Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2013, 05:58 PM   #1
Wicked1
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
Anyone know how to remove iOS 7?

I loaded Beta for 7 but trying to go back to 6.1.4 and it will not let me reload my IP5 with iOS6, keeps asking me to join the developer program which I have and I am logged into however I did not pay the $100.00 yet, but it does not recognize my device. Is there anyway to force the device to load iOS6 when I connect it to iTunes.?

My phone is stuck on 7 but will not configure itself for use
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:00 PM   #2
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
I loaded Beta for 7 but trying to go back to 6.1.4 and it will not let me reload my IP5 with iOS6, keeps asking me to join the developer program which I have and I am logged into however I did not pay the $100.00 yet, but it does not recognize my device. Is there anyway to force the device to load iOS6 when I connect it to iTunes.?

My phone is stuck on 7 but will not configure itself for use
Just press "restore" in iTunes and it does it automatically - I did it for a friend last week over TeamViewer
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:00 PM   #3
Ann P
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
If it's not allowing you to restore, put it in DFU mode, and then restore. I've went back and forth a few times this way.
Ann P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:02 PM   #4
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ann P View Post
If it's not allowing you to restore, put it in DFU mode, and then restore. I've went back and forth a few times this way.
Yes - sorry, I forgot that step
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:04 PM   #5
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
I tried to do that, but it tells me the device is not registered and takes me to the developer pages in iTunes. I can not force the restore there is no button, I get an activation Error on iTunes? it was running before I went to do an iCloud restore and this happened?
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:05 PM   #6
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
I tried to do that, but it tells me the device is not registered and takes me to the developer pages in iTunes. I can not force the restore there is no button, I get an activation Error on iTunes? it was running before I went to do an iCloud restore and this happened?
Call Apple Developer helpline...
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:13 PM   #7
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
ok thanks all it worked it was just a matter of the way I held down the buttons and pushed it into DFU mode.

Appreciate the help all
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:13 PM   #8
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
ok thanks all it worked it was just a matter of the way I held down the buttons and pushed it into DFU mode.

Appreciate the help all
Welcome!
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:18 PM   #9
ionjohn
macrumors 65816
 
ionjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Wow

Are you serious? Why do you even install a beta? You didn't even know about DFU?
ionjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:23 PM   #10
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
No I know about DFU mode, I was not holding the buttons the right amount of time, so it kept bringing me back to the Not Registered Screen in iTunes. I think it is the Life Proof Case I have, seems the case prevents me from getting the Power/Sleep button all the way down.

I do appreciate the help as I figured it out at the same time you all answered me, I was wondering if anyone else had this issue? I am going to keep the Beta to my 4S, and not my everyday 5 just in case this issue pops up again.

__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 06:47 PM   #11
bjb.butler
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to bjb.butler Send a message via Skype™ to bjb.butler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
No I know about DFU mode, I was not holding the buttons the right amount of time, so it kept bringing me back to the Not Registered Screen in iTunes. I think it is the Life Proof Case I have, seems the case prevents me from getting the Power/Sleep button all the way down.

I do appreciate the help as I figured it out at the same time you all answered me, I was wondering if anyone else had this issue? I am going to keep the Beta to my 4S, and not my everyday 5 just in case this issue pops up again.

You have to download the iOS 6 firmware. Then in iTunes, hold down shift when you click restore, and then select the file you downloaded.
__________________
Windows 8 | iPhone 5
bjb.butler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:12 PM   #12
typeface
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjb.butler View Post
You have to download the iOS 6 firmware. Then in iTunes, hold down shift when you click restore, and then select the file you downloaded.
No you don't, actually; iTunes does that for you.
typeface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:17 PM   #13
bjb.butler
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to bjb.butler Send a message via Skype™ to bjb.butler
Quote:
Originally Posted by typeface View Post
No you don't, actually; iTunes does that for you.
Clearly it's not working for him.

OP, follow the steps I posted and you'll be back on iOS 6 in no time.
__________________
Windows 8 | iPhone 5
bjb.butler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:38 PM   #14
allthatjazz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjb.butler View Post
Clearly it's not working for him.

OP, follow the steps I posted and you'll be back on iOS 6 in no time.
he's already back on 6, using the DFU method.
allthatjazz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2013, 06:13 PM   #15
Wicked1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
We are good, just going to use my 4S for iOS7 from now on, can not afford to have my 5 I use Daily all messed up.

Appreciate the assistance all, now that I have the phone out of the Life Proof case, DFU mode is easy since I can hold the Power/Sleep button easily
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remove button still has iOS 6 style Dj64Mk7 iOS 7 2 Feb 22, 2014 09:43 PM
Petition to remove iOS 7 install on iOS 6? PracticalMac iOS 7 130 Feb 13, 2014 09:56 PM
Help! Will upgrading IOS 7 Remove All My Messages? Gameaholic iOS 7 1 Sep 18, 2013 07:27 PM
Carrier: How can I remove carrier logo from ios 6.1.3? FatPuppy iPhone 1 Aug 11, 2013 08:54 AM
iPhone: If I need to remove JB can I stay in iOS 5? puding Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 May 5, 2013 01:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps