Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2013, 05:58 PM   #1
Wicked1
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
Anyone know how to remove iOS 7?

I loaded Beta for 7 but trying to go back to 6.1.4 and it will not let me reload my IP5 with iOS6, keeps asking me to join the developer program which I have and I am logged into however I did not pay the $100.00 yet, but it does not recognize my device. Is there anyway to force the device to load iOS6 when I connect it to iTunes.?

My phone is stuck on 7 but will not configure itself for use
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
iPad Air 128GB/LTE White
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:00 PM   #2
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
I loaded Beta for 7 but trying to go back to 6.1.4 and it will not let me reload my IP5 with iOS6, keeps asking me to join the developer program which I have and I am logged into however I did not pay the $100.00 yet, but it does not recognize my device. Is there anyway to force the device to load iOS6 when I connect it to iTunes.?

My phone is stuck on 7 but will not configure itself for use
Just press "restore" in iTunes and it does it automatically - I did it for a friend last week over TeamViewer
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:00 PM   #3
Ann P
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
If it's not allowing you to restore, put it in DFU mode, and then restore. I've went back and forth a few times this way.
Ann P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:02 PM   #4
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ann P View Post
If it's not allowing you to restore, put it in DFU mode, and then restore. I've went back and forth a few times this way.
Yes - sorry, I forgot that step
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:04 PM   #5
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
I tried to do that, but it tells me the device is not registered and takes me to the developer pages in iTunes. I can not force the restore there is no button, I get an activation Error on iTunes? it was running before I went to do an iCloud restore and this happened?
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
iPad Air 128GB/LTE White
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:05 PM   #6
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
I tried to do that, but it tells me the device is not registered and takes me to the developer pages in iTunes. I can not force the restore there is no button, I get an activation Error on iTunes? it was running before I went to do an iCloud restore and this happened?
Call Apple Developer helpline...
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:13 PM   #7
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
ok thanks all it worked it was just a matter of the way I held down the buttons and pushed it into DFU mode.

Appreciate the help all
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
iPad Air 128GB/LTE White
Wicked1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:13 PM   #8
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
ok thanks all it worked it was just a matter of the way I held down the buttons and pushed it into DFU mode.

Appreciate the help all
Welcome!
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:18 PM   #9
ionjohn
macrumors 6502a
 
ionjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Wow

Are you serious? Why do you even install a beta? You didn't even know about DFU?
ionjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:23 PM   #10
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
No I know about DFU mode, I was not holding the buttons the right amount of time, so it kept bringing me back to the Not Registered Screen in iTunes. I think it is the Life Proof Case I have, seems the case prevents me from getting the Power/Sleep button all the way down.

I do appreciate the help as I figured it out at the same time you all answered me, I was wondering if anyone else had this issue? I am going to keep the Beta to my 4S, and not my everyday 5 just in case this issue pops up again.

__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
iPad Air 128GB/LTE White
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:47 PM   #11
bjb.butler
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to bjb.butler Send a message via Skype™ to bjb.butler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
No I know about DFU mode, I was not holding the buttons the right amount of time, so it kept bringing me back to the Not Registered Screen in iTunes. I think it is the Life Proof Case I have, seems the case prevents me from getting the Power/Sleep button all the way down.

I do appreciate the help as I figured it out at the same time you all answered me, I was wondering if anyone else had this issue? I am going to keep the Beta to my 4S, and not my everyday 5 just in case this issue pops up again.

You have to download the iOS 6 firmware. Then in iTunes, hold down shift when you click restore, and then select the file you downloaded.
__________________
Windows 8 | iPhone 5
bjb.butler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:12 PM   #12
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjb.butler View Post
You have to download the iOS 6 firmware. Then in iTunes, hold down shift when you click restore, and then select the file you downloaded.
No you don't, actually; iTunes does that for you.
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:17 PM   #13
bjb.butler
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to bjb.butler Send a message via Skype™ to bjb.butler
Quote:
Originally Posted by typeface View Post
No you don't, actually; iTunes does that for you.
Clearly it's not working for him.

OP, follow the steps I posted and you'll be back on iOS 6 in no time.
__________________
Windows 8 | iPhone 5
bjb.butler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:38 PM   #14
allthatjazz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjb.butler View Post
Clearly it's not working for him.

OP, follow the steps I posted and you'll be back on iOS 6 in no time.
he's already back on 6, using the DFU method.
allthatjazz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 06:13 PM   #15
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
We are good, just going to use my 4S for iOS7 from now on, can not afford to have my 5 I use Daily all messed up.

Appreciate the assistance all, now that I have the phone out of the Life Proof case, DFU mode is easy since I can hold the Power/Sleep button easily
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
iPad Air 128GB/LTE White
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC