Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DUDEMANGUY5

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 8, 2010
Hey everyone!

I am now in the market for an iMac.
I am a student (looking to save some money) and am eligible to get the back to school promotion!

I do a little video editing, a bit of the Sims (and SimCity when it comes out for Mac), Photoshop, and web browsing as well as backing up my iPad, iPhone, and iPod.

Anyway, I want an iMac for the large screen and the powerhouse processor as well as the large amount of storage space so I can just "throw" all of my photos and videos on it whenever I want and not worry about space.
Right now, I have a 2010 MacBook Pro 13" (250GB) and a 2012 MacBook Air (128GB SSD) and I am running out of space.
I do own external hard drives but I don't like having to carry them around and using up my USB ports.

The 2 iMacs that I am considering are:

The late 2012 27", 3.2 i5, 8GB RAM, 1TB FusionDrive, 675MX 1GB graphics for $2124 (With $100 back to school promotion)

or

Refurb Late 2012 27", 3.4 i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB FusionDrive, 680MX 2GB graphics for $2199 (not eligible for back to school promotion)

I have never bought a refurbished model before and I wanted to know other people's experiences with Apple's Refurb department.

Also, If you have another recommendation for my needs let me know!

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
I have never bought a refurbished model before and I wanted to know other people's experiences with Apple's Refurb department.
Apple refurbished products are considered by most to be a very good deal, as they're pretty much like buying a new Mac, except for the box.