Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Old Jul 6, 2013, 04:15 PM   #1
q64ceo
macrumors regular

Understanding issues with Class Methods?

I am a little bit stuck on Class methods. I am completely new to Objective-C.

Can anyone provide me an example?

Here my best guess:

Its kinda like Nouns and Verbs

For example:

[cat feeding]; // feed the cats

Thank you for your time.
Old Jul 7, 2013, 12:45 AM   #2
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603

Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
What you're describing sounds more like an instance method than a class method.

Class methods do one of two things:
1 - Generate a new instance (IE: alloc, stringWithFormat:, ...)
2 - Serve as a stateless utility method that would probably be better off as a plain old C function.

Instance methods are stately. Mostly you want to get and or set things based on the state of an instance of an object.

Is that clear or is it too abstract?

I feel like OOP is fairly complex and that it's mostly just you have to hear people talk about it and try working with it and its predecessors before you really get it and understand its benefits.
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:39 AM   #3
q64ceo
macrumors regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
What you're describing sounds more like an instance method than a class method.

Class methods do one of two things:
1 - Generate a new instance (IE: alloc, stringWithFormat:, ...)
2 - Serve as a stateless utility method that would probably be better off as a plain old C function.

Instance methods are stately. Mostly you want to get and or set things based on the state of an instance of an object.

Is that clear or is it too abstract?

I feel like OOP is fairly complex and that it's mostly just you have to hear people talk about it and try working with it and its predecessors before you really get it and understand its benefits.
I will eventually get it.