ready to be used with simcards from other telcos. (As long as your phone is connected to the internet) Seems like restoring only to give you that message to confirm your phone is unlock. if you don't want to go through the hassle restoring, just grab a cheap non-AT&T sim to test whether your phone is unlocked.
jer04 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 04:31 PM   #4
Weiser878
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
It HAS to be done in iTunes.

A restore is not necessary, just an update is all that's needed. The email you get from AT&T explains it pretty well
__________________
 Mid 2013 MacBook Air, iPhone 6
Weiser878 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 05:10 PM   #5
tennisproha
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Thats what i figured. I figured the phone just checks with apple servers to see whether the IMEI is on its unlock list. However, if a restore from itunes is required then that means its a firmware code change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weiser878 View Post
A restore is not necessary, just an update is all that's needed.
An update to what?
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 05:19 PM   #6
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
Thats what i figured. I figured the phone just checks with apple servers to see whether the IMEI is on its unlock list. However, if a restore from itunes is required then that means its a firmware code change
No.

This page gives some explanation of the exact locking mechanism, but it's quite technical:

http://theiphonewiki.com/wiki/WildcardTicket
__________________
Nexus 6 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 05:51 PM   #7
chestvrg
macrumors 6502a
 
chestvrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
I did a restore the other day and got my unlocked msg via iTunes. Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1373147442.905870.jpg
Views: 3725
Size:  8.6 KB
Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1373147461.317257.jpg
Views: 3724
Size:  7.2 KB
__________________
Chest - t-mobile iPhone 5
chestvrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 07:43 PM   #8
tennisproha
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
This page gives some explanation of the exact locking mechanism, but it's quite technical:

http://theiphonewiki.com/wiki/WildcardTicket
Okay, that makes a lot of sense. So theoretically, when the phone is restored, the updated wildcard ticket that is pulled during activation will allow all sim access.

So any type of restore should pull the updated wildcard ticket or is there a reason it has to be an itunes restore? I would think that since 4S onward the phones have been PC-free setup, an icloud restore should pull all relevant activation data…
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 08:02 PM   #9
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
Thats what i figured. I figured the phone just checks with apple servers to see whether the IMEI is on its unlock list. However, if a restore from itunes is required then that means its a firmware code change.



An update to what?
It's not really an update (more like an activation), it just verifies with apple servers that the IMEI is unlocked. I have unlocked 5 different iPhones and never had to do a restore to get a foreign SIM to work in the phone.
Baggio is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 08:40 PM   #10
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
I really don't understand the need for a restore.

That seems to be something do with iPhones that were originally locked to AT&T.

My iPhones (locked to two different UK carriers) didn't require me to do a restore when I unlocked them.
__________________
Nexus 6 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 09:53 PM   #11
mrbrown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ozark, Missouri
Send a message via ICQ to mrbrown Send a message via AIM to mrbrown Send a message via MSN to mrbrown Send a message via Yahoo to mrbrown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weiser878 View Post
It HAS to be done in iTunes.

A restore is not necessary, just an update is all that's needed. The email you get from AT&T explains it pretty well
Are you absolutely sure about that? I know the email from AT&T says that, but I'm pretty sure the last unlock I did was completely through the phone itself (on iOS 6). I put in a foreign SIM, it went to the activation screen, lost cell service, and shortly thereafter I got the "Congratulations! Your iPhone is now unlocked!" message on the phone itself.

I ahold preface this with the fact that I did have a wifi connection at the time. I don't know if it would have gone so well if there was no "non-cellular" connection to the Internet.
__________________
Mr. Brown - www.mrbrown.net
mrbrown is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 10:12 PM   #12
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
I really don't understand the need for a restore.

That seems to be something do with iPhones that were originally locked to AT&T.

My iPhones (locked to two different UK carriers) didn't require me to do a restore when I unlocked them.
I have unlocked 5 AT&T iPhones and didn't have to do a restore.
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 12:48 AM   #13
tennisproha
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baggio View Post
I have unlocked 5 AT&T iPhones and didn't have to do a restore.
What was the process like? Did you just swap sim's and it gave you the message?
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 10:40 AM   #14
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
What was the process like? Did you just swap sim's and it gave you the message?
None of them ever gave me the message. Basically, just tested a SIM card. If it searches for signal, then it unlocked. If it says invalid SIM it's probably still locked. If you connect the phone iTunes and sync, you should be good to go. Try picking up a T-Mobile SIM to test it.
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 05:01 PM   #15
tennisproha
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Alright. Well thanks for the input everyone.

Looks like the consensus is that if you've got wifi access to the internet during sim activation, it'll pull the most up to date IMEI configs from apple and act accordingly. As far as the 'Congrats…' message, apparently it varies.

Any additional insight into the technical process is welcome.
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:18 PM   #16
iphone46
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
Alright. Well thanks for the input everyone.

Looks like the consensus is that if you've got wifi access to the internet during sim activation, it'll pull the most up to date IMEI configs from apple and act accordingly. As far as the 'Congrats…' message, apparently it varies.

Any additional insight into the technical process is welcome.
You can do it in redsn0w just go to extras->deacticate and then it should work(make sure you connect to iTunes)
iphone46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 05:19 PM   #17
tennisproha
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbrown View Post
…but I'm pretty sure the last unlock I did was completely through the phone itself (on iOS 6). I put in a foreign SIM, it went to the activation screen, lost cell service, and shortly thereafter I got the "Congratulations! Your iPhone is now unlocked!" message on the phone itself.

I ahold preface this with the fact that I did have a wifi connection at the time. I don't know if it would have gone so well if there was no "non-cellular" connection to the Internet.
How did you exactly go about this? If it went to the activation screen, then you must've reset the device? Or connect to itunes?


Alright, so i wanted to do a restore anyway… I 'Erased all content & settings', went through setup assistant, connected to wifi; it activated the phone and is now restoring content from my icloud backup. However, I did not get the 'Congrats!…' message.

It connected to wifi before it activated the phone so it should have pulled the updated IMEI settings before it authorized my att sim… yet i got no unlock acknowledgement. I shouldve gotten the message right after activation…
Urgh! Come on apple!
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 05:52 PM   #18
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
How did you exactly go about this? If it went to the activation screen, then you must've reset the device? Or connect to itunes?


Alright, so i wanted to do a restore anyway… I 'Erased all content & settings', went through setup assistant, connected to wifi; it activated the phone and is now restoring content from my icloud backup. However, I did not get the 'Congrats!…' message.

It connected to wifi before it activated the phone so it should have pulled the updated IMEI settings before it authorized my att sim… yet i got no unlock acknowledgement. I shouldve gotten the message right after activation…
Urgh! Come on apple!
Pick up a T-Mobile SIM to test. Using a different SIM is only way to know for sure. The unlock message does not always show up.
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 06:03 PM   #19
ApfelKuchen
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Between the coasts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
...Alright, so i wanted to do a restore anyway… I 'Erased all content & settings', went through setup assistant, connected to wifi; it activated the phone and is now restoring content from my icloud backup. However, I did not get the 'Congrats!…' message.

It connected to wifi before it activated the phone so it should have pulled the updated IMEI settings before it authorized my att sim… yet i got no unlock acknowledgement. I shouldve gotten the message right after activation…
Urgh! Come on apple!
There are two kinds of "restore." This confuses many folks.
1) Restore iOS software. This is a wipe of the phone's memory, and a clean re-install of the operating system - restoring the iPhone to as-new condition. You can only do this using iTunes. (I believe Apple should call this something other than "restore.")
2) Restore from backup. In this case, the operating system is not touched - you're just restoring the data. The backup can be saved either in iTunes or iCloud. If you Erase All Contents and Settings, you can restore from an iCloud backup without using iTunes.

The Restore required for the unlock is #1: reinstall iOS on the phone.

You did restore #2, but you needed to do restore #1 followed by restore #2.
ApfelKuchen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 09:13 PM   #20
tennisproha
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baggio View Post
Pick up a T-Mobile SIM to test. Using a different SIM is only way to know for sure. The unlock message does not always show up.
You're right, I'll grab a T-mobile sim. This would be much easier if it just gave a confirmation message on the phone after activation.
__________________
"The thing about quotes on the internet is you cannot confirm their validity." Abe Lincoln
"Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice." Steve Jobs
tennisproha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 09:36 PM   #21
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
You're right, I'll grab a T-mobile sim. This would be much easier if it just gave a confirmation message on the phone after activation.
It's never easy, is it?
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 06:57 PM   #22
DmbShn41
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
How about you just do the damn restore thru iTunes, then backup your iPhone thru iCloud and then we don't have to hear for 4 days on whether it matters or not? It's very possible that a restore isn't necessary, but if you back up thru iTunes before the restore, then choose that backup as the restore, it will be the same. Can't believe I wasted my time on this, so many better uses for this amount of space you've wasted on these boards...
DmbShn41 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 01:51 AM   #23
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by DmbShn41 View Post
How about you just do the damn restore thru iTunes, then backup your iPhone thru iCloud and then we don't have to hear for 4 days on whether it matters or not? It's very possible that a restore isn't necessary, but if you back up thru iTunes before the restore, then choose that backup as the restore, it will be the same. Can't believe I wasted my time on this, so many better uses for this amount of space you've wasted on these boards...
There are many reasons why a restore from backup is not a good idea.

If you don't want to read this thread, don't open it!
__________________
Nexus 6 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 08:28 AM   #24
dave420
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisproha View Post
How did you exactly go about this? If it went to the activation screen, then you must've reset the device? Or connect to itunes?
My iPhone 4S went to an activation screen when I put in a foreign SIM. It was very similar to the process when you setup the phone for the first time. It required me to connect to a WiFi network and then it activated. This feature must be specific to the newer phones, as my iPhone 4 that I unlocked on the same day asked me to plug into iTunes, and then activated as soon as I plugged it in (no sync or anything necessary).

I was nervous about whether the unlock process worked so I purchased a T-Mobile SIM before I left to make sure they were activated. I also didn't want to do the restore process because it would have erased my jailbreak.
dave420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
att, carrier, icloud, itunes, unlock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-Order + Carrier Switch to Verizon process bina12834 iPhone 21 Sep 13, 2012 06:50 PM
iPhone Carrier Unlock, what is the process? ann713 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 31, 2012 09:06 PM
Carrier unavailable after unlock n13k iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 15, 2012 11:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC